We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dinner with an old girl friend !!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Joel's Restaurant - CLOSED

Joel's Restaurant
High Street, Chipping Campden GL55 6AL, England
01386 840598
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Kingsbridge
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Dinner with an old girl friend !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

I have visited Joel's over the past 20 years or so and I would say even though I have moved from the area decades ago am treated like a long lost friend when I arrive..We both had the fillet steak which over the years has never let me down..I would say that it is the best I have ever had with pepper sauce and chips and I have eaten a few over my 50 years in search of one that can match Joels..\this is yet to happen.It is my intention to book for Dovers games on the first weekend in june to watch the torchlight parade that comes from the hill culminating with an evening of dancing in the square..With its magnificent and well priced menu it will again be an evening to remember..If I had the ability to run a restuarant it would be like this one..Always great food and great service x

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    14
    5
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Findlay, Ohio
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“good meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Had a wonderful steak dinner there. It is right in the center of town and easy walking distance. The service was good and desserts excellent.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verwood, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We had a wonderful meal here and quite reasonably priced, our only criticism would be that the tables for 2 were a little too close to each other.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Wonderful food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

What a great place. My husband and I had a lovely dinner here one night during our weekend break to the Cotswolds. The food was fantastic and I was so happy to find a place that serves Escargot as good as what I had in Paris! Lovely food and great atmosphere.

Loved it!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“:-D”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

I loved eating at Joel's! We had a cosy table for two on a freezing cold April evening. The lemon sole was perfectly cooked. The service was excellent throughout our evening too. I'd love to go back in warmer weather and eat out on the terrace. 10\10!!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joel's Restaurant also viewed

Chipping Campden, Cotswolds
Chipping Campden, Cotswolds
 
Chipping Campden, Cotswolds
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Joel's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.