We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VERY MUCH RED LIGHT AREA” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Balmoral Hotel

Save Saved
You added Balmoral Hotel to your Saves list
Balmoral Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Balmoral Hotel
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Thorne Road, Doncaster, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 22 Doncaster B&B and Inns
durham
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“VERY MUCH RED LIGHT AREA”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

No thanks never again. this hoitel is right in the red light area prostitutes up and down outside all night, might be ok for a stag party but not for me walk in to town if you dare!very hard to get a good nights sleep! with all the shouting and cars hooting at the girls.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    10
    8
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
1
6
5
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
193 helpful votes 193 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Booked this last minute for the purpose of house hunting in the area but did more sightseeing!!!
Friendly welcome on arrival. Receptionist was covering for the owner who was away at the time.
Very warm & comfortable rooms. Plenty of good towels and clean (shared) bathroom. Spent a good day in York and it was nice to get back to the Balmoral which was clean, quiet and comfortable. Did'nt have the breakfast so can't comment on the food. It's close enough to the town but is peaceful.
Would stay again as a cheaper option than the York hotels.
Thanks.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amman, Jordan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

At the Balmoral in Doncaster, one feels at home the minute one enters the hallway. The owners are very friendly. The rooms are clean and very well kept. The bed was so comfortable I did not feel like getting out of it in the morning! Breakfast is delicious and tastes especially good being cooked by Paul (the owner) himself. I also particularly liked the location. The bus stop is right across the road and all the buses run into the city center and to the railway station. So all in all a conveniently located, clean , comfortable and above all friendly is how I describe the Balmoral.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

I'd a planned visit to the Doncaster Tattoo Convention 13/14 Oct 2012. I looked at all the local hotels and equally read all the reviews here. I decided on the Balmoral due to price, reviews and the closeness to the Convention at the racecourse. I arrived really early from Dorset, however Janet who was in charge whist Paul and Nadia the owners where visiting family was the kindest lady. "Don't worry" Janet said bring all ya stuff in and I'll hoover later if you dont mind. Simply I could not have been looked after better. The Hotel was full with like minded tattoo addicts and artists from Argentina, Spain and the Netherlands as well as business guys. Breakfast was top banana and whilst there was fruit, cheese, cereals the full breakfast was better than some top hotels I've stayed. Janet looked after us so well you just felt like part of the family in their most amazing home with so much family history and artifacts. Having had a wonderful sleep and breakfast I stood outside the main entrance and chatted with Janet, discussed the world from family history of Doncaster (in brief) to does a tattoo hurt! A great second day was had at the convention and after a late night and a bit of a lie in I was ready for another traditional breakfast. This time met by Paul the owner who was a gentleman, so patient with some of the guys whose English tongue was not so good. All the same we all got a great breakfast and went on our merry way. For the price, welcome, accommodation, friendly ownership and home comfort to me this beats them all. I will be booking my one bed sharing bathroom again for next year. My thanks go to the friends I had the privileged of meeting especially Steve who I hope his life can be as comfortable as possible. Janet, Paul and Nadia please don't change what you have, it's just great and I will see you next year! Best Regards

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

My partner and I had some business to attend to in Doncaster. We found this hotel through trip advisor, checked out the reviews and booked a room. We got a average sized room at the front of the hotel, it was clean, well furnished and had a four poster bed.

The house was lovely, period features, fantastic antique furniture, breakfast was great and well cooked. Paul the owner was very attentive and shared the history of the house with us over breakfast.

They did have some tradesmen in while we there, however work needs to be done and i suppose there is never a good time for this to take place if you own a hotel.

We look forward to returning on our next visit to Super Donny!

(p.s the sausages were ok)

Room Tip: The traffic from the main road can be heard in the rooms at the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Totnes, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

great value for money hotel....friendly host....given large en suite room ,when only asked for single.... liked communal breakfast which is more homely and encourages chat. up from devon and met lady who only lived 2 miles away!
hotel about three quarters of mile away from market area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012 via mobile

I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone. Perfect location for town, lovely rooms...and the best hosts you could ask for (and who make a killer breakfast!). Should I ever find myself needing to stay over in Doncaster, I'll be returning back to this place.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Balmoral Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balmoral Hotel

Address: Thorne Road, Doncaster, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Doncaster
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Doncaster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Balmoral Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and HostelWorld so you can book your Balmoral Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Balmoral Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.