We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a difference in three years!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Village Urban Resort Birmingham Dudley

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Village Urban Resort Birmingham Dudley to your Saves list
Village Urban Resort Birmingham Dudley
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Castlegate Park | Birmingham Road, Dudley DY1 4TB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Dudley
England
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“What a difference in three years!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2009

We stayed at this hotel three years ago and thought it was great in every way .......... sadly three years later it was terrible.

Rooms dirty, urine stains on toliet seat, behind TV hadnt been dusted since we last stayed! Stains on pillow.

The hotel is in bad need of an overall, shabby carpets, dirty walls.

Bar snack ok, but hotel didnt have any English mustard. Coleslaw tasted like it was made with salad cream instead of mayo. Our table was covered in ring stains from many drinkers glasses but was not cleaned before food arrived.

Breakfast terrible, soggy toast, undercooked eggs. Waiter spilt milk on our breakfast table and did not come back to clean it.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — Dirty
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

595 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    171
    119
    85
    40
See reviews for
92
145
24
154
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
yorkshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2008

The hotel is modern with a nice restaurant offering good quality food although some of the portions are small. I stayed for 2 nights the first room was dirty, coffee over the walls, cracked tiles in the toilet and thick layers of dust. I had a shower to find no gel in the dispenser.
I complained to the front desk who offered to move me straight away, I was upgraded to a room in the new section of the hotel which was great! On returning to the room the next day I had a written apology and basket of fruit as compensation.
.

  • Liked — The upgraded room
  • Disliked — The first room
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2008

This is the worst 4* star hotel I have ever stayed in, not even up to 2* standard! I stayed for one week for business and seriously considered checking out but to be honest couldn’t see much else on offer in Dudley.

Room:
The double room was very very small with horrid dated floral wallpaper and curtains. The bathroom smelt of wee and had mould all over the tiles, as well as black mould there was the orange stuff that is super easy to clean off (I know, I have to keep cleaning it off in my shower at home!) so basically there is just no proper cleaning of the bathroom. The only toiletries you get are showergel and soap, no shower cap or anything. To make the room even worse there was a really annoying whirring/buzzing sound that was coming from outside that stopped me sleeping. Colleagues staying in other rooms in other parts of the hotel also had this problem so it is not isolated to one area of rooms. There is no proper wardrobe, just a hanging rail so room loos untidy if you have to stay for any sort of extended period. No minbar. No biscuits with the tea and coffee making facilities.

On the plus points, the bed was comfey and there is a nice big flat screen TV.

Food:
Inedible. That sums up my and my colleagues experiences in one word. Evening meals were either undercooked (chicken!), totally dry or just had a really odd taste. Breakfast is poor, cereals and fruit ok but the bread is very cheap as are the jams and the cooked breakfast all has a nasty skin or crud on it and the bacon is very cheap, more like gammon.

Service:
I had no problems with the service, the staff were friendly and helpful.

Gym facilities:
Good, large pool and gym facilities although could be busy in the evenings.

Overall:
I could not recommend this hotel, nor will I ever stay hear again. £30 budget hotels I have stayed in have been cleaner with nicer rooms.

  • Liked — Not much, flat screen TV, internet and confey bed.
  • Disliked — Room decor, wee smell in bathroom, lack of clenliness, bad food.....
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire ENgland
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2008

We have stayed in this Hotel twice in two years. The first time I left feeling slightly dirty. This time there were definite problems.

Our room had a bathroom that stank of stale urine.

The sheets had holes in them, although they did come an replace them.

It was a non-smoking room but it stank of smoke. In fact the corridor on the first floor absolutley hung with the smell of smoke which seemed to permeate the rooms.

This hotel needs a good overhall, and increase the price a little reduce the number of drunks.

In addtion the rooms really need a better supply of tea a coffee, maybe some biscuits? I suppose its that kind of place where whatever they put out it would get stolen. Even the complimentary shower gel/shampoo had been ripped of the wall, which left dangerous spikes sticking out of the wall.

I don't mind this hotel but the staff obviously do not take a pride in the cleaning.

I wouldn't say this of the catering in the restaurant, that is OK and rediculously cheap but still quite good quality.

  • Liked — Leaving
  • Disliked — Bathroom
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penarth, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2008

Nice room in new annexe, friendly staff, child friendly. Swimming pool good. Don't recommend the food though. I had Lamb (fatty), mashed white beans (wasn't mashed and beans undercooked) and carrots (which were burnt and too soft). Great location for visiting Black Country Museum and Dudley Castle though.

  • Liked — Friendly staff
  • Disliked — Food
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Village Urban Resort Birmingham Dudley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Urban Resort Birmingham Dudley

Address: Castlegate Park | Birmingham Road, Dudley DY1 4TB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Dudley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Dudley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Village Urban Resort Birmingham Dudley 3.5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village Urban Resort Birmingham Dudley is situated on the A461, near to Dudley Centre and close to lots of attractions. The children will love the animals at Dudley Zoo. Everyone will enjoy a trip to the massive new Bullring Shopping Mall in the centre of Birmingham. You can also enjoy a stroll along Birmingham's canals and walkways, or visit the world renowned Ironbridge Living Museum. Within a short distance the unique Half Penny Green Vineyard is open to visitors. Village Urban Resort Birmingham Dudley has 124 stylish bedrooms, a choice of stylish dining or a traditional pub, Starbucks Coffee Shop, an Urban Spa, state-of-the-art Health and Fitness Club, Squash Court, 25 metre Swimming Pool, Meeting and Conference Centre, Live Party Nights, Wedding Licence, free parking and free wi-fi throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Village Urban Resort Birmingham Dudley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village Hotel And Leisure Dudley
Village Urban Resort Birmingham Dudley United Kingdom

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Village Urban Resort Birmingham Dudley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.