We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another excellent Sunday lunch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Kings Hotel Chipping Campden

Save Saved
You added The Kings Hotel Chipping Campden to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Kings Hotel Chipping Campden
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   The Square, Chipping Campden GL55 6AW, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Leamington Spa, England
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Another excellent Sunday lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

We were passing through Chipping Campden and called in at The Kings to see if they could fit us in for lunch without a reservation and, despite being busy, the very helpful staff were able to find a lovely table for us. We have eaten here several times and have never had a bad meal or poor service. Excellent value for money at a small but beautiful, atmospheric hotel. We live too close to stay here but it would be an excellent base for anyone wishing to tour the Cotswolds.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    118
    68
    25
    10
    4
See reviews for
17
145
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Coventry
Top Contributor
191 reviews 191 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
159 helpful votes 159 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

The King's hotel is a nice small,boutique hotel right in the center of Chipping campden. Our room was nice and unlike some previous reviewers we did actually have a shower. On the downside every single floorboard in the room creaked really loudly every time you walked anywhere in the room and sleep quality wasn't great on our first night due to the central location of the hotel. Loud,drunken people walking past outside at 4:00 in the morning and people shouting to their dogs while walking them,emptying bins and so fourth around 7:00. Obviously none of this is the hotels fault but bear in mind that you are in an old building with old windows and no double glazing so there is little sound proofing. Restaurant was generally good,nice atmosphere,big open fire,large comfortable chairs and good service. Our main and desserts were very good although the compote that we had with our terrine for starters was too strong and over-powering and killed the dish in my opinion,not very nice at all,we both left it and just ate the terrine. Cooked breakfast was freshly made and served at the table,not like some of the larger hotels where it is a buffet breakfast,which was a bonus,the breakfast was very good. The bar area across the hall was nice too and had a good atmosphere,in fact there were more people in our hotel bar than some of the other bars and pubs in Chipping campden put together. We went for a meal down the road on the second night and came out just before 10:00 with the intention of finding a bar or pub to have a couple of drinks. After walking up and down the high street we bizzarrely found that at 10:00 on a saturday night there didn't seem to be a single person in any of them so we went back to the hotel bar and had a couple of cocktails. Staff were all very nice and friendly and helped us out whenever we needed anything.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

Stayed one night on special DB&B deal. Room good right at top of hotel overlooking square.

Furniture old fashioned and no shower, not really acceptable for a hotel of this standard. When mentioned to reception was told this room was being modernised shortly and a shower was to be installed.

Bar drinks very expensive. If they are going to charge these prices they must train the staff to serve drinks such as pimms with garnish. It is not acceptable to charge £6 for pimms, ice and lemonade. I had to complain before the glass was charged with fruit, which made all the difference. I believe the girl at the bar was new and the guy training her did not appear interested in customer service!

Once in the dining room the food and service was a lot better although they need to employ more staff as the few that had were running all over the place doing a selection of tasks.

Breakfast was good and this time there was more staff at Breakfast than there was at dinner!
Needs attention.

Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

The staff and rooms were fantastic! The staff can't do enough for you. The food is lovely, can't wait to go again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

We booked this Hotel on Travel Zoo. Two nights stay with dinner on the first night, afternoon tea , a drink each before dinner and breakfast both days for £200. We had such a lovely relaxing two days. We didn't want to leave! The only thing we would say is the rooms at the front are a little noisy due to bin men, cars passing and a few drunken happy locals late on at night. I We would book a room at the back next time, although its nice to watch passes- by!The area is beautiful and we met some very lovely, local people, who gave us information on the history of the area. We both can't wait to go back and visit. The local pus are great with lots of different local ales and tasty meals, made from fresh produce. If you like the country and pubs with open fires, its the place for you.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southwell, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

we booked this hotel for new yers eve break, we arrived around 2.30pm and got a lovely reception. at 3.00 pm we had afternoon tea which was very good. at 7.15pm we went down for new years eve festivities, the whole evening was wonderful, good food, good band and wonderful company. the hotel and staff where perfect and we will certainly return

Room Tip: we had room 204 which overlooked the town square which was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2011

This was our second visit to The Kings Hotel - which is rare for us so is a strong recommendation in itself. We stayed for 2 nights with breakfast, dinner on one night, a pre dinner drink and afternoon team for £100 each (although we did upgrade to a King room for an extra £40pp) - the offer was through hotelshopuk.com, so maybe worth checking out for deals. The hotel itself is lovely, small enough to feel cosy, but big enough for a great bar and dinning area. The bar is a great place for an afternoon or pre dinner drink - the other bars nearby are quite pubby or restauranty. The dinning room is also very nice and has great food, including the breakfast included in our stay. Although we upgraded to a King room, this wasn't as nice as our previous King room, and having sneaked into a couple of others, there are better ones - apologies for not taking note of the room numbers, but I think the ones overlooking the gardens are better than the ones overlooking the front. The rooms have been done up quite nicely but the bathrooms could be better, our first stay didn't have a shower, a small complaint but worth asking if you'd prefer a big shower etc. Overall a great place to stay with great food at a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Kings Hotel Chipping Campden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kings Hotel Chipping Campden

Address: The Square, Chipping Campden GL55 6AW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Cotswolds > Chipping Campden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Chipping Campden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Kings Hotel Chipping Campden 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kings Hotel is a charming 18th century town house boasting distinctive and stylish accommodation. Sympathetic and careful renovation means guests can enjoy all the modern day comforts they need yet still soak up the character and history of a Cotswold stone building. Nestled in the heart of picturesque Chipping Campden, it is the perfect location to experience the beauty of the Cotswolds. The Kings combines traditional character with contemporary style to create a relaxed and welcoming home away from home for every guest, whether for business or pleasure. The dedicated team at Kings draw on a wealth of experience to ensure your stay will be memorable and comfortable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your The Kings Hotel Chipping Campden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kings Hotel Chipping Campden Cotswolds

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Kings Hotel Chipping Campden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.