We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect beginning to a fantastic trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Noel Arms Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Noel Arms Hotel to your Saves list
Noel Arms Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   High Street, Chipping Campden GL55 6AT, England   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
San Diego, California, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A perfect beginning to a fantastic trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

I had been wanting to visit the Cotswolds for years and this visit to Chipping Campden proved it to be everything I had hoped for . We spent our first two nights in England at the Noel Arms. We loved all the character and charm of the town and the hotel. One of the best meals of our 3 week trip was prepared by the award winning curry chef at the Noel Arms. Our 2 bedroom accommodations in Room 2 above the lobby was comfortable and quiet, but we felt the décor was a bit plain compared to what we had seen on the website. We would definitely recommend the Noel Arms to anyone and we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

591 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    241
    256
    65
    20
    9
See reviews for
65
356
9
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in the 1657 Suite for 3 nights. Great room, amazing and comfortable bed. Good view from window of the Main Street. Food was excellent both breakfast and evening meal. Good choice of real ales and wine.very friendly and helpfull staff.
A great place for a short break or longer.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

My wife and I stayed here mid week in September 2013. We had been on the phone previously enquiring about facilities to store our bikes etc. The staff member Kelly on the phone was so helpful. Not only did she offer the use of the boiler room to store our bikes securely, she allowed us when we requested her to keep my precious and very expensive road bike in the room with us (Yup, I really love my bike!). She did warn us that the room we had booked was not very big and that it would have been a squeeze to keep the bike in the room.

We didn't end up taking the bikes, but Kelly the receptionist unbeknownst to us had upgraded us to a bigger room so we could keep the bike in comfort with us in the room. The property is on the high street but chipping Camden high street is lovely and not very busy. The room was very spacious and bathroom was done up beautifully.

The ventilation for this room is not great and in the summer months it could get a bit hot. They do have a portable fan, but the sun streaming into this south facing room can still make it hot. We stayed in room 28 and there is a store room adjacent to this that can be a bit noisy. On our first morning we woke up to the sounds of beer kegs being delivered etc. When we later spoke to the management they were so gracious and apologetic. They offered us another room, but we decided to stay in the same room. The next day it was a lot quieter. Think they may have had a word with the staff.

The food was superb and there is an award winning chef known for his curries. There is also an amazing cake shop in the reception area. We had an autumn deal which entitled us to a free Main meal every night we stayed. We also used Spa facilities at their sister hotel across the street which was amazing. We will definitely stay here again although I would recommend if you wanted the quietest rooms and a loooong sleep in then don't get the ones facing the courtyard on the conservatory side. Although the noise is only on delivery days and that too after 8am.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

I stayed here for just one night but loved it. We had room 26 which is on the ground floor and over looks the car park. The chef is Sri Lankan and has excellent curries on the menu as well as the usual fare. He evens does a Sri Lankan breakfast curry. The staff were brilliant . Alex on reception was a delightful lady who showed us to our room . Can't recall that ever happening before! Chipping Camden is a beautiful Cotswold village and a good base to explore from . If I have to nit pick here are mine.
1. No wi fi in the rooms
2. Small television
3. Rooms a bit dark

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

This is a very old hotel, but that is part of the charm. Bathroom was updated, restaurant was good, and the staff was very helpful. Well located in the center of Chipping Campden. Nice to have a pub and restaurant, and even a small coffee shop. Would have been nice to have WiFi in the rooms, but it was accessible in the common areas.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the car park, but was not a problem. Very quiet little village at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Had a weekend break, room was small, tired and chinzy décor, mouldy bathroom and over all the room was so DARK! lit with 20 watt bulbs. V disappointing this hotel needs an overhaul it's theme was confusing odd plates on the wall and then the bathroom had been attempted to be modern with a new shower but the mould and mastic from the previous was still left on the tiles, the bathroom floor times were yellow and horrid. Really hope the owner invests in this place it could be lovely and cust service needs too be looked at too. I haven't mentioned breakfast such minute portions, a table with 3 croissants in basket and a coffee in a pump for self selections get your act together just basic stuff.

Room Tip: Go to a different hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Second stay here. And the first was in 1972, so this was a nostalgic trip back, having found our same bed on the Noel Arms website. We slept in the same honeymoon bed, the old four poster in room four. Our room, #4, was second floor, on the main street, but quiet, the one double-hung window open the whole visit. Room was smaller then I remember, 16x16, plus bathroom and non-functioning fireplace in the corner. Staff was friendly. Restaurant was good and probably as big as any in town, but oddly not named and not rated on Tripadvisor.

The best part of this stay was Chipping Camden. The Camden Way starts by the hotel, and a one mile walk up it rewards with super view and good choice for picnic. Knees now don't permit longer walk to Broadway. Our visit here this time was by taxi, excellent service and reasonable price by chippingcamdencars. Three nights here. Tuesday had a free walking tour by volunteer town wardens.

The old inn and town were fine, but one might miss these creature comforts: Elevator, air conditioning, room safe, adequate lighting. Well, our room did have free Wifi.

Room Tip: Room 4 is not over the bar. It's on the front, but no traffic noise until a bit after 7am. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Noel Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Noel Arms Hotel

Address: High Street, Chipping Campden GL55 6AT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Chipping Campden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Chipping Campden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Noel Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming 14th-Century Inn situated in the center of Chipping Campden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Noel Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Noel Arms Chipping Campden
Hotel Noel Arms
Noel Arms Hotel Chipping Campden, Cotswolds

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Noel Arms Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.