We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location for the races” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand St Leger Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Grand St Leger Hotel to your Saves list
Grand St Leger Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Racecourse Roundabout, Bennetthorpe, Doncaster DN2 6AX, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 19 Hotels in Doncaster
bridlington
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Perfect location for the races”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

We booked a racing package, which was £80 each - this included an executive room, tickets for the premiere enclosure in the Lazarus suite, three course dinner and full english breakfast. This was well worth the money. We arrived at 10.30am and wanted to get changed before the races - to my delight the room was available at that time. A nice big room on the front of the hotel (105) we could see the grandstand from the window!
A couple of nit picking points, the shower power was pitiful and it was difficult to switch the basin tap on underneath the glass shelf, the widow surround had seen better days with weeds on the windowsill. But that said the room was warm, clean and well located, we slept well.
The race tickets were better than we expected, we has a fantastic view of the finishing post.
When we went for our meal at 7pm we were the only people in the hotel restaurant,and I wish it had looked like it does on the publicity photos. It was too bright and needs decorating, old patterned carpets and fittings a few Xmas table decorations lined up on the side and no atmosphere. The music was also very depressing. A few tea lights or fairy lights might have lifted the place.

Having said that the young lady serving us was bright and bubbly, we had decent starters but were informed there was no sirloin or rump steak ( I had the fillet which was beautiful) my husband asked for chicken in Parma ham and there was no Parma ham, (they improvised with bacon) then another couple came in and asked for chicken and there was no chicken.! The waitress was very apologetic but it was not the cosy, romantic birthday meal we had hoped for.
The dining room was again deserted at breakfast, I was surprised as it is the closest hotel to the racecourse, but staff were attentive and breakfast was well cooked and tasty.
I would stay here again for the races, but prbably eat elsewhere for choice and atmosphere, it was a Sunday night maybe that's why it was so 'dead,.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    55
    24
    12
    6
See reviews for
15
64
11
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

We stayed here for ! night. Excellent location as the hotel is located directly opposite the Racecourse. Staff were very friendly. We arrived early, around 9.30am due to the races starting early and our rooms were ready for us around 10.00am. Berakfast had plenty choice with juice, coffee/tea, fresh fruit etc together with a menu for cooked food. Very good value for money. Will stay here again.

Room Tip: Hotel bar can be a bit noisy during race days.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

One night business stay. Room fine. Bar is fair primitive and lacks atmosphere. Breakfast disappointing. Fresh fruit offer was over ripe and uninviting. Croissants were rock hard. Cooked grill ok but mushrooms uncooked, beans luke warm. Overall a basic hotel with poor breakfast. Probably ok if you're going to the races but otherwise would give it a miss .

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark L, General Manager at Grand St Leger Hotel, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us, the feedback we recieve from valued guests like yourself allows us to identify problem areas and address issues where necessary.

I was naturally dissapointed to read about your breakfast experience. We have employed a new head chef since your stay & I have addressed the issues raised in your comments with him.

If you require hotel accommodation in Doncaster in the future, please feel free to contact me directly and I will do my utmost to ensure your stay is memorable for all the right reasons on your next visit.

Kind Regards


Mark Lawton
General Manager
mark@grandstleger.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conisbrough, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

I know this review is more than 8 months late,but we had our wedding here last year and I have to say our day was perfect. I stayed night before in a lovely room with my 2 bridesmaids and we were well looked after.the day was perfect, I loved the traditional feel of the hotel and it seemed more cosy being the weekend before Xmas.if you're having a smaller more intimate wedding then this venue is absolutely perfect. The staff were wonderful and really helpful.Thanks for a great day

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark L, General Manager at Grand St Leger Hotel, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Thank you for reviewing the hotel following your wedding here at the end of last year. I was of course delighted to read your comments as we make great efforts to ensure your wedding day is remembered for all the right reasons. I will pass on your kind comments to Paula and the team who I am sure to be delighted.

I hope we can welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards


Mark Lawton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We stayed here on a Monday night for our wedding anniversary the first impression of the outside was poor needs a sweep weeding and painted signage but when we got inside it was lovely from start to finish our room was adequate size a standard double lovely and clean with a nice bathroom we went in the bar for a few beers prices £7 for two pints paid more paid less nice pint tho breakfast was relaxing no fussing just well served and plenty of choice for £19.95 yes £19.95 this was a gem of a find and will definitely be back just sort the front to match the inside of your wonderful hotel and I bet people driving by will notice the difference

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark L, Manager at Grand St Leger Hotel, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Paula

Thank you for taking the time to write your recent review. I was delighted to read your comments regarding your stay. The price you paid was actually fantastic value and caused by a computer error, however we did honour it as it wasn't your fault and I am pleased that you felt the quality of the service didn't slip as a result.

I take on board your comments regarding the outside of the building and we have now addressed this.

I hope to welcome you back to the hotel at some point in the future.

Kindest Regards

Mark Lawton
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

A nice little family run hotel, with the personnel touch, on a main road very close to the race course.
The staff were very friendly and helpful. The service was excellent.
I had a breakfast two mornings which was very tasty, cooked to perfection, just to my liking. Did not try dinner as I dined out locally,
The hotel may be a little bit jaded but it was generally clean and very functional.
My large spacious room was over looking the main road roundabout, but I was not troubled by the traffic noise. I must say to the hotels credit that the bed was one of the most comfortable beds that I have ever slept in.
If I could fault anything then it would have to be that the room and bathroom needed a bit of tender loving care, The shower head in the bathroom needed tightening, only one out of two sink lights worked, no toilet paper holder. In the room the wood on the old fashioned sash windows was in need of a serious dusting.
To be honest I enjoyed my stay at The Grand St Leger and would definitely return.

Room Tip: If you like traffic noise then room 101 is very spacious and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark L, Manager at Grand St Leger Hotel, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.

I was of course delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you would stay again, & I would like to thank you for bringing to my attention the issues relating to housekeeping and maintenance. I will address these with the relevant departments and work to resovle the issues highlighted.

Thank you once again for taking the time to review your stay and I hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kindest Regards

Mark Lawton
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyme Regis, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Stayed just one night on 10 June as my daughter was in hospital near by. Staff were friendly, thoughtful and professional. It was not busy that night so I had to wait a while in the restaurant but no matter. Room was comfortable, clean and just what I needed after a very busy day.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms right on the front as they look out on a very busy roundabout but even the one I had was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark L, Manager at Grand St Leger Hotel, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Tracey

Thank you for writing your recent review.

I was delighted to read that you felt we offered just what you needed, we pride ourselves on offering a personal service which we can tailor to meet the needs of each individual guests.

I note your comments regarding the restaurant service being a little slow and wish to express my apologies for this, and assure you that it is something I will look into.

I hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future, hopefully next time it will be under better circumstances for yourself.

Kind Regards

Mark Lawton
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand St Leger Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand St Leger Hotel

Address: Racecourse Roundabout, Bennetthorpe, Doncaster DN2 6AX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Doncaster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 19 Hotels in Doncaster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand St Leger Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel is conveniently located just outside central Doncaster and provides the ideal location when visiting Doncaster whilst on business or for pleasure.Situated just across from Doncaster Racecourse, the Hotel is perfect for horseracing fans. We offer the best accommodation in Doncaster and are the perfect venue for pre or post racing drinks or meals.Each of our 20 tastefully decorated bedrooms are equipped with en-suite bathrooms, tea and coffee making facilities, direct dial telephone, heated trouser press, and LCD or Plasma televisions with over 40 channels to choose from. The Carringtons Restaurant, offers the finest food, in relaxed surroundings and is complemented by an excellent wine list.Meanwhile in the Paddock Bar the mood is more vibrant. A comfortable environment where you may enjoy meeting friends or colleagues throughout the day for coffee or bar snacks.The Sellinger Suite is available for Conferences or Functions and includes a Private Bar.After an extensive refurbishment, the hotel has been restored to a level of elegance and comfort that surpasses its former glory. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Grand St Leger Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand St Leger Doncaster

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand St Leger Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.