We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Disappointing” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Cotswold House Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Cotswold House Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Square | High Street, Chipping Campden GL55 6AN, England   |  
Hotel amenities
troy
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Very Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Hotel is in a great location. Right in charming Chipping Campden.
Deluxe room was around $300 per night, but would have been worth the splurge for a lovely hotel. however, when we got there it was not as expected. Lobby is very tired and appeared dirty. Our room looked like it had been last decorated in the 70's and nothing done since. No shower, just a big tub in the bedroom. Overall, very disappointing.
As it was off season, we knew we could get better deals at any hotel, so I told them that although we were booked for 2 nights, we would only be staying for one. I was told we would have to pay for the two nights as they have a 48 hour cancellation policy.
We won't go back there again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

607 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    280
    179
    90
    46
    12
See reviews for
59
388
7
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

My wife and i along with my sister and her husband have just returned from a 2 night stay in the Cotswold house,we really enjoyed our stay the room was excellent and lived up to our expectations(room 16).My sisters room was not up to the standard they expected they stayed in a cottage room(Griggs).
Communal areas of the hotel were quite dirty a bit neglected for luxury hotel.
We booked a meal for four in the Grill and the staff including who i think was the restaurant manager were poor,we had to attract attention for drinks and after being seated the waiter told us they had German bottled beer which i ordered and it turned out to be Belgian a minor issue but in a hotel of this stature he should be up on the drinks they serve to customers, we waited quite a while for the manager to take our order for food,when the food arrived it was very nice.
When we asked for the bill we had gift vouchers which were then deducted and when the restaurant manager returned with the revised bill he stood by and waited while we sorted out payment,did he think we was going to leave without paying because thats how it felt,very unprofessional.
Breakfast in the grill was very nice but the chef sent out hard poached eggs for 3 of us on the first morning and then 1 of us on the second i did request soft yolks but to me poached eggs come this way not like they had been boiled.Also on the first day we got a full mushroom and the second half a mushroom,my wife and sister ordered eggs benedict because they liked the look of it from the previous morning but they both were only served half a muffin each.
Final verdict on this hotel is very nice but not worth the high price,restaurant staff need some training.
All other staff very helpful and the young man working the bar that night did the hotel proud.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, General Manager at Cotswold House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, stating you really enjoyed your stay, it is obviously a shame that not every aspect was perfect but we are delighted you still feel able to write you enjoyed your stay, I can assure you that I will personally look closely at the negative areas you have highlighted and will improve. we look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
NOTE TO OTHER TRIPADVISOR READERS/ POTENTIAL FUTURE GUESTS, should you require Spa Treatments the spa does get booked up well in advance so to make the most of your stay do ask about the spa when calling to book your room.

Kind Regards
Paul Dixon
General Manager
The Cotswold House & Noel Arms hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

My husband and I have just returned from a two night stay at the Cotswold House Hotel which was a surprise birthday present for my husband. The Hotel, staff, food, spa were all absolutely wonderful. Our room was lovely, very nice decor and nice and warm which was good as it had to be the coldest couple of February days ever! We enjoyed dining in both The Grill and The Dining room both of which were exceptional. The Dining especially with its 7 course menu was outstanding and not at all stuffy. We also had a treatment each in the small but wonderful spa. My hot -stone massage was pure bliss, in fact I woke myself up snoring - that's how relaxed I was. My husband had the Morrocan Ritual which again was very relaxing. All in all we had a superb couple of days in this wonderful hotel, set in a very picturesque village in the heart of the Cotswold. I thoroughly recommend it. Thank you Cotswold House!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, General Manager at Cotswold House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you for the great review, we are delighted you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay, you managed to fit in just about everything, both restaurants and the spa!, all you need to experience now is a hot tub, we have two rooms that have private gardens with a hot tub, please contact me personally when your next visiting and we will try and offer you a good rate or free upgrade, so you will have experienced all of or great areas. We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.
NOTE TO OTHER TRIPADVISOR READERS/ POTENTIAL FUTURE GUESTS, should you require Spa Treatments the spa does get booked up well in advance so to make the most of your stay do ask about the spa when calling to book your room.

Kind Regards
Paul Dixon
General Manager
The Cotswold House & Noel Arms hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rayleigh
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

It was our second stay at the hotel in the last six months. We feel in love with the area first time around and after this break we cannot wait for our third visit. We had a suite on our first visit but this time we had a junior suite which we felt was superior. Beautifully furnished,inviting log fire,the most comfortable settee and bed, not to mention the luxurious bathroom with the wonderful limestone bath. Food as always was excellent and a big thank you to Maxine who looked after us at breakfast and was the only face we recognised from our previous stay. The only negative I can ever say about the hotel is that for some reason I can not receive any reception for the wifi except in reception but maybe that's a good thing! We both have hectic lifes and are always so relaxed when we get to chipping campden and the cotswold house. We are already planning our next visit

Room Tip: Ask for the room with limestone baths, luxury!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, General Manager at Cotswold House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
The whole team are delighted your party had such a wonderful time, thank you for taking the time to leave your comments they made Maxines day! we are delighted you would return, please do call us direct for the best possible return guest discount.
We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon,
NOTE TO OTHER TRIPADVISOR READERS/ POTENTIAL FUTURE GUESTS, should you require Spa Treatments the spa does get booked up well in advance so to make the most of your stay do ask about the spa when calling to book your room.

Kind Regards
Paul Dixon
General Manager
The Cotswold House & Noel Arms hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

We stayed in one of the posh suites for three nights of our honeymoon, expecting something pretty special.
So - did we get it?
On one level, it's a swanky hotel - but at a more detailed level, there are faults - or, at least, things which should have been done better when paying this kind of price.
Our suite had a sitting room, a bedroom and a large bathroom, with a huge and wonderful limestone bath.
Each room had its own TV, plus DVD players in the bedroom and the sitting room. The TV in the bathroom did not function at all - and reporting it to reception (pun not intended) brought neither a cure nor explanation/apology. The (expensive) TV sets in the other rooms were very badly set up (picture aspect all wrong / colour settings all wrong - and none of the promised radio channels working). Again, this was neither rectified nor explained.
The limestone bath had a noticeable crack - though being a natural stone this didn't surprise me much. However, a large dirty crack in the washbasin was less expected.
The large bed was generally comfortable - though it was clearly two single bases pushed together and the join was somewhat obvious to whoever slept on it.
As commented by another reviewer, sound insulation is poor and the inhabitants of the room above clearly had a pet elephant - and a nocturnal one, at that.
We ate just one evening in the Grill - and though the service was helpful and pleasant, we were not over impressed with the food and chose to eat out on the other evenings (see another review when I find time).
Breakfast (again in the Grill room) offered a fair choice of hot and cold options, but anything "char grilled" tasted rather burnt and my wife complained she could taste the burnt mushrooms all morning. My Eggs Benedict was delicious, with perfectly cooked eggs, but on both occasions I ordered it, was tepid (at best) on arrival. The muffin (although charred on the edges) was not warm - and neither was the plate.
Would I go back? Probably not.... (sorry)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, General Manager at Cotswold House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments, we will definitely look at your negative points as a matter of urgency, I have no idea how the guests got an elephant in the room without us noticing but we will keep an eye out in the future. On a serious not I can assure you I will personally look at your feedback and take action where appropriate
We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon,

Kind Regards
Paul Dixon
General Manager
The Cotswold House & Noel Arms hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We booked a junior suite. The room was lovely - we had a seperate sitting room with gas fire, large bathroom with huge bath and seperate shower and a very comfortable superking bed with a TV in each room. The room had been finished to a high spec and the hotel had obviously chosen expensive and high quality furnishings and electronics. The service was really excellent - staff were friendly and very professional - could not be faulted. Two small negatives...my poached egg was over cooked to the point it was actually a hard boiled egg and we assumed our newspapers were complimentary but were charged for the papers and a service charge for delivering them to the room. The room was booked through hotels.com at £260 per night.

Room Tip: we had the junior suite (room 12) - unfortunately though had a very bad nights sleep as the noise of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, General Manager at Cotswold House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
The whole team are delighted your party had such a wonderful time, thank you for taking the time to leave your comments, we do not add a service charge for delivering newspapers and having checked your bill personally today I cannot see the item you mention listed, I am delighted that you had a wonderful time and feel the staff cannot be faulted, please do contact me if you are unhappy with any aspect of your bill and I will immediately rectify any issues, We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon,
NOTE TO OTHER TRIPADVISOR READERS/ POTENTIAL FUTURE GUESTS, should you require Spa Treatments the spa does get booked up well in advance so to make the most of your stay do ask about the spa when calling to book your room.

Kind Regards
Paul Dixon
General Manager
The Cotswold House & Noel Arms hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

I read the reviews before booking and was looking forward to a luxury hotel, unfortunately I think the rooms really vary, and ours was basic with an awful bathroom. The room was old and quite cramped, we had to walk up a really dirty staircase out the back to get to our room. We couldn't use the wifi as it didn't reach to our room. We tried to get food at 5ish for our son, but was sent to the sister hotel across the road, this was awful and so busy it was 3 deep at the bar to order food with a hungry child this was a really stressful start to our night away. I personally would not recommend this hotel based on our experience.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, General Manager at Cotswold House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Obviously we are most disappointed that your stay was not perfect, as you mention you booked based on tripadvisor reviews I am sure you will appreciate that the vast majority of our guest have a wonderful experience, we do hope you reconsider and visit us again very soon.

Kind Regards
Paul Dixon
General Manager
The Cotswold House & Noel Arms hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cotswold House Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cotswold House Hotel & Spa

Address: The Square | High Street, Chipping Campden GL55 6AN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Chipping Campden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Chipping Campden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cotswold House Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This award-winning stylish hotel and spa in the heart of Chipping Campden, Gloucestershire, will appeal to discerning travellers visiting the Cotswolds, looking for tranquility, sublime comfort, exceptional food and a stunning spa. The contemporary style makes Cotswold House and Spa one of the most admired boutique hotels in the Cotswolds. With an idyllic location, flexible mix of spaces and immaculate service, Cotswold House is the perfect venue for board meetings, away-day training and corporate events. Whatever your plans - whether you're wanting a longer stay to explore the Cotswolds and Stratford-upon-Avon, a romantic weekend away, a well-deserved break in the Cotswolds with family and friends, a Cotswold conference or Cotswold wedding - Cotswold House and Spa is the perfect location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Cotswold House Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cotswold House Hotel Chipping Campden
Cotswold Hotel Chipping Campden
Cotswold Chipping Campden
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa Chipping Campden, Cotswolds

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cotswold House Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.