We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Planning my next visit!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Noel Arms Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Noel Arms Hotel to your Saves list
Noel Arms Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   High Street, Chipping Campden GL55 6AT, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Chichester, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Planning my next visit!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

The Noel Arms more than lived up to the positive reviews on this website and exceeded my expectations. I love Chipping Campden and have stayed at the Cotswold House many times. Not any more! The Noel Arms is less luxurious but just as comfortable, friendlier and much better value. My room was quiet, spacious and well-appointed and I slept like a log both nights. My only suggestion for improvement is a brighter bedside light for reading. The staff could not have been more helpful or welcoming, especially Angela on reception. There is plenty of free parking and the restaurant, bar and coffee shop are fab with delicious food, a varied menu and reasonable prices. The hotel is built in traditional cotswold stone with plenty of character. It has a cosy lounge with comfortable couches, newspapers and blazing log fires. If you've never been to this picture-perfect Cotswold village you don't know what you are missing and the Noel Arms is the ideal place to stay when exploring the area. I can't wait for my return visit!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, General Manager at Noel Arms Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments we own both the Cotswold House and the Noel Arms so are delighted you have experienced both, Angela who you mention is a absolute star and we are delighted to have her as a part of the team
We look forward to welcoming you back, don’t forget the best rates are always to be had by booking direct with us.

Kind Regards
Paul Dixon
General Manager
Noel Arms Hotels & The Cotswold House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

674 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    269
    284
    79
    30
    12
See reviews for
72
405
12
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I came here for our anniversary. The Noel arms is a really nice hotel with lots of character and the rooms are of a good standard. We ate in the restaurant, drank in the bar and had coffee in the coffee shop - all of which were excellent.

BUT!!!!! They make a massive fuss about the Spa at their sister hotel, The Cotswold House and the fact that they won 'Spa of the Year' - and to be honest we were VERY disappointed with it. For a small charge you can use the facilities for 2 hours but we were out of there in 40 mins. The general area was very small and overcrowded, the steam room was tiny (no sauna), the changing rooms needed a bit of maintenance with numerous broken lockers, broken hair dryer and dirty floors, and the staff were pretty miserable. Quote "Read this (a medical declaration), sign here, here is your locker key". No explanation of the facilities etc.

I can only guess that they won the award on the strength of their treatments - but these seemed very expensive compared to other hotels we have been to.

Overall, The Noel itself is great and I would 100% recommend it to anyone who wants a nice break in the Cotswold, and I would encourage anyone to try a meal in the restaurant or a coffee and cream tea in the coffee shop, just don't base your stay on the quality of the spa or you will
be disappointed (we can't understand how this won awards as we have been to far better spas which cost far less money).

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, General Manager at Noel Arms Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Thank you for taking time to leave such a lovely review of the Noel Arms, obviously we are disappointed that our Spa Of The Year 2012/13 did not live up to your expectations, had you had one of our spa treatments I am sure you would have rated us higher, the spa is designed around the treatments and not flashy headline gimmicks, unfortunately as you area where the day you visited around 50% of the spa and gardens did have a power shortage meaning services were affected, I have listed below the reason we won the award and am confident had it not been for the power shortage your experience would have been different, we don’t have cascading waterfalls mud baths Olympic sixe pools etc.
Our philosophy and why we won the award-
While at some Spas, you find yourself elbowed out from your peaceful swim by a noisy aqua aerobics class, or jolted out of some quiet contemplation by children in armbands, at Cotswold House Spa we believe small (and exclusive) is beautiful. We don't promise mud baths, fancy gadgets and false promises - our specialty is peace and quiet, in the idyllic surroundings of our Cotswold garden; hydrotherapy pool, steam room and restorative and reviving treatments given to you by our expert, caring team, and the space to unwind and really let the rest of the world slip away. Which is why we've just won the UK spa of the year Award 2013 for Best Spa - because the people that know about us, would rather everyone else didn't.
Kind Regards
Paul Dixon
General Manager
Noel Arms & Cotswold House hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

Stayed the one night - very helpful staff, even showed us to our room! Great location in the middle of Chipping Camden - never had so much fuss showed to our dog, as in all the places we visited, Chipping Camden is very dog friendly. Great breakfast choice (cooked to order as well), and they do a great cream tea with a wide choice of homemade cakes - highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, General Manager at Noel Arms Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Thank you for such a positive review and (WOOF) that’s a hello to your dog! We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon don’t forget the best possible rate is always to be had by booking direct and we have some great Jan and Feb offers coming very soon, why not try out the spa at our sister hotel the Cotswold House next time (The Cotswold House is only 30 seconds walk away from us, and the spa is well worth a visit!).
.
Kind Regards
Paul Dixon
General Manager
Noel Arms & Cotswold House hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

I stayed at this hotel as ma group for a wedding. We just needed a room so did not really care what we got so I was surprised to find this little gem of a hotel in a lovely cotswold town. A 3 star hotel but with the service it should be more. I just read a review of the same room we stayed in, room 1. It is spacious, over looks the square, we didn't experience any of the 'noise' as we were out for the first night. But we liked the town and hotel and room so extended our stay after our friends had left. For us it was just perfect. We spent most of our next day in the hotel, lovely breakfast, later we had scones and tea and then evening meal which was all delicious. Our sleep was great too - I would definitely go back. You don't expect to get the service we had for the price we paid. We were looked after so well.

A special mention to Andrew for getting us to the wedding on time as we forgot to book a taxi! It was his second trip that day.. to a rival hotel!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, General Manager at Noel Arms Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Thank you so much for taking time to post a review and highlight Andrew he is a huge asset to the Noel Arms and we are delighted he looked after you so well, the next time you’re looking to stay please email Andrew personally and he will I am sure arrange a little discount for you. Why not try out the spa at our sister hotel the Cotswold House next time (The Cotswold House is only 30 seconds walk away from us, and the spa is well worth a visit!).

Kind Regards
Paul Dixon
General Manager
Noel Arms & Cotswold House hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed at The Noel Arms Hotel for 2 nights in October to celebrate my Birthday. We had a very relaxing time. The staff were all very helpful & friendly. The food was delicious. The only room that they had available for us was a family room & they were very appologetic about this, but we were quite happy, as it gave us more room. The only problem was the handle on the bathroom door was awkward & needs replacing. Apart from that all was lovely & my husband & I would recommend The Noel Arms hotel & we will visit again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, General Manager at Noel Arms Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
The door handle has been sorted! We always listen to guest comments and implement ideas/ comments wherever possible, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon don’t forget the best possible rate is always to be had by booking direct and we have some great Jan and Feb offers coming very soon. Why not try out the spa at our sister hotel the Cotswold House next time (The Cotswold House is only 30 seconds walk away from us, and the spa is well worth a visit!).

Kind Regards
Paul Dixon
General Manager
Noel Arms & Cotswold House hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We found the Noel Arms excellent in all ways, the room was good and comfortable, meals first class and the staff extremely helpful. The town itself was lovely (spoiled perhaps by so many cars but that is modern times). There was ample parking at the rear of the hotel.

Room Tip: We were in a room at the front of the hotel but were not disturbed by traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, General Manager at Noel Arms Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Excellent is a great review! Thank you we do appreciate it the team work very hard to ensure everything is perfect and comments such as yours do make it worthwhile We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon don’t forget the best possible rate is always to be had by booking direct and we have some great Jan and Feb offers coming very soon. Why not try out the spa at our sister hotel the Cotswold House next time (The Cotswold House is only 30 seconds walk away from us, and the spa is well worth a visit!).

Kind Regards
Paul Dixon
General Manager
Noel Arms & Cotswold House hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, Delaware
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We stayed at Noel Arms early Sept for 3 nigfhts. The first night, our room was fine but the shower was so small, I could not move / turn while taking a shower (I'm a big guy). The next morning, we visited the front desk and 'Judith' worked on finding us a new room - and she did.. We were moved to Room 3 and all was well with our stay after that. Judith and another woman at the front desk were extremely helpful with directions, info. about Chipping Campden and provided us with contacts and locations to go fishing. Breakfasts were good, room was comfortable.. Would I stay again? Absolutely!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, General Manager at Noel Arms Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Thank you for your comments we do love it when we see the phrase great staff! The team genuinely care that you have a wonderful stay, Judith is delighted you have taken the time to mention her personally and would be happy to take any future booking so do ask for her and she will make sure you get the room you liked so much. We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon don’t forget the best possible rate is always to be had by booking direct and we have some great Jan and Feb offers coming very soon. Why not try out the spa at our sister hotel the Cotswold House next time (The Cotswold House is only 30 seconds walk away from us, and the spa is well worth a visit!).

Kind Regards
Paul Dixon
General Manager
Noel Arms & Cotswold House hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Noel Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Noel Arms Hotel

Address: High Street, Chipping Campden GL55 6AT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Chipping Campden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Chipping Campden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Noel Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming 14th-Century Inn situated in the center of Chipping Campden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Noel Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Noel Arms Chipping Campden
Hotel Noel Arms
Noel Arms Hotel Chipping Campden, Cotswolds

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Noel Arms Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.