We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely village !” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Noel Arms Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Noel Arms Hotel to your Saves list
Noel Arms Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   High Street, Chipping Campden GL55 6AT, England   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Lovely village !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Chef has won pub chef of the year competition ( curry ) for the last three years....BUT surely it is a hotel, not a pub ( although it does have a pub within its remit) ? Really good staff, quirky building and smashing village, so all the right ingredients then ?

Actually no, too expensive roomwise and price wise for what it serves up.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, General Manager at Noel Arms Hotel, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, we do have a pub and a restaurant and are delighted that we have won so many awards (chef of the year 2011, 2012, 2013) the awards are from the whole of the UK not just our region, it is obviously a shame that you found it a little expensive, do keep an eye on our website for special offers that might be in line with your budget
NOTE TO OTHER TRIP ADVISOR READERS/ POTENTIAL FUTURE GUESTS, should you require Spa Treatments the spa does get booked up well in advance so to make the most of your stay do ask about the spa when calling to book your room.

Kind Regards
Paul Dixon
General Manager
The Cotswold House & Noel Arms hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

585 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    240
    253
    64
    19
    9
See reviews for
64
354
9
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Torfaen
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We had a lovely two days at the hotel. Great staff,great food and beer but unfortunately we were given room 29 which is an annexe cottage next to cellar so we had noise from barrels being rolled across forecourt and noise from busy road .we will come back but would ask for a room in the extension at the back. Curry night was great and the open fires were cosy

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, General Manager at Noel Arms Hotel, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such kind comments we do appreciate it. The whole team are delighted that everything was almost perfect, we look forward to welcoming you back again very soon and have revised our brewery delivery times to ensure you and other guests would not be disturbed, please call us to make your next booking as the best price is always to be had by calling us direct.
NOTE TO OTHER TRIP ADVISOR READERS/ POTENTIAL FUTURE GUESTS, should you require Spa Treatments the spa does get booked up well in advance so to make the most of your stay do ask about the spa when calling to book your room.

Kind Regards
Paul Dixon
General Manager
The Cotswold House & Noel Arms hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Towcester, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

An excellent choice for our 2-night break. Our very pleasant room was in the extension at the back, decorated & furnished in a clever blend of modern and traditional, and was warm and quiet.
The open fires in the lounge and bar were especially welcome in an English February.
Food was universally good; we ate in the restaurant on one evening and the meal was faultless, the cakes in the coffee shop were very tempting, and the cooked breakfasts offered some more unusual choices such as wild mushrooms on toast, scrambled eggs & smoked salmon and a curry, as well as a conventional full English and a well-stocked buffet.
We had also booked an inclusive spa package at the neighbouring Cotswold House, and both enjoyed a relaxing massage and a session in the pool and steam room. My only - admittedly minor - criticism is that staff at both sites seemed rather ill-informed about what this entitled us to and we kept having to remind them that we had already paid.
The staff were all friendly & helpful; we really enjoyed our stay & would certainly choose to come here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, General Manager at Noel Arms Hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave such a kind review, we try hard to get the balance right of offering a full “expected” menu and also try to add a few little surprises such as a curry breakfast, we will look closely at your comments about reminding staff you had paid. And will improve we are delighted you enjoyed the spa experience and the massages,well done on visiting the spa, unfortunately many Noel Arms guests leave it a little late and don’t book spa access and then we can’t fit them in, we look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
NOTE TO OTHER TRIPADVISOR READERS/ POTENTIAL FUTURE GUESTS, should you require Spa Treatments the spa does get booked up well in advance so to make the most of your stay do ask about the spa when calling to book your room.

Kind Regards
Paul Dixon
General Manager
The Cotswold House & Noel Arms hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kempston, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

My husband and I had a very rare 3 night break away from kids, work and animals (except for 1 dog we took with us) at the Noel Arms Hotel.
We booked at a good price directly through the hotel website and found for us this hotel was perfect.
The room was lovely and the bed was so comfortable and big. We were able to leave the dog in her indoor kennel in the room whilst we enjoyed a very relaxing couple of hours in the spa (sister hotel opposite) having been on a long walk during the day.
We ate in the bar and enjoyed a drink accompanied by our dog; the only place she was not allowed to go was the restaurant. Breakfast was lovely with freshly cooked food available direct from the kitchen and the usual buffet of toast, cereal, fruit, cheese, meats, etc. We ate in the hotel every evening as the food was good and the price not too bad - especially on a Tuesday when they had 2 for £20, 2 main meals and 2 drinks for £20 and we included soup and bread as a starter for £4 each.
The hotel is in the heart of a pretty village but it is just a ten minute walk and you are into the countryside, perfect for a 8/9 mile round walk to Broadway Tower on a very cold but dry February day, just make sure you have booked the spa for your return so you can defrost in the steam room!
All the staff were very friendly and helpful.
We had a very enjoyable stay and we would love to return in the future.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, General Manager at Noel Arms Hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Two for Two on a Tuesday!!! Is a very popular night and runs at different times throughout the year, another great day to visit is the last Thursday of the Month as we have our monthly curry night (our chef is twice winner of Curry Chef Of The Year) so as well as our full menu we have amazing curry nights, well done on visiting the spa, unfortunately many Noel Arms guests leave it a little late and don’t book spa access and then we can’t fit them in, we look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
NOTE TO OTHER TRIPADVISOR READERS/ POTENTIAL FUTURE GUESTS, should you require Spa Treatments the spa does get booked up well in advance so to make the most of your stay do ask about the spa when calling to book your room.

Kind Regards
Paul Dixon
General Manager
The Cotswold House & Noel Arms hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

A fabulous sunny weekend spent at this fine establishment!
Great location,- in the heart of the Cotswolds,with parking - tick!
Comfy bed and spacious room - tick!
Good food with an option for Sri Lankan curried egg and coconut roti for breakfast- double tick! We also had the traditional English and it was yummy, the bacon and sausage were outstanding quality!
Super Dog friendly, it's nice now and again to be able to take your little pooch with you on weekends away.

BEST OF ALL - the really lovely staff, in particular the bearded guy( sorry we didn't get your name) who signed us in at reception,poured us evening drinks, recommended and served us our evening meal! And was there again in the morning to show us local walks and share his knowledge of the area! Top bloke- thank you !

Would recommend a stay here, it's laid back and welcoming.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, General Manager at Noel Arms Hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, we have two rooms that can take dogs so are dog friendly and are delighted you and the dog had a wonderful time, we look forward to welcoming you back again very soon, in the summer dog friendly rooms do get booked up well in advance so if your planning a summer visit do give us a call very soon, we look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
NOTE TO OTHER TRIPADVISOR READERS/ POTENTIAL FUTURE GUESTS, should you require Spa Treatments the spa does get booked up well in advance so to make the most of your stay do ask about the spa when calling to book your room.

Kind Regards
Paul Dixon
General Manager
The Cotswold House & Noel Arms hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Stopped here for lunch after a walk nearby. Vary friendly staff, good food (chicken parfait and beef sandwich - simple but well executed), good beer, and two cosy fires. We even came back later for coffee and cakes at the little coffee bar in the entrance foyer (also good). The hotel seems a good blend of the old and the new, and I would certainly consider staying here when in the area next.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, General Manager at Noel Arms Hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, we are delighted it was o good you came back twice in one day! we have just won UK Chef Of The year for the third year in a row (the first time anyone has ever scored a hat trick) so we are delighted you enjoyed the food, we look forward to welcoming you back again very soon, in the summer dog friendly rooms do get booked up well in advance so if your planning a summer visit do give us a call very soon, we look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Kind Regards
Paul Dixon
General Manager
The Cotswold House & Noel Arms hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

What more can I say? Stunning Sri Lancan lamb curry washed down with noel Arms or butty bach.
You could pop in for coffee and a cake - which would be lovely but you'd be missing out on a great lunch!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, General Manager at Noel Arms Hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, we are delighted to mention we have just won UK Chef Of The year for the third year in a row (the first time anyone has ever scored a hat trick) so we are delighted you enjoyed the curry, we look forward to welcoming you back again very soon, in the summer dog friendly rooms do get booked up well in advance so if your planning a summer visit do give us a call very soon, we look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Kind Regards
Paul Dixon
General Manager
The Cotswold House & Noel Arms hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Noel Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Noel Arms Hotel

Address: High Street, Chipping Campden GL55 6AT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Chipping Campden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Chipping Campden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Noel Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming 14th-Century Inn situated in the center of Chipping Campden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Noel Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Noel Arms Chipping Campden
Hotel Noel Arms
Noel Arms Hotel Chipping Campden, Cotswolds

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Noel Arms Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.