We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well done Men” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Markham Grange Steam Museum

Markham Grange Steam Museum
Longlands Lane, Brodsworth, Doncaster, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 21 Attractions in Doncaster
Type: Museums
Attraction details
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Well done Men”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

The steam engines are absolutely magnificent and a great credit to all the guys who have so carefully restored them to working condition. Steam-up days are splendid affairs, not to be missed.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    6
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A Hidden gem for those who like steam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

A small group of us went to visit this little volunteer run attraction, and were blown away by the knowledge and dedication of this group of (mainly) guys. Amazed at how they recycle whatever possible to keep things running and warm, and by the sheer dedication and time they spend on keeping the Museum running.

A very good and varied shop, garden centre and pet shop also on site.

Was very pleasantly surprised by how much we enjoyed this, after having low expectations beforehand.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic Selection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

When we decided to sort some hanging baskits out a friend suggested the markham grange this was three years ago and we have never looked back. if you haven't been then go what a great garden centre with so much more.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Nice little museum.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

We visited here on the way to somewhere else. Its not big, just a small industrial unit filled with steam engines of varying sorts. It is open most days, but only 'in steam' on certain days. We went when it was in steam and its nice to see the small, big, huge engines going round. Quite mesmerising for the little one!

I would describe it as a 20 minute museum visit, but there is a big garden centre next to it.

Its free to see, but run by volunteers so you can leave a donation.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Markham Grange Steam Museum also viewed

Doncaster, South Yorkshire
Doncaster, South Yorkshire
 
Doncaster, South Yorkshire
 

Been to Markham Grange Steam Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Markham Grange Steam Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.