We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Food and services” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Bell Inn

Blue Bell Inn
Thorne Road | Blaxton, Doncaster DN9 3AL, England
01302 770155
Improve this listing
Ranked #115 of 367 Restaurants in Doncaster
Restaurant details
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Food and services”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

We went here on the off chance that they were doing food - and boy were we impressed - the level of service, the quality of the food and all freshly made to order - it was delicious - can't wait to go back again tonight!!!

This is a great place to meet friends for a drink or meal and the desserts are amaze balls............mmmmmm.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LEE D, Owner at Blue Bell Inn, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Thank you kindly for your review,very pleasing to see how much you enjoyed your stay with us,look forward to seeing you very soon.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    11
    0
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Christmas Day Lunch - Delightful!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We booked a table for 2 for Christmas Day lunch. Having never been to this place before, it was a gamble, but one worth taking! We paid £29.95 for a lovely, fresh 3 course meal. Every course was delicious, and clearly made with fresh ingrediants. No Aunt Bessies roast potatos or yorkshire puddings here - unlike what you find at large restaurant chains! The staff were very welcoming, and we were left to our own devises having our table all afternoon, so no rush to get us out the door ready for the next sitting. Will definately visit again, lots of info around the pub detailing special offers, e.g. pie and mash night, valentines, etc...We would both strongly recommend this establishment to others. If we are in need for Christmas Dinner this year, we will be sure to book in advance, as when others find this hidden gem, we may struggle to get a table!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LEE D, Owner at Blue Bell Inn, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
First of all thank you very much for the review and taking time out to write such lovely words,secondly my apologises for such a delay in replying.
I very hope to see you back very soon,thank you.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“The country pub that gives the big chains a run for their money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

I recently visited this pub as it was recommended by some friends. The interior was stunning, comfortable and modern, whilst maintaining a country pub feel. My wife and I perused the menu and the choice was excellent at reasonable prices. We gave our order and the attentive staff told us about the 2 for £10 offer which we took full advantage of. The food was hot, tasty and well prepared and served in a good time.

The manager made a point of coming over and checking we were ok and was very keen to tell us if we needed him to let him know

All in all this is an excellent pub/restaurant with great service and a menu that is expertly prepared. Well worth a visit.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LEE D, Owner at Blue Bell Inn, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Thank you kindly for your review,wonderful detailed words are very welcomed,look forward to seeing you in the near and not to distant future.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great deals”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Hi all, just revisited the blue bell again so wanted to update my review. Everything was as good as last time we were here but things have got better with the menu. They now do two for £10 which is great for the value of food but they now do free kids meals with a paying adult so it made the trip even more worth while. Staff and atmosphere were great too. Still very impressed and we will defiantly be back soon.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LEE D, Owner at Blue Bell Inn, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Good afternoon,first of all my apologises for not acknowledging your review sooner,secondly thank you for revisiting us here,your review was very much appreciated by all of the team.
Look forward to seeing you very soon.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lovely evening......food, drink, atmosphere spot on!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

I visited the Blue Bell for the first time as it had been highly recommended by friends.

The pub itself has great character and the food was exceptionally tasty. I thoroughly enjoyed the entire visit :)

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LEE D, Owner at Blue Bell Inn, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Good afternoon,Thank you kindly for your review,pleases us all here to kn ow we are meeting the desires of our customers.ASpologises for the delay in responding.
Very much hope to see you very soon.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Bell Inn also viewed

Doncaster, South Yorkshire
Doncaster, South Yorkshire
 
Doncaster, South Yorkshire
Doncaster, South Yorkshire
 

Been to Blue Bell Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Bell Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.