We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“gorgeous” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cactus Jacks

Cactus Jacks
18 Hallgate, Doncaster DN1 3NA, England
01302 321500
Improve this listing
Ranked #86 of 367 Restaurants in Doncaster
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Doncaster
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“gorgeous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

lovely food, the chicken enchilladas were to die for, really lovely food. the staff were brilliant and even though it was hectic busy in there, they were great, had time to be pleasant and the food was prompt. definatly recommend.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    38
    14
    10
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Amazing, If you like tex mex ribs this is the place.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

I go regularly and i am from nottingham. Had birthday meals here and would recommend it to everyone,

There steaks and sauces are brilliant. ribs are the best!, decor is even better always cowboy films on and western style decor is lovely.

They also service cold drinks in a frozen glass pint (heavy pint with handle not sure what they are called bit like a stein)

JD sauce is lovely even if you do not like JD.
If i can pick a fault it would be there is no baby changing area, No allocated parking.
I don't really want to leave a good review as i want this treasure to myself LOL
You do have to book and it is worth it.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“standard menu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

normal mexican menu staff on saturday afternoons not very attentive, been also at night very busy on weekends. not very big but quaint had some cocktails small for the price when compaired to other places that we have visited in toen on saturday afternoons did not go back

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Music - good, service - ok, food - shocking”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

We arrived without a booking but full of hope having read these. All was well until we waited an age to order the food, and to be honest, knowing what i know now i wish i hadn't bothered. I ordered Bandito chicken, which turned out to be 'generic' crispy strips you buy from iceland with a dip of some sort. For main i went for their rib and wings combo. The ribs were very 'value' range but the wings were a different league, so sweet i think i've left with type 2 diabeties.
If you favour atmosphere over food and service this is your place. Basically anyone could knock this stuff together with a few quid spent in Asda.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Very good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

It was good atmosphere, 1st time we ate there and wouldn't be the last. But the only down side was there was a really roudy table and all the waiting staff was doing were standing talking and being silly but all in all fantastic night :)

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cactus Jacks also viewed

Doncaster, South Yorkshire
Doncaster, South Yorkshire
 
Doncaster, South Yorkshire
Doncaster, South Yorkshire
 

Been to Cactus Jacks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cactus Jacks, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.