I upgraded to the Luxury room, the one room which is featured in all the photos.
Central to the town, with good access to castle, shopping etc
This is at the rear of the hotel and access is prior to the hotel on the one way system in Lancaster. Sign is very high and receptionist indicated we were not the first people to miss it and then go around the one way system. Adding a comment to the booking email, or lowering the sing to improve visibility could both help people visiting Lancaster to find the car park.
Very friendly staff. However their recomendations for food were a little bit off the mark as the venue they recomended did not serve food in the evening.
State of the room
Other people have mentioned the hotel may be refurbished, and there is extensive use of polyfilla type products in the hallways. However, this is refered to as their Luxury room, however, the room was not only dusty, but also dirty with a wear hole in the carpet. The bathroom was crampt, dirty, with cracked tiles and a broken toilet seat
Slight noise from road, but generally quiet.
We could hear everything single thing the couple next door did in in their bathroom. I did complain at 10.30 (evening) and was told by the security guard (his desription of his role not mine) that there was nothing he could do and when I asked to talk to the duty manager to change room I was told it was too late to call her but he would pass my comments on. He did offer me a complaint form, which was the official feedback from, not quite the same thing. Perhaps I was just very unlucky however when I raised the question about noise during check out nothing had been passed on. A scrap of paper appeared to take down my complaint details, which I declined and I indicated I prefered to share my experience online. The manageress did nothing to try to improve the situation and this is definitely not the type of personal service I have come to expect from similar 'independant' hotels.
Quaint design, seen at other older hotels. However, it did appear to be used as a storage area for the dirty room laundry during the day.
The view from the breakfast room is amazing and the staff did warn us the toaster was slow. However my poached eggs were grey - not something I have ever seen before and I decided not to risk food poisoning. Black pudding was not available at any point during my stay. Only one choice of bread for toast in the morning. Very limited options.
The online web page indicates there is a restaurant, but we could not find it.
Summary - I agree with other recent review which indicate the hotel needs to be upgraded. We will visit Lancaster in the future, but would not stay at this hotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thank you for sharing your comments on line as you said you preferred to do. I apologised in the morning for the noise complaint you had but as you refused to divulge any further information as you prefer to deal with these things on line it was very difficult to know exactly what I was apologising for. At no point through our chat did you mention the room was dirty nor was this information given to the reception team, we really need to know how a guest feels about a room before they make the choice to stay in it over night. You had suggested that as you paid for a premium room we should not let the other rooms around it out so as not to spoil the enjoyment of that room but I tried to explain that this was not possible as the surrounding rooms are also very popular and whilst a guest may pay for one room they havent paid for an entire floor. Our building is a seventeenth century property and does suffer from age related issues like thin walls and creaking floors but we have never hidden from this truth and I did offer my apologies for the layout of the building but tried to explain that this was something out of my control.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.