We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good meal in a nice venue” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Mayflower Bar and Eatery

The Mayflower Bar and Eatery
High Street | Austerfield, Doncaster DN10 6QU, England
01302 714 289
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #73 of 367 Restaurants in Doncaster
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Huntington Beach, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Very good meal in a nice venue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

We dined here as a group of six on Saturday night and we all agreed that it was excellent. There were plenty of staff on hand and the food came out pretty quickly considering there were six of us, the beef fillet was one of the best we've ever had anywhere and my seafood gumbo was very tasty (shame one of the prawns still had half its shell on but nobody's perfect). The desserts looked like a walkover but were actually very filling and hard to finish, not that that's a bad thing! With two rounds of drinks we thought our bill of £130 was very reasonable.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    28
    17
    16
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Another great meal at the mayflower”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

Sat night, another very busy night at the mayflower, however as usual the meal was of a very high standard. I ordered the philly steak which was delicious, and came with thick cut chips, coleslaw and salad, my wife had an enormous fish and chips, also the gammon and pie that our friends had was enjoyed and both said they wanted to go back again soon. The service as usual was excellent, the only downside was £5.75 for a glass of Shiraz and £5.50 for a glass of Rose, however this won't stop us going back again soon

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
1 review
“excellent for sleeping & eating”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

We stayed here at the weekend with our 5 year old son as we wanted to make a weekend out of visiting the Yorkshire wildlife park! We missed off the extra information about bringing our son (our own fault) so the family rooms extra bed wasn't set up but as soon as were arrived and the girl realised our son was staying also, she got us some drinks before rushing up to get the sofa bed up for us, she really couldn't do enough for us bless her! we opted to stay and eat in the restaurant that night which was a truly delightful experience. Our son is a very fussy eater and will only eat plain foods but yet again this wasn't made an issue out of (like many places we have been before) they said as everything was cooked fresh he could have just about anything he wanted, we had mains which may I might add were delicious and huge portions and we shared a dessert. We didn't have to move all evening the staff were fantastic the food was beautiful and the rooms were to die one of the best nights sleep I think I have ever had!

After reading past reviews on this place I would not be put off it seems to me they really don't no what they are talking about it is a fantastic place all round friendly, clean with great food and beautiful clean bedrooms, we stayed in the Ritz last year in America and although the room was stunning the food was awful which ruined our stay!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Awful service, ok food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014 via mobile

Had dinner here just before Christmas with family. So disappointed as I'd heard really good reviews about the Mayflower but we just did not get any of it!
After being shoved on a corner table and given a 'we don't really accommodate for babies' attitude (getting some food warmed & some water for daughter was beyond effort) our waiter left us for 20mins before returning to take orders. Then she told us we should have been ordering from a reduced menu as it was a Sunday (errr first timers here love you could have said as you gave us the menus!). The food wasn't great, I had the roast dinner which tasted very bland, like all the veg had come from a freezer watery taste.
Not going back anytime soon for sure.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Excellent Meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

Fantastic Food, great atmosphere. My partner had fish and chips and had 3 big pieces of fish and loads of home made chips, I had gammon that was chunky, no fat and lovely and tasty. There was no room for pudding as the meals are so filling and such good value.
Definitely recommend it, good old fashioned pub food. Also looking at the tapas meals and sunday lunches and can't wait to try them.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Mayflower Bar and Eatery also viewed

Doncaster, South Yorkshire
Doncaster, South Yorkshire
 
Doncaster, South Yorkshire
Doncaster, South Yorkshire
 

Been to The Mayflower Bar and Eatery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mayflower Bar and Eatery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.