We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Greek restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Michael's Mediterranean Restaurant

Michael's Mediterranean Restaurant
High Street, Chipping Campden, England
+44 (0)1386 840826
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Greek, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Ashby de la Zouch, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
“Perfect Greek restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

We found this restaurant on TripAdvisor phone app when in the area. It was a fantastic find. Food was absolutely amazing. Probably far better than local Mediterranean places. Service was also spot on. This restaurant really is good
Pricey but good value. I would return for a special occasion.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    54
    20
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“as good as ever”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We paid yet another visit to this restaurant on a rather cold spring day and sat by their lovely log fire. Only a light lunch this time, but it was as good as ever, and we love the greek background music.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orgeres, France
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“A refreshing change”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Seeking something different from the standard Cotswold fare of game and meat in general we found Michael's Mediterranean Restaurant in the very attractive North Cotswold town of Chipping Campden. We booked a table for 2 for 7pm, right on opening time, on a Saturday evening. The welcome was very warm and there were numerous staff on duty so we were never kept waiting. In fact, all courses came promptly but we were never rushed. The basic flavour is Greek and the highlight for us was the seafood, fresh up from Devon. We had fresh kalamari and fresh sardines for starters with hake and monkfish to follow. All dishes were delicious. The moussaka will have to wait for another visit! The prices for the fish "specials" were a little high we felt butmain menu items were reasonably priced. We will be back. Now, if only we could find a Vietnamese or a Thai..!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford Middx
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Country village greek”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Good service, little hectic at times.
Good food, reasonable prices, right in centre of the village.
Good choice on the munu.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wetherby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Mediterranean fare in the Cotswolds”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Something a little different. A Greek / Mediterranean restaurant in the quaint Cotswold village of Chipping Campden.

There's plenty of space and a warm welcome from the staff.

Highlights included the option to share a mezze selection which included olives, mushrooms, tzatziki, hummus, salads, meatballs and calamari, accompanied by pitta bread.

Mains included, monkfish in a mustard sauce, chicken kebab and hake.

Good wine list.

Something different - worth exploring.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Michael's Mediterranean Restaurant also viewed

Chipping Campden, Cotswolds
Chipping Campden, Cotswolds
 
Chipping Campden, Cotswolds
Chipping Campden, Cotswolds
 

Been to Michael's Mediterranean Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Michael's Mediterranean Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.