We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Regent

Save Saved
You added Regent to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Regent
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Regent Square, Doncaster DN1 2DS, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 19 hotels in Doncaster
Doncaster, United Kingdom
1 review
“Home from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

My friend and I attended a Retirement party at the Regent. Excellent location in a quieter part of Doncaster. The buffet was excellent, ample choice freshly made to a high standard. The staff were friendly, polite and helpful. We had a top floor room with two double beds (luxury!) very spacious and clean, TV, small table and chairs, coffee and tea. A fantastic selection at breakfast, suiting all tastes. Staff couldn't do enough for you, always there to offer 'more'. Will certainly be staying at the Regent again.

Room Tip: If you can manage the stairs we would recommend a top floor room. We retired when our party was stil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    79
    42
    30
    12
    11
See reviews for
23
46
11
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Heywood, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Fourth visit to the Regent Hotel ideally sited for Doncaster racecourse and the town centre, recently refurbished, friendly staff and a pleasure to stay there. Will be returning in 2014 for another enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuartmark10, General Manager at Regent, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments it's nice to see guest return year after year.we have just finish decorating the reception,cocktail bar and Restuarant which we hope people will like .we also have started on some of our larger suites thank you again for your review we will see you next year Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We enjoyed a very nice Sunday lunch in the restaurant, 2 courses for £13, we both had starter and main and were so full couldn't make room for a dessert. The main meal comes with the meat already on the plate and the roast potatoes, mash potatoes and selection of vegetables in separate dishes. Food was nicely presented and served hot.
Its only a small restaurant so on the downside can fail to provide any atmosphere but if you want a good Sunday lunch in quiet, tranquil surroundings I would recommend trying the Regent.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuartmark10, General Manager at Regent, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thankyou for your review we do try hard to make Sunday lunch work. Marik the chef uses only local source products from the local fish markets to our local butcher which we strongly believe in . I know it's. only a small restuarant which we have two sitting over a period of five hours we want people to enjoy the exprience of bring seated at a cloth table were a waiter will look after you with no hassle of a carvery again thankyou for your review .stuart general manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkie in London
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed here for a school reunion in April 2013 and what a great location, staff and food. Everywhere has its own problems at present in terms of staying afloat and the management and staff at the Regent Hotel were certainly doing their bit to differentiate themselves from the pack. The rooms were very good, nice bathroomand a good location from which to see the rest of Doncaster and handy for the Racecourse. The food was fantastic although my only two criticisms would be that portions were far too generous and that the breakfast coffee could be more like the one that they serve normally. A place I would stay at again with no problem.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Yorks
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

Attended a friend's wedding here recently- the first time I've been inside despite living locally all my life. I have to say, it's fantastic reputation around Doncaster is somewhat exaggerated.

The decor is tired, the toilets were grim (the lights were out at one point and i had to use the loo in total blackness??) and the wedding function room was claustrophobic, with very low ceilings and informal seating arrangements- at every wedding I've ever been to, the tables are all set out in the room so you can see the other guests and where they are all sitting. Here, the way the wall partitions are placed means that you can't see all the other guests which just seemed a bit restaurant-like, rather than a friendly gathering.

Not sure that the car-park is a decent enough size to cater for big events like this- I had to park in a metered side street (luckily free parking due to it being Sunday). Seems unusual to stay at a hotel and be charged for parking but this could have been the case had I have stayed here on a weekday/ Saturday!

However, the food- a hot buffet served to you by the staff, was delicious and so was the wine. The bar staff were lovely too.

All in all, the hotel is in a perfect location, especially for the Races and nightlife, friendly staff and evidently nice food. It just didn't do it for me- I wouldn't return by choice.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuartmark10, General Manager at Regent, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thankyou for your review we had great weekend with the races and your wedding on Sunday it was a shame that you thought the room made you feel claustrophobic . The room was big enough we have to do the layout plan which the bride wants but thankyou for the nice comments on the food and wine also the staff thankyou dtuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicante, Spain
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for a couple of nights. It is quite old now, and getting shabby, but its a great location for town - central but not too noisy.
It has a free car park at the back, which is small but saved me a lot of hassle.
The room was fine, bathroom tiny but adequate. Good shower. Perfectly clean.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the main road, South Parade, are quite noisy with traffic, although they have put...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverley, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

We have stayed at the Regent previously and enyoyed our stay there. We decided this time to upgrade to an executive room on the first floor. The room was very spacious but after unpacking I noticed there were several stains on the sofa in the room; the carpet was badly in need of a shampoo (more stains) and the tiled bathroom floor needed a good scrub as was very discoloured around the areas it had been mopped. Also the walls had splashes from the sink which weren't cleaned. We didn't walk on the floors barefoot but wore socks. Is a shame as the hotel is very friendly, food excellent. Just the in- house needs sorting.
Also parking is limited.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Regent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regent

Address: Regent Square, Doncaster DN1 2DS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Doncaster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 19 hotels in Doncaster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Regent 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Historic Centre of Doncaster, overlooking charming tree-lined Regent Square is the Boutique-style Regent Hotel. Offering a mix of 18th Century architecture and stylish modern features and just minutes from train station the hotel is suited for guests visiting Doncaster for both business and leisure. The fifty-two en-suite bedrooms, bars/lounges and conference facilities are designed in a contemporary chic with bold and vibrant colours, ensuring that every visit is equally pleasurable and memorable. Free car parking is available at the hotel on request (not easy to find in the town centre) and is ideally located for guests wanting to take in the sights and sounds of Doncaster, whether that is exploring the towns picturesque Victorian streets, taking a look around the shopping district, just minutes from the hotel, or taking advantage of the towns vibrant night life. Previous guests include The Beatles and The Kaiser Chiefs – an endorsement to the hotel’s reputation for excellent customer service and commitment to quality.Each of the fifty-two en-suite bedrooms has everything you would expect from a stylish boutique-style hotel. Modern facilities, such as Flat screen televisions and free wireless internet perfectly suit the guest who desires both comfort and in room entertainment. In the morning there is something for everyone, why not indulge yourself with an authentic Full Yorkshire Breakfast (ingredients sourced locally) or take the lighter option with a range of continental options for you to choose from.Since variety is the spice of life, the Regent takes great care to cater for all tastes. From delicate afternoon teas to full a la carte, the brigade of chefs have designed a range of creative menus to satisfy everybody's palate. Guests can choose to eat in one of the elegant lounge bars or opt for more classical dining in the Regent Restaurant.The Regent Hotel has a long standing history as the place to be for a celebration. Whether you’re celebrating a Birthday or just wanting a relaxing drink, the range of bars and function rooms styled in the unique mix of 18th century architecture and elegant modern facilities allow the hotel to provide the best suited environment for each guest. Every aspect of an event is covered, ensuring that celebrations exceed guest’s expectations.The Regent Hotel was established in 1935, located next to the vibrant heart of Doncaster’s Historic Town centre, a popular place for business, culture and nightlife. The Hotel is closely situated to the Frenchgate Centre, Doncaster's famous market, Lakeside Shopping Village and is only a 10 minute walk from the new Doncaster Racecourse, Doncaster Dome and Keepmoat Stadium. The Hotel is a 15 minute drive from Robin Hood Airport, 5 minutes from the motorway links and a 5 minute walk to the bus/rail stations in the town centre and with free parking (on request) you can take in the everything Doncaster has to offer virtually hassle free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Regent reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regent Hotel Doncaster
Regent Doncaster
Doncaster Regent

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Regent, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.