We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“After races meal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Med - CLOSED

Cafe Med
86-88 East Laith Gate | DN1 1JE, Doncaster, England
07528808621
Improve this listing
Price range: $8 - $47
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Mediteranean restaurant with fully stocked bar.Bookings advisable on weekends.Private parties catered for.Now taking bookings for Valentines. Call for details.
Pontefract, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“After races meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

I visited this restaurant before Doncaster Races for a pre races breakfast and I was so impressed by the standard of the food and service that I came back after the races for my dinner! Had an excellent time, the staff were all very polite, the atmosphere was great and most importantly the food was to die for! As a doncaster local I must say this is one of the best restaurants in the area. 5* for me!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    16
    5
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A nice place for lunch maybe, but not an intimate dinner”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

We arrived to be told to find our table (they were busy) and Sat ourselves down.
The 50's rock n roll music set the wrong ambience completely, as did the brightly lit room. Candles on the table usually help when the room is gently dimmed.
We asked for a bottle of white wine which after being brought to the table were then asked if we'd like it in a cooler....

We ordered food which was served quite nicely and without any delay but it was spoiled slightly by the poor atmosphere.
We left quite quickly and rather disappointed for a wedding anniversary meal but in all fairness we would recommend the place for lunch, just not for an evening.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster
1 review
“Lovely”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Greeted and made felt most welcome after a shift at work.. Late night and tired... Just needed to unwind. Was greeted with a delicious tasting plate and a fab glass of wine... Will return xx

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Place to Eat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Saturday Lunch was exceptional, lovely food, freindly atmosphere, great service. A must for any Foodie!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great place to eat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

We went with friends and arrived early. We had a few drinks and sat down to eat the food was really good service was a bit slow but we didn't care. It has a good atmosphere and has great food. It is one of the best places to eat in Doncaster. Well worth a try.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Med also viewed

Doncaster, South Yorkshire
Doncaster, South Yorkshire
 
Doncaster, South Yorkshire
Doncaster, South Yorkshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Med, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.