We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Italian restaurant with a family feel.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Caminetto

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Caminetto
High Street, Chipping Campden GL55 6HB, England
01386 840 934
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Wokingham,England
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Italian restaurant with a family feel.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We ate in the bistro, which does not take bookings, so visit early in the evening.Good value meal and pleasant service.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

78% Recommend
    54
    24
    10
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southport
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“"Well worth a visit"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

We had our evening meal in this very nice restaurant, we were in the cheaper Bistro area, the food was very well presented and excellent value for money. Being small it fills up very early, we did not venture into the main eating area, we were told it was more expensive, so cannot give any details.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Not good”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

For a start they don't open till quite late in a 'sleep early' place like rural Chipping Camden.

The menu is limited - no pizzi and few vegetarian options.

Then they serve 'in order of orders'. This apparently means that if you arrive after another diner and they order a starter, they get served before your main course, when you haven't ordered a starter - is eventually (and it was a long wait ]) is eventually produced.

Plus the food had nothing going for - when it eventually arrived.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arcadia, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Italian? Think Not!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

I should have known better. I made the first mistake when I ordered Veal Saltimbocca. This dish, like Veal Milanese, is an old and tired dish that should disappear from Italian menus. To begin with, they sauteed the veal until it is something like cardboard, then they place a layer of cheap prosciutto on top to make it a salty cardboard. If you can't offer baby veal topped with real Prosciutto di Parma, don't bother with it. And, to finish with this review, the wine list is very expensive for the area. Only positive note is the lady server who was helping us with our dinner.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best Restaurant we have ever visited”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We came here last year for a meal on our honeymoon and ended up returning the next evening as well!
Come back for our 1st anniversary, again 2 visits.
Not the modern trendy souless restaurant but a restaurant where the hosts care about their customers and provide excellent food and a warming atmosphere. We had lemon sole & beef stroganoff.
Can't wait until our next anniversary, we hope they stay open forever.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caminetto also viewed

Chipping Campden, Cotswolds
Chipping Campden, Cotswolds
 
Chipping Campden, Cotswolds
 
Chipping Campden, Cotswolds
Chipping Campden, Cotswolds
 
Chipping Campden, Cotswolds
Chipping Campden, Cotswolds
 
Chipping Campden, Cotswolds

Been to Caminetto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caminetto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.