We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean & comfy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Slyne Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Slyne Lodge to your Saves list
Slyne Lodge
4.0 of 5 Lodge   |   92 Main Road, Lancaster LA2 6AZ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Clean & comfy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Stayed here for a visit to Lancaster and surrounding areas. The accommodation was clean & comfy with plenty of space. Upon arrival we were able to check in immediately. The staff were very friendly and made us very welcome. We booked an evening meal and were not disappointed. The food was very good with a good selection on the menu. Breakfast was excellent. Will definitely be returning

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
slynelodge, Manager at Slyne Lodge, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Many thanks for your review, we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay, please let me know if there is anything you feel we could improve upon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    51
    28
    13
    14
See reviews for
41
47
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

As locals, we used to eat here very regularly. However, as time has gone on, the quality of food has gone lower and lower. On our last visit, we ordered a Lodge pie, a Lodge 2 meat roast and a Lodge Keepers platter. The Lodge pie was excellent as usual. The 2 meat roast was fair, but the Lodge keepers platter was terrible.It was on the menu as : Lancashire & Cheddar Cheeses, Home Roasted Ham, Pork Pie, Pickles, Salad, Apple, Tomato with Coleslaw,
Chutney & Freshly Baked Bread. The ham was really poor quality and very wet and stringy. There was no sign of a pork pie, as stated on the menu, and when we asked for it, it arrived looking very sorry for itself. The apple was just that - not even cut up - just an apple plonked at the side of the plate. As for the freshly baked bread - dream on!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
slynelodge, Manager at Slyne Lodge, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Thank you for your review, I am so sorry that you feel the meals were not up to standard.

I am concerned that the Lodge Keepers Platter was of a poor standard, I have discussed your review with the Head Chef, and he assures me that some retraining will occur regarding the plating of this meal, in the interim we have removed it from the menu. We take all complaints very seriously, and are generally found to receive positive feedback, but we are aware on occasions we do make mistakes, so please accept this reply as a genuine apology and we hope to see you again very soon.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houghton Regis
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

This hotel was about 20 mins walk from Bolton le sands, It had plenty of parking and It was easy to find and had beautifully laid out planters and borders. the old stone building was lovely to look at. Staff where friendly and helpful. room was lovely, clean and well maintained. Bed very comfortable.

Breakfast was value for money. Only minor comment was that their was no menu for breakfast advertising what was available, they said they did a continental breakfast and this was never mentioned. A full English breakfast was available that was lovely.

Interior surroundings where lovely and we would have loved to have a evening meal here. We did have evening drinks and these where not over priced.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We booked 10 days in advance of arrival date through booking.com I provided my credit details to confirm the booking and had confirmation email. However when we arrived in the evening after a long journey from London although they had our booking they did not have any rooms. I found this absolutely shocking. They sent us to alternative accommodation which was a very nice bed and breakfast but totally out of the way and we had not booked a bed and breakfast but a "4 star hotel". With all the facilities. Certainly this was not 4 star treatment. Furthermore on arrival at the bed and breakfast the rate was £ 20.00 more than at Slyne Lodge! We were left no choice as to accept as we had no transport, no way of finding other accommodation and it was late at night. I certainly would not recommend this hotel who is unable to honour their bookings and we heard that this happens all the time! Is this the policy of this hotel, to overbook consistently? I certainly would not trust them with any booking.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We stayed there on our way from the south coast to Scotland. We needed a room suitable for 3 adults as our son his disabilties. The room available was a good size with beds for 4 people. The TV wouldn't work but the staff found a solution and were very helpful. We had dinner in the restaurant. Two of us had the roast dinner which was disappointing - drowned in gravy so you couldn't identify the meat and frozen veg and a half cob of sweetcorn, which was weird! Cooked breakfast was excellent but there was little choice of cereal and nothing else apart from orange juice. Most places provide fruit/yogurts these days. Saw another group having continental breakfast and it looked very poor. A reasonable stop off not far from the M6.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are in the stable block at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stayed here recently for a stopover whilst my husband was cycling from John O'Groats to Lands End. When I checked in, the staff were very friendly and showed me to the room. The room was clean and comfortable and quiet, as it was in the stable block and overlooked the back of the property. It had the usual guest tray with coffee, tea and biscuits.
We ate in the pub restaurant that evening, where there was an extensive menu. The portions were generous and the food was very tasty.
There was a reasonable choice at breakfast with cereals and a cooked option. The only down side was that breakfast wasn't available before 8.30am which meant a late start for that days cycle

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Stayed overnight recently due to appointment in Lancaster. Mix up with booking.com whereby family room we had booked was not available - Slyne Lodge agreed to two rooms at the same price. Rooms were in the old stable block to the rear of the lodge comfy bed, modern bathroom, flat screen tv etc. Room would benefit from lick of paint, but quiet and got a good nights sleep. All staff extremely friendly and helpful and the carvery was one of the best i have ever had with humungous portions of Beef and Pork. Would definitely stop here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Slyne Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Slyne Lodge

Address: 92 Main Road, Lancaster LA2 6AZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Lancaster
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Lancaster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Slyne Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Slyne Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Slyne Hotel Lancaster

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Slyne Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.