We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Potteric Carr Nature Reserve

Potteric Carr Nature Reserve
Mallard Way, Doncaster DN4 8DB, England
+44 1302 570077
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 61 things to do in Doncaster
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Nature paths suitable for wheelchairs and pushchairs will wind you around a stunning, safe wetland habitat littered with pockets of woodland and wildflower meadows, and a cracking cafe is a great place for you recharge with friends. Hides allow you and your family to get up close and personal with birds such as woodpeckers and kingfishers and during your wander you may also encounter mammals such as roe deer and hedgehogs. The meadows during summer are full of butterflies on the wing in comparison to a snow laden winter where you may be lucky enough to spot our overwintering bitterns - this globally threatened species a real highlight to see for any wildlife watcher.Please note that we close over the Christmas period, check our website for details. We will be open every other day of the year (weather permitting) please see are website for further details. Unfortunately dogs, horses, bike, scooters etc are unfortunately not permitted on site.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Fantastic reserve well worth a visit staff friendly brilliant cafe some great routes to walk round hides well pleased with plenty to see

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    25
    5
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
doncaster
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“bacon butty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

very inetersting site and always willing to learn about wild life and on way round can have abcon butty too

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Yorkshire, UK
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Lovely views and wildlife, perfect for a Sunday afternoon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

My partner and I recently visited this attraction and enjoyed a few hours here. The cost was around £8 I believe however we felt after spending the length of time that we did here that it was worth paying. We saw deer while we were walking and of course an abundance of birds. If you are a keen bird watcher then this is definitely the place for you to visit in Doncaster.

About half way around the walking circuit there was a cafe. We did not eat here however we did use their facilities and it seemed lovely.

There is also a very nice gift shop in the entrance/exit and the member of staff there that day was a very knowledgable gentleman who told us of some recent sightings of certain wildlife and where to find them.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good but could be better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

A nice scenic stroll, in a generally well kept site but perhaps a little too large with lots of space in between with little wildlife action. Felt the signing was probably the biggest let-down with minimal comprehensive or indeed basic signing and apparent contradictions between the pamphlet and the on-site mapboard. A lot of the plants were dying off too and as a consequence there were very few butterflies of note, so maybe ideal viewing times could be altered to bear this in mind. Best viewing for birds seemed to be in the Duchess hide with a lot of the others either bereft of life or too far from the action. Overall a worthwhile experience but one I probably would not repeat unless it was absolutely in the height of Summer.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“wildlife haven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Ive been a few times to potteric and it keeps getting better and better. The cafe has had a recent refurbishment and it looks great. It also has a new menu, the food is delish and the coffees and hot chocolates are yummy! There are extensive paths and routes you can walk with many bird hides to visit. Always lots of wildlife to see all year round, especially the dragonflies and butterflies in the summer, lovely wildflowers and a good number of migrant birds in the winter. At the main entrance there is a lovely little gift shop with something for everyone and would recommend the vine house farm bird seed they sell. Such a great place!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Potteric Carr Nature Reserve also viewed

Doncaster, South Yorkshire
Doncaster, South Yorkshire
 
Doncaster, South Yorkshire
 

Been to Potteric Carr Nature Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Potteric Carr Nature Reserve, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.