We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming and quirky pub/restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Crooked House

The Crooked House
Crooked House Lane | DY3 4DA, Dudley DY3 4DA, England
01384 238583
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 117 Restaurants in Dudley
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Charming and quirky pub/restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Visited the Crooked House for dinner on a Saturday evening with 3 friends. Had to book a table in advance as it gets very busy. The place is charming and really quirky with it's leaning walls and doors. Good atmosphere in the restaurant, and staff were friendly and helpful with recommending dishes. The menu is a good balance between being sophisticated but also having a Black Country influence. Good range of wines and beers too. Between us we had the scratchings to start (not overly greasy like some you can get), the duck, steak ale and stilton pie, and celebration of cod. Not one complaint - all great dishes, tasty and good portions. We had a couple of drinks in the bar next to the restaurant afterwards. Overall, one of the best places to eat in the area.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    52
    18
    15
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“worst place we have ever been”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

we went here 3 years ago i had the fish no fish just batter my husband had a steak could not cut it i had a bottle of rose vine echo falls it was warm and £15 a bottle you can buy it for £3.99 my husband had a pint of beer he could not drink hence we have not been back having reed the new reviews we might give it another go.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, West Midlands
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Classy restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

I love this place. My boyfriend took me for my 21st we were in a party of 6 the table was booked and we waited a hr for orders to be took usually I would be angry at this however we were offered free drinks and free dessert as a way of saying sorry the food is of a class you can't find anywhere else local. The atmosphere is romantic. The food is worth the wait as is all made specially. We went on seafood specials and it was lovely. I love that the menu changes seasonally so you may never get the same thing which I love as I'm adventurous. Really lovely place

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dudley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Very impressed! Quirky little gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Fabulous place to eat. Went for lunch a few weeks ago. The food and service were both excellent and quite honestly a very pleasant surprise. I ate at this restaurant about 3 or 4 years ago, which was nice then, but it has really improved. The menu oozes black country charm and I would go as far as saying the food is as good as that at any celebrity chef restaurant and presented beautifully. The pub has a fantastic history. Check out the website. Definitely intend to go back some time soon!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worcestersire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“AMAZING!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

I loved the craziness of the place. If you go, do the coin trick! The food is fabuolous and service great.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Crooked House also viewed

Dudley, West Midlands
 
Dudley, West Midlands
 

Been to The Crooked House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Crooked House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.