We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Food and Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lygon Arms Hotel

Lygon Arms Hotel
Main Street, Chipping Campden, England
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent Food and Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

The restaurant in the Lygon Arms is great for a special occasion. The food and service and ambience was perfect.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    31
    9
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
“Very friendly with wide ranging menu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We booked for a family meal out for nine (including two younger children) and were made to feel very welcome - the menu was extensive and reasonably priced. When the meals arrived the portion sizes were generous and lovely - my tartlett came with a large salad that included pinepple, kiwi and strawberries. Great atmosphere in the pub, we would definately go again.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Cotswold classic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

This is what you expect of a traditional Cotswold pub. Fires burning at each end of the pub and a warm welcome. We enjoyed traditional ale and wine with delicious meals in the bar. We actually enjoyed a lunch and an evening meal here and it was all we could do to finish our platefuls in either sitting! Reasonably priced, huge platefuls, no room for pudding and a definite recommendation.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helmsley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“A Trencherperson's place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Went here for dinner for four. great cheerful service - even make jokes about how much bread is on the table. The highlights were probably the shared min-staters, a bit of allsorts and the shared dessert - and after the enormous (mostly) main courses a shared dessert for 2 would probably satisfy four.

There were so lower points though. My wife's salmon for main course was overcooked, and the potatoes looked at tasted as if they had been kept too long and microwaved. The steak pie would have easily fed two, and - hurrah, it was cooked with the crust on. The leek mash was excellent, but my pork steaks a little on the dry side - overcooked gain I think. My friend's beef bourguinonne (sic) was excellent, he said.

It's good pub grub, well served, generous, but although there are some real refined moments, some of it is not quite up to it. Not cheap either - £120 for four with two soft drinks one glass of wine and pint - no coffee.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lymington, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“Best pub meal for a long time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Unfortunately I didn't discover this pub as an eating house until my last night in Chipping Campden, otherwise I would have been back for sure.
The pub is somewhat unusual in the way it is built, having spaces either side of an archway. The bar, on the right as you face it, is not at all extensive, and the area available for eating is therefore limited. On the other side of the archway is a small reception area and a dining room. I didn't really see the dining room, as it was closed off and not available on the evening I visited, as it had been booked for a private function. I therefore settled for a table in the bar, which fortunately I had the sense to reserve a bit earlier, and there I had my meal.
Not a dining room that exudes grace and high style, but warm, and welcoming and homely. The staff on duty were brilliant: friendly and helpful and charming. The menu was very attractive offering a wide range of food choices, and the food when it came was amazing. I had a beef, Guinness and oyster pie, totally home made, served from the pie dish, piping hot, and as many beautifully cooked vegetables as you could eat. Four of us ate heartily and none of us could find room for a desert. This was without doubt, one of the very best pub meals I have ever eaten. An absolute 'must' if you ever visit Chipping Campden.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lygon Arms Hotel also viewed

Chipping Campden, Cotswolds
Chipping Campden, Cotswolds
 
Chipping Campden, Cotswolds
Chipping Campden, Cotswolds
 

Been to Lygon Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lygon Arms Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.