We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunday Lunch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crown Inn

Crown Inn
Ludwell Close | Barnburgh, Doncaster DN5 7JQ, England
441709893450
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 341 restaurants in Doncaster
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Sunday Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

I took my parents out for sunday lunch last week. The carvery meat was so tender (I had the beef) the food was red hot and plenty of it. We arrived early and sat out in the sun until our table was ready and they came to find us. We were not rushed after finishing they gave us time to decide wether or not we wanted puddings!! Of course we did!! The home made desserts were lovely and quiet a few to choose from, as usual I go for the chocolate fudge. Great food, service and staff. Will be going again

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

91% Recommend
    41
    14
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
scotland
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
175 helpful votes 175 helpful votes
“Good find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Found this pub while touring around in the Doncaster area. It was quite busy for a Sunday teatime. But we managed to get table for the carvery lunch as it was being served till 5pm. Good service and wonderful carvery. Would use again if in the area.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

What a gem, the food is the best pub grub in the area and the staff are very attentive, the menu is very good and wow this is the best tasting carvery for the price. I very rarely go back to a pub for food but I come back here at least once a month.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Mothers Day Lunch.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013 via mobile

We went to The Crown on mothers day as a party of eight .(table 3+4 - 4pm). The carvery as always was top drawer . The service as usual was excellent . We tried to book here three weeks ago and we left it too late , so we ended up at the Pastures Lodge . Big mistake . Never again . If you want a great carvery , this is the place , but book early as it is very busy .

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lunchtime Carvery”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Excellent food & service, very pleasant ambience. Price most reasonable @ £4-95, drinks reasonably priced.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crown Inn also viewed

Doncaster, South Yorkshire
Doncaster, South Yorkshire
 
Doncaster, South Yorkshire
Doncaster, South Yorkshire
 

Been to Crown Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crown Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.