We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Review Problem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Seymour House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chipping Campden
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Seymour House
Save Saved
You added Seymour House to your Saves list
High Street, Chipping Campden GL55 6AG, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A Review Problem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

There is an unfortunate problem in reviewing Sarah and the Seymour House. This site allows you to give a maximum of only five stars. Sarah and the Seymour deserve six, maybe seven. My wife and I have stayed in quite a number of B&Bs across the US and Europe. This is one of the finest, one of the most enjoyable in which we have ever stayed. The classic old architecture is delightful. The modern conveniences are perfect. Breakfast is wonderfully and creatively British. And Sarah is always ready to do whatever she can to make your visit a joy. There happened to be an annual music festival when we were in Chipping Campden and Sarah and her husband made tickets available for two of the performances. "Just make a donation to one of our favorite charities," they said. We stayed here for the first four nights of a twelve-day vacation in England and Wales. It was difficult to leave, and nothing else quite compared the rest of the trip.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms may have lower ceilings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
44
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sydney
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

My friend and I have just spent the last five nights in the wonderful coach house attached to Seymour house. It is set in the back garden of the house, downstairs is set out with a living and dining area, a huge king sized bed, a delightful bathroom with a sunken bath and separate shower and, a kitchen with full sized stove/oven, dishwasher, fridge/freezer ( bar sized) and a washing machine. Upstairs there is a loft room open to to the lower floor with a single bed. We have thoroughly enjoyed our stay here, it is a little home away from home. Whe we arrived Sarah came up to say hello and introduce us to Inky the black lab, she made us feel very welcome in her house. It was nice to have a few supplies in the fridge to make breakfast the next morning and, we made good use of these. The house is set on the Main Street of chipping campden, it is a short walk to all the shops and restaurants. The house is within easy driving distance to explore what the Cotswolds has to offer, it was nice to come back to the sleepy hamlet of Chipping Campden after a day of exploring. We ate out one of the five nights, the other nights we decided to have home cooked meals in our lovely cottage. There are some local shops in Chipping Campden that have supplies of food to cook up a feast, if you want a larger supermarket they are only about a 1/2 hr drive away. I would highly recommend the Coach House to anyone wanting a home base to explore the Cotswolds.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We stayed at Seymour House on the first long weekend of May.
Our cozy room was on the top floor, the bed was extremely comfortable, the bathroom very clean and we could use a selection of Natural Revolution handmade products.
Sarah gave us milk and homemade chocolate biscuits every day to complement our tea.
There is a nice living room with books and an honesty bar. Books are all over the place and they have a very interesting library. Breakfast was extremely good. Sarah made every effort to make our stay as good as possible, she is the perfect host. I will recommend this B&B to my friends and relatives.

Room Tip: There are only 4 rooms and they are all nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

My husband and I enjoyed a two-night mid-week stay with my brother and sister-in-law. Our rooms were on the second floor tucked away from the rest of the house - just what we wanted. Each spacious bedroom had a sitting area and a well-appointed bathroom. Fresh flowers, home-made biscuits and fresh milk in a thermos flask were just a few of the touches making our stay so special; cafetieres were the icing on the cake. A large drawing room on the ground floor is for the sole use of guests, doubling up as a dining room for utterly delicious breakfasts; this room alone would be the envy of 5* hotels. Although designated a B&B, Seymour House is a far cry what is usually understood by the term. Seymour House is a brilliant combination of enabling one to be (a) a guest in a friendly home and (b) an independent visitor able to come and go at any time. Sarah Taylor is a delightful host.

Room Tip: Second-floor rooms have a couple of low'ish beams, but that wouldn't stop us selecting those...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, England
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

We stayed at Seymour House on probably the two coldest days in March but the welcome (and the house) were as warm as could be. Chipping Camden is the loveliest of the Cotswold villages - large enough to be interesting but mercifully not as commercialised as some of the others.

Seymour House has a stylish blend of traditional and modern. Our room up in the roof was spacious and very comfortable with a sitting area with two armchairs and a TV, a large bed with crisp white sheets (changed every day), a much appreciated tea making tray and a modern bathroom.

There is a lovely breakfast room and lounge area for guests' use where you are invited to light the open fire and help yourself to complimentary sherry or (honesty book) wine. We sat by the fire both mornings until mid morning, enjoying the magazines and complimentary newspaper. The breakfasts were delicious with home made granola and spicy compote as well as cooked options.

Sarah is most welcoming and friendly and was very helpful with walking directions and recommendations.

Chipping Camden is very well positioned for touring the North Cotswolds, with some lovely walks and drives. Hidcote and Kiftsgate Gardens are almost on the doorstep and Chastleton, Snowshill, Upton, the wonderfully eccentric Mogul inspired Sezincote House and Batsford Arboretum are all 30 minutes away. As is Stratford, if you fancy shopping, Shakespeare or a night at the theatre.

All in all, it was excellent and we definitely plan to return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

We only stayed one night but were greeted warmly with tea and toast and an open fire. Stacks of lovely books and an honesty bar in the living cosy living room. The beds are like sleeping in a cloud. A superb place, highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wetherby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

First rate, luxury B&B in a delightful Cotswolds village. If you want to spoil yourselves, book Seymour House!

We took 3 rooms for a 2 night weekend stay to celebrate my Mother's 70th birthday, and our party included two people needing to 'rest up' due to pregnancy and a recent op, respectively.

Sarah Taylor was very easy to talk to in advance about our needs, and proved to be such a welcoming host when we duly arrived.

The house is stunning. I like the fact that it is also very distinctly the family home, but equally the family have their own space, and there is a separate, very comfortable sitting room / breakfast room for guests. The Taylor family were so friendly and welcoming.

All rooms are well appointed. Plenty of space, comfortable beds, lovely bathrooms, dressing gowns, fresh milk for tea, bath bombs, hairdryer, hot water bottle and a nice touch - the DAB Roberts Radio. It's seriously the type of place you just chill out with some Classic FM on. I also like the fact that the rooms are in different parts of the house, so you don't feel as guests (especially staying as a party) that you are on top of each other.

The weekend we chose happened to coincide with a deluge of snow and mightily cold weather. Chipping Campden is great to explore, but on the Saturday, by 1pm we simply needed to hunker down, the weather was so bad. Sarah made us feel very much at home in front of a roaring fire in the front room (dedicated for guests), and we relaxed with tea, the newspapers (another nice touch that they are available to guests) and we simply put a log on the fire every now and then!

There is an honesty bar in the front room plus complimentary sherry, and a full games cupboard.

Breakfast is very relaxed. Great selection of fruit, yoghurt and homemade granola, followed by any option you like on the cooked breakfast front. And really well done.

In the evenings we ate at the Eight Bells and then Michael's, both very good.

In a word, outstanding.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Seymour House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seymour House

Address: High Street, Chipping Campden GL55 6AG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Chipping Campden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Chipping Campden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seymour House, Chipping Campden, is the family home of Sarah, Peter, Daisy, Ellie and Inky, the black Labrador. Seymour House has five bed & breakfast guestrooms, each individually decorated to the highest standard, and all have en-suite bathrooms. There is a guest sitting room and a garden to use in the summer. Parking available. We also have The Coach House, self-catering accommodation for up to three people. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Seymour House Chipping Campden, Cotswolds

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seymour House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.