We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well cooked food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Twice The Spice

Twice The Spice
97-98 High Street, Dudley DY1 1PY , England
011 44 1384 232425
Improve this listing
Ranked #79 of 119 Restaurants in Dudley
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Dudley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Well cooked food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Been here couple of times, the food is always hot and well cooked. The staff there are always friendly and happy to explain dishes your not sure about. Really good price for the quality of food. Would recommend!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    11
    3
    0
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dudley, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Well Appointed but poor quality food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

The restaurant seems to be newly furbished and is airy , clean and spacious.

For starters I had the shami kebabs and my partner had the seekh kebabs. Both came with a rather sparse and very tired salad with shriveled lettuce. The seekh kebabs were juicy and tasty but the shami were full of bread and completely lacking in taste.

Our mains were both Chicken tikka Dansak with Pilau Rice. The curries were a garish red colour containing a few undercooked lentils. The chicken was rubbery and some bits had a slightly 'off' taste ! There seemed to be very little spice in the dishes the overwhelming taste was sugar and 'off' chicken.

The rice was just ok.

We will not be going back there!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dudley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
196 helpful votes 196 helpful votes
“Coped well with the After Show Party !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

After my son's sixteenth birthday , our family and the band who played for us all piled into Twice the Spice around midnight without notice.

Fourteen of us.

We were the last diners , so the staff moved a bunch of tables together for us. They kindly also took a rock CD we had with us and played it on their PA for us !

We had three vegetarians and a vegan amongst our number , and they were catered for very well, though unsurprisingly these dishes came out last. The food was just as usual: aromatic and juicy, and very fresh. Tandoori grills / Kormas / Jalfrezis..all kinds of dishes tried and enjoyed.

Friendly, flexible, fine food and great value. Recommended !

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Very nice place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

Ain't many nice baltis by me to be honest.tried them all but twice the spice is the best in dudley.very nice indeed

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dudley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“So full of flavour (not just spicey)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

The restaurant is fairly large, and very clean. Very friendly staff, always happy to have a chat while I wait for my takeaway. I found out a lot about Indian food. Best dishes in my opinion are.. Starter = Nagis Kebab, Main = Danzak and Kahari, and definitely try a side of Tarka Dall. Although it's all good, I tend to stick to the same selection.. And I've never had a bad meal from there. Worth the drive from where I live (past many other Indian Takeaway / Restaurants).

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Twice The Spice also viewed

Dudley, West Midlands
Dudley, West Midlands
 
Dudley, West Midlands
Dudley, West Midlands
 

Been to Twice The Spice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Twice The Spice, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.