We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great one-night break” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Charingworth Manor

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Charingworth Manor to your Saves list
Charingworth Manor
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Charingworth, Chipping Campden GL55 6NS, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Coventry, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A great one-night break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We had a midweek one-night break here and were absolutely delighted with the whole experience. The reception staff were very helpful and our room thoroughly comfortable and well-equipped. Any minor queries or problems were very swiftly and satisfactorily dealt with. The pool was a dream - lovely and warm. We also had a short session in the gym. Dinner was superb and beautifully presented and served, and the house wine seemed good value.

We appreciated the small size of the Manor, and being able to sit in a peaceful lounge for our after-dinner coffee. Breakfast was very good as well, with all the usual trimmings, and for both meals careful attention was paid to one of us having to eat gluten-free.

We look forward to a return visit to this delightful small hotel in due course.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charingworth, General Manager at Charingworth Manor, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear Guests

Thank you for your kind comments I will share these with the team here at Charingworth.
We do hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future and please don’t hesitate to contact me if I can help in anyway

Kind Regards

Michael David Eastick
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

643 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    379
    174
    51
    29
    10
See reviews for
101
420
6
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

‘There are people starving and dieing in Africa and we’re complaining about hot water’. Not the response you'd expect from a hotel manager.
We stayed for one night as our first family break with our 3 month old daughter. We were ignored in reception for ten minutes, only then to be approached by the restaurant manager who wasn’t able to help. He was not trained to use the computer. In the evening there was no hot water in our room (bear in mind this is a AA 4 star hotel) and advised by the Michael the hotel manager that it was due to too many guests using too much hot water. We asked to be moved but were told the other free room would be the same, without hot water. Michael suggested as a ‘compromise’ we can use the showers by the pool. I also raised the small issue of litter in the wardrobe and cobwebs in the bathroom. The double bed was two singles. We had no other option than to stay in the room. In the morning there was no hot water (again) and my wife and I had to use the showers by the pool, which was slightly embarrassing. We couldn’t bath our 3 month old daughter. Upon check out we were offered a £50 discount for ‘hot water issues’ bearing in mind that our stay was £240 DBB. We we’re not willing to pay for the room as there was no hot water, which is a basic fundamental hotel service. Michael wasn’t interested in resolving our complaint and falsely started to accuse my wife of swearing at a member of staff. Not only was he lying, he then went on to insult me by saying ‘I thought you were nice people’ and ‘there are people starving and dieing in Africa and we’re complaining about hot water’. We Ieft the hotel without paying our bill only to receive a call from the police later that day. We complained to Classic Hotels head office about our traumatic and upsetting experience, which ruined our first family holiday. They wavered the full bill, offered a discounted stay, which we declined and posted an afternoon tea voucher.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charingworth, Public Relations Manager at Charingworth Manor, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Guests
I am sorry you found my comments flippant and inappropriate when we were discussing your stay at Charingworth Manor.
It was unfortunate due to a faulty valve issue which we were unable to resolve on the night that you room was unable able to get hot water, for that reason I offered to compensate you.

We provided you with all the other services we offer at the hotel you appear to have dined well whilst with us. You only mentioned the delay in check in 24hrs after your stay. The departure without settling any bill is an offence and for that reason the police were advised.

Regards
Richard Grime
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

We stayed here on business to work with a US client who was visiting. We needed a room to work in but they had a birthday dinner on Saturday, so they upgraded us to a suite free of charge so that we could work in the extra room. Nothing was too much trouble and everyone did their best to help us.

The food was good but the selection wore a little thin on the third night.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charingworth, General Manager at Charingworth Manor, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear Guests

Thank you for your kind comments and taking the time to post these on trip advisor.

We do hope to be able to welcome you back again in the future and please don’t hesitate to contact me if can help with any future reservations

Kind Regards
Michael David Eastick
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

On a brief overnight stay we were most impressed by this beautiful country manor. The facilities and general surroundings were wonderful! The true stars, however, were the Restaurant Manager and his catering staff. Being wheat and dairy free is usually difficult but this was dealt with in a most sympathetic and efficient way. Every care was taken, at each meal, to ensure that I could enjoy a similar menu to others in our party. The food was amazing!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charingworth, General Manager at Charingworth Manor, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear Guests

Thank you for your kind comments, I will share these with the team here at the hotel.

We do hope to be able to welcome you back again in the future and please don’t hesitate to contact me if can help with any future reservations

Kind Regards
Michael David Eastick
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Just wanted to say a huge thank you to all the staff at the Charingworth Manor for the most fantastic wedding day. Everything was exactly how we wanted it. The hotel has the most amazing feel about it and we managed to get some wonderful pictures outside. The food was lovely and the staff were very helpful and friendly. Our room was The Ebrington Suite which we were thought was the most romantic room we had ever seen!!!
Big thank you to everyone at The Charingworth for making our day so very special.

Room Tip: Ebrington Suite if you want to celebrate a very special occasion.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charingworth, General Manager at Charingworth Manor, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear Guests

Thank you for your kind comments and we are glad we could help your wedding day go well

We do hope to be able to welcome you back again in the future and please don’t hesitate to contact me if can help with any future reservations

Kind Regards
Michael David Eastick
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We have stayed at the hotel a few times and we remain delighted with all that the hotel offers.
Comfort ,ambience ,service and of course the location.
We must mention the exceptionally helpful Robert who greeted us in reception upon our arrival.
The staff at this hotel are second to none !
Although we had a delicious meal in the restaurant on our first evening ,we chose to eat at the Ebrington Arms ,a local pub on the second night because the restaurant menu choices were rather rich for our taste on this occasion

This hotel could quite possibly be held up as an example of good practice in the hospitality
business!,

This hotel was the venue for our daughters wedding reception four years ago when again we received terrific service and excellent organisation .

There is much to see in this delightful area of the country and Charingworth Manor is an excellent base .

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charingworth, General Manager at Charingworth Manor, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear Guests

Thank you for your kind comments and taking the time to put these on Trip Advisor, I’m glad you enjoyed your recent stay.

We do hope to be able to welcome you back again in the future and please don’t hesitate to contact me if can help with any future reservations

Kind Regards
Michael David Eastick
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

This hotel's greatest asset is the restaurant, the food was divine and the service excellent. I would advise taking up one of the offers where the evening meal is included with the room cost.
Our room was a good size and the bathroom had a separate bath and shower. The bed was firmer than I would like, but that is just personal preference.
The swimming pool is a nice addition, the décor is a little tired and not all the lockers were working, but the water was nicely heated.
Overall an enjoyable night away.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charingworth, General Manager at Charingworth Manor, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear Guests

Thank you for your kind comments and taking the time to put these on Trip Advisor, I’m glad you enjoyed your stay and I will share your comments with the restaurant and kitchen team.

We do hope to be able to welcome you back in the future and please don’t hesitate to contact me if can help with any future reservations

Kind Regards
Michael David Eastick
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Charingworth Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charingworth Manor

Address: Charingworth, Chipping Campden GL55 6NS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Chipping Campden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Chipping Campden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Charingworth Manor 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, LateRooms, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Charingworth Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charingworth Manor Chipping Campden, Cotswolds

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Charingworth Manor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.