We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant but inept restaurant staff” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Kings Hotel Chipping Campden

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Kings Hotel Chipping Campden to your Saves list
The Kings Hotel Chipping Campden
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   The Square, Chipping Campden GL55 6AW, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Banbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Pleasant but inept restaurant staff”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

On arrival we asked whether there were the past Champagne Happy Hour offers and were told not. We later (too late) discovered from a neighbouring table that all Champagne bottles were half price; a pity for us and for the establishment. I asked for a pint of the only hand pump ale 'available' and was informed that it was unavailable (rather poor stock management and why not keep a barrel in reserve). The glass of Tempranillo that was ordered resulted in a glass of white wine! (irritating for us and wasteful for the restaurant). The de-caf espressos took fifteen minutes to arrive and were effectively small dilute filter coffees (we were informed this to be the norm when ordering such coffees). The glass of Champagne that had been earlier requested was at room temperature due, it transpired, to the cooler having been left without ice for seemingly many hours prior (despite bar staff having time to chat to one another at leisure) the response to which, rather than acquire a cold bottle from the refrigerator, was to offer to transfer the Champagne to alternating glasses with ice; - one way of ensuring an £8 glass of dilute, sparkle free but indeed chilled fluid!! Food was otherwise OK. A pity as it is otherwise a nice place and nice staff.

Room Tip: From our experience, visit the restaurant on a night you don't plan to drink!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    73
    30
    10
    4
See reviews for
18
169
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We stayed here over the weekend of 16/17 Feb 2012. We found the hotel online as I'd previously had some very enjoyable stays at one of its sister hotels, Buckland Tout Saints in South Devon. All in all, our stay at The King's Hotel was very pleasant. The building has a lovely atmosphere, with a real blend of historic and boutique. The staff are courteous and professional and the location is ideal for Cotswold tourists, helped by the private car park. A few details were less ideal - our room was right up in the eaves and, whilst spacious and full of period character, wouldn't have been much fun for anyone taller than my relatively average 5'10. Lots of potential for bumping one's head on the rafters. The lack of a 'proper' stand-up shower might also have annoyed some people, although allowances have to be made for such an old building. Ditto for the bed, which whilst on the slightly small/creaky side (ours was a Queen Room), turned out to be very comfortable in practice. A double-booking error was also made with our dinner reservation, with the result that we had to eat in the brasserie instead of the formal restaurant. I was a bit annoyed by this oversight at the time but the food and service were great so not the end of the world. All in all, I would recommend The King's Hotel to anyone planning to visit this particularly beautiful Cotswold village. Just make sure if you're any taller than me that you don't specify a bedroom up in the eaves!

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on the top floor if you're above average height!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We stayed for one night and chose to dine in the hotel restaurant. The whole experience was delightful. The room was well appointed, an extremely comfortable bed, tea and fresh coffee making facilities, lashings of hot water and a luxurious bathroom. The meal was good value, £50 a head for three courses, coffee, two g and t's and a decent bottle of wine (oh and two glasses of pudding wine and fudge!). The village is very pretty and not as busy as Stow or Broadway, thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, England
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Stayed here on 16th Feb in one of the Cottage Feature suites (Clifford). Huge room with deep, long bath on a pedestal in the room and a great wet room. Staff were good and friendly, nice decor in Brasserie and Restaurant. Very expensive (but it is one of the best in the Cotswolds) and overall a good experience. So why not 5 stars? Well, for what came to £410 for 1 night with dinner and breakfast, I look for attention to detail. Our room was nice but a few stains in the carpet, a bit if ripped carpet around the in room bath, and a dirty flannel left on the head of Neptunes statue in the wet room are not rally acceptable. Yes, there was a massive statue of Neptune in the wet room which on closer inspection was plastic and to be honest, a little tacky. Restaurant food was good but not outstanding. A starter of scallops was a little tasteless and the amuse bouche was evidently leftover soup from the lunchtime brasserie menu (I know, because I had it at lunch). Main course was excellent but pudding was stodgy (the accompanying ice cream was served on a flat slate and when it started to melt, left the slate quickly! Style over substance). One final negative was the car park, jam packed and very tight taking an 8 or 9 point turn to carefully get out.
All in all, pleasant but not superb, which for cost, was expected. Can do better very easily and quickly but I suspect there are better value, equivalent places to stay and eat in such a lovely place.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shipston on Stour, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We visited the Kings Hotel last night and enjoyed a meal in the brasserie.
The staff were extremely attentive and the food excellent.
Extremely good vaue for money.
Lovely surroundings and I can thoroughly recommend a visit.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London/Worcs
Top Contributor
502 reviews 502 reviews
132 hotel reviews
Reviews in 186 cities Reviews in 186 cities
403 helpful votes 403 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Very nice hotel, conveniently located in the centre of Chipping Camden. The rooms were reached by some pretty steep stairs but as we were at the top of the building it was very quiet indeed. The bathroom was in need of some attention as are some of the window frames but we were informed that a refurbishment project is planned during the course of this year.

The bar / brasserie had a nice atmosphere are we enjoyed sitting in the window seats. The dining room is very homely especially in the candle light. The leaf tables have character and fit into the style of the building. The pew type seating in the middle of the dining room is quite novel. There is also a small private dining room.

Dinner was really excellent - quite a compact menu but everything cooked to perfection. The olive oil was delicious and, having a salt addiction we also enjoyed the individually wrapped seasalt butter. Wines are reasonably priced. Breakfast is buffet style for cereals, juices etc but the hot breakfast order is taken at the table and served straight from the kitchen.

All the staff whom we came across were very friendly, helpful and professional. We had a quite lengthy chat with the assistant manager (he had also checked us in) who was most charming.

The car park entrance is quite tight with limited spaces but we had no problem parking directly outside the front door on the street.

Would certainly stay again during any future trip over the Cotswolds.

Room Tip: Rooms at the top are very quiet but beware if you do not like steep stairs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
228 helpful votes 228 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We've stayed next door (at the Cotswold House hotel) before and were pleasantly surprised we could stay in virtually the same location but for a fraction of the price with a Secret Escapes (Telegraph offers) deal. The package included dinner on the first night and the food was excellent only marred by the staff laying up all the other tables for breakfast whilst we were still eating (we were the last in the restaurant but it was still only around 9.30pm). Otherwise a nice hotel and it was fairly quiet at the front apart from the occasional antisocial young driver with a noisy baked bean can exhaust using Chipping Campden High Street as a drag strip. If you're a light sleeper you may be better off at the back of the hotel. Lovely room (see picture) and very friendly service. We're sure to go back sometime.

Room Tip: Front for the town view, rear for peace & quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Kings Hotel Chipping Campden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kings Hotel Chipping Campden

Address: The Square, Chipping Campden GL55 6AW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Chipping Campden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Chipping Campden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Kings Hotel Chipping Campden 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kings Hotel is a charming 18th century town house boasting distinctive and stylish accommodation. Sympathetic and careful renovation means guests can enjoy all the modern day comforts they need yet still soak up the character and history of a Cotswold stone building. Nestled in the heart of picturesque Chipping Campden, it is the perfect location to experience the beauty of the Cotswolds. The Kings combines traditional character with contemporary style to create a relaxed and welcoming home away from home for every guest, whether for business or pleasure. The dedicated team at Kings draw on a wealth of experience to ensure your stay will be memorable and comfortable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your The Kings Hotel Chipping Campden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kings Hotel Chipping Campden Cotswolds

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Kings Hotel Chipping Campden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.