We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cotswold Comfort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Charingworth Manor

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Charingworth Manor to your Saves list
Charingworth Manor
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Charingworth, Chipping Campden GL55 6NS, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Cotswold Comfort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We came upon Charingworth Manor by chance, and a happy chance it was. Having arrived at the Inn (the Fox and Goose at Armscote) which we had previously booked to find it closed and deserted like the Marie Celeste with no notification to us, we decided to tour around to see if we could find an alternative.

Although the approach to the Manor was very imposing we thought there was no harm in asking if they had any rooms available for that night. The reception staff couldn't have been more helpful and welcoming, and we took a beautiful room under the eaves of the old house.

The bedroom/suite was comfortable and spacious (but mind your head on the beams) and the bathroom was well appointed. The view over the gardens and surrounding countryside was gorgeous, with a carpet of snowdrops under the copse in the garden.

Since we had eaten lunch before arriving, we didn't try the restaurant for a main meal, but would like to on a future visit. Breakfast was great, with a fresh cold selection and hot food cooked to order.

The public areas were cosy and comfortable.

To sum up: LOVELY!! We really hope to be able to go back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charingworth, General Manager at Charingworth Manor, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Dear Guests

Thank you for your kind comments, I’m happy you found us, even if it was a little by accident. I will share your comments with the team here at the hotel

We do hope to be able to welcome you back in the future and if I can help with any reservations please don’t hesitate to contact me

Kind Regards

Michael David Eastick
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

644 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    379
    175
    51
    29
    10
See reviews for
101
420
7
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Oxfordshire
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Firstly, it is difficult to fault this hotel. Friendly staff (except for one who was a bit officious at reception when we arrived), nice grounds, good food, well-appointed rooms, and a spa.
But there are some slight observations, mainly about some modernisation. There is a strong 70’s feel (think The French Horn), a dated bar, and the spa layout needs a makeover. Given those changes, this could approach a top UK hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charingworth, General Manager at Charingworth Manor, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Dear Guests

Thank you for your kind comments, we appreciate it when guests take time to review us on trip advisor.

We do hope to be able to welcome you back in the future and if I can help with any reservations please don’t hesitate to contact me

Kind Regards

Michael David Eastick
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pershore, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

We noted on the booking.com web site a room deal for the hotel, so I went onto the hotel website and found a winter deal of dinner, bed and breakfast for 2 plus a bottle of sparkling wine for £149. We have not used the hotel before but had driven past it. When we arrived we were told that we had been upgraded to a suite. The room was excellent with a large bed, and a claw foot bath in the very big bathroom. We had dinner which was extremely good and we were surprised that the deal gave us a full choice from the menu. The wine list had some expensive wines but had a good selection at reasonable prices. The breakfast was superb, it reminded you of the difference between the standard buffet breakfasts and a fresh just cooked meal of good quality food. All the staff were friendly and helpful. The sun shone in the morning and showed off the surrounding countryside.The lounges were comfortable, had very pleasant views and were well provided with comfy chairs. We did not use the leisure centre which was free to residents.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front have the best views of the extensive countryside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charingworth, General Manager at Charingworth Manor, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear Guests

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments on Trip Advisor. I’m glad you made it to the hotel this time after driving by in the past.

I’m glad you enjoyed your stay and will share your comments with the team here at the manor

We do hope to be able to welcome you back and if we can help with any future reservation please don’t hesitate to contact us.

Michael David Eastick

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Such a lovely hotel. Comprising a property first recorded in 13th century, this is a lovely getaway allowing you to relax in beautifully appointed rooms, grand grounds and quiet pool & gym.

Staying in the Corbett room, it was like we had gone back in time with the low beamed roof and leaded stone mullion windows but still having the usual modern bathroom, television and wi-fi.

The food in the restaurant in the evening was fabulous. Great choice of flavoursome food with a good selection of wines. Could then relax with a coffee in either the Drawing Room or Lounge, both having open fires to keep you toasty-warm.

Although staying in January with the stormy weather preventing us from looking round, we could see the grounds would give a visitor a wide selection of walks, particularly as they allow you to take your dogs.

Already looking forward to staying there sometime in the near future as felt thoroughly spoiled with such a grand stay but at a reasonable price when using the hotel's offer.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charingworth, General Manager at Charingworth Manor, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear Guests

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments on Trip Advisor.

I’m glad you enjoyed your stay and will share your comments with the team here at the manor

We do hope to be able to welcome you back and if we can help with any future reservation please don’t hesitate to contact us.

Michael David Eastick

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

We had a week-end break here with our 3 year son.

The hotel itself looks fantastic from the outside - as you drive up the road to the manor it really does look impressive, every bit the old luxurious manor.

We really were expecting something special inside too but unfortunately we were a little underwhelmed when we checked into our deluxe room. If I was travelling on business it would have been faultless. A good size with a large king size bed and bathroom with a bath and shower. There was nothing wrong it functionally however it lacked the sort of character or luxurious feel that I would have expected from an old country manor at the price we were paying.

Also there were some little touches missing service wise that we would have expected from a hotel in this price range. For example we asked if we could move to a room closer to the main building and we were told they would see if it was possible but the next day nobody contacted us to follow up. There was no morning newspaper delivery offered. Also there was no wi-fi in our room.

The main highlight of the hotel was the swimming pool which was fantastic and our 3 year old loved it. It's probably the warmest pool I have swam in England!!

We also had dinner there which was good but again very expensive. Service in the restaurant was excellent though.

Overall we had a nice stay - however we were a little disappointed. Given the price we paid we were expecting something much more luxurious.. The pool is great though and perfect for kids and the hotel is well located near the lovely villages of broadway, chipping campden and stow on the wald, so at the right price this is a good option for families with small kids.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charingworth, General Manager at Charingworth Manor, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear Guests

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments on Trip Advisor.
I’m sorry we missed that little something, we do have a good mix of rooms both in the original 700 year old manor and the slightly new converted barns and stables you stayed in, I’m sorry we didn’t get back to you the next day with a choice of other room, we did let ourselves down a little there.

We do have WIFI in all areas of the hotel, so I apologise you were unable to connect in your room I have just checked all areas today and all seems well.

We do hope to be able to welcome you back and if we can help with any future reservation please don’t hesitate to contact us.

Michael David Eastick

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

My husband, four children and I stayed for 5 nights at Charingworth Manor. From the moment we arrived we were treated as special by the warm and welcoming staff. The whole place had an old world charm that made us feel like we had walked into a Jane Austin novel, with the communal lounge and drawing rooms, their fireplaces ablaze. The accomodation was very spacious, very clean and well serviced every day, with those extra little touches that added class and luxury to the whole experience. The grounds were picture perfect and the facilities included a heated indoor pool and gym which my kids really enjoyed. You can't go past the breakfast either with an appetizing array of pastries, cereals, fruit and a large selection of hot meals on offer. That meal kept us all going for hours. The staff are only too happy to accommodate any request and are friendly and helpful. We had a fantastic stay and if you are looking for a relaxing place to spoil yourself while exploring all that the Cotswolds have to offer - this is definitely it!

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charingworth, General Manager at Charingworth Manor, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear Guests

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments on Trip Advisor, I’m glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and I will share your comments with the team here.

We do have a great team of staff here and we appreciate your kind comments

We do hope to be able to welcome you back and if we can help with any future reservation please don’t hesitate to contact us.

Michael David Eastick

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed here using Tesco vouchers and were more than pleasantly surprised. The hotel is lovely and old fashioned. As we climbed the very windy stairs to what seemed to be an attic room my heart sank but we opened the door onto a gorgeous, spacious room with a large bathroom with a claw foot bath. The bed was large and comfortable and the room very well appointed. We had lovely views over the countryside. The only downside for me was the breakfast. It was very tasty but I prefer a buffet and it had to be ordered from a menu. I would highly recommend this hotel and would return without a moments hesitation.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charingworth, General Manager at Charingworth Manor, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear Guests

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments on Trip Advisor, I’m glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and I will share your comments with the team her.

We do hope to be able to welcome you back and if we can help with any future reservation please don’t hesitate to contact us.

Michael David Eastick

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Charingworth Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charingworth Manor

Address: Charingworth, Chipping Campden GL55 6NS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Chipping Campden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Chipping Campden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Charingworth Manor 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, LateRooms, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Charingworth Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charingworth Manor Chipping Campden, Cotswolds

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Charingworth Manor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.