We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good meal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Joel's Restaurant - CLOSED

Joel's Restaurant
High Street, Chipping Campden GL55 6AL, England
01386 840598
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Findlay, Ohio
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“good meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Had a wonderful steak dinner there. It is right in the center of town and easy walking distance. The service was good and desserts excellent.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    14
    5
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Verwood, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We had a wonderful meal here and quite reasonably priced, our only criticism would be that the tables for 2 were a little too close to each other.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Wonderful food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

What a great place. My husband and I had a lovely dinner here one night during our weekend break to the Cotswolds. The food was fantastic and I was so happy to find a place that serves Escargot as good as what I had in Paris! Lovely food and great atmosphere.

Loved it!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“:-D”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

I loved eating at Joel's! We had a cosy table for two on a freezing cold April evening. The lemon sole was perfectly cooked. The service was excellent throughout our evening too. I'd love to go back in warmer weather and eat out on the terrace. 10\10!!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Such good value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

A friend and I arrived in Chipping Campden on a really foul wet day. We looked at menus outside other pubs and restaurants and found them all rather expensive and uninspiring. However, Joel's set price lunch fitted the bill. The restaurant its self is cosy and the food is excellent value for money. The waitress was delightful, even though she was on her own with a busy restaurant to deal with. Would definitely recommend and would certainly return when in the area.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joel's Restaurant also viewed

Chipping Campden, Cotswolds
Chipping Campden, Cotswolds
 
Chipping Campden, Cotswolds
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Joel's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.