We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good fun for the family” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Doncaster Dome

Doncaster Dome
Doncaster Lakeside, Bawtry Road, Doncaster DN4 7PD, England
+44 (0) 1302 370777
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 13 Fun & Games in Doncaster
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Doncaster Dome is one of the region's premier sports, leisure & entertainment destinations, with over 50 activities taking place under one roof.Make a splash in the Amazonia Adventure; a magical 7-pool water world waiting to be explored or Cut the Ice in the Ice Caps; the UK's only split level ice rink with interconnecting ramps linking two Ice Pads together
North England
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
36 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Good fun for the family”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

The swimming pool is good for the kids with slides and rapids, only thing is it can get very very hectic

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    61
    66
    25
    41
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Expensive and boring”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

The complex could do with a re-vamp and is dated compared to the surrounding leisure centres. The swim area lacks entertainment value I would visit Barnsley metrodome and the pirate cove for value for money. The staff at the Dome although pleasant lacked the ability to provide additional information about the services that the Dome provided even though we had said it was our first visit in a number of years. Check prices for a swin before leaving. The car park also is not large and time spent looking for a space.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Re-opened after refurb. What refurb?!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Been to the metrodome at Barnsley whilst the Dome was closed recently for 'refurbishment'. Loved the metrodome and at least it fulfils two basic levels of expectation - CLEANLINESS / HYGIENE and also HEALTH & SAFETY. Went to the Dome last week again as it re-opened after refurbishment. I wasn't surprised one bit to find that they haven't done ANYTHING. It is still absolutely filthy, appalling health and safety contraventions. A total hole and i stand by my first review in that it should really be shut down now if they seriously can't be bothered to make the necessary changes that comply with my expectations. If you wish to take your child here to contract something or have them suffer an accident from the plethora of health and safety issues there then be my guest. There is no way on this earth i shall be risking my child's health by going there again. Disgusting. If the council can't afford to do the place up then fine, i haven't got a problem with that, what i DO have a problem with is charging people to use substandard and frankly dangerous facilities. Do the decent thing Dony council and shut the place down because it is a disgrace.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I go to the gym here. It's a very good price and offers great equipment. The staff are always really helpful. I've been coming here for about 3 years now. There's plenty of classes too, really good value for money

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great for Gigs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Great place for gigs, have some really good artists on there, my last visit was to see Ed Sheeran. Good to have somewhere right on your doorstep. Smaller venues are so much better, don't need a magnifying glass to see the artist.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Doncaster Dome also viewed

 
Doncaster, South Yorkshire
 

Been to Doncaster Dome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doncaster Dome, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.