We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A really good night out” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sabai

Sabai
6 China Street, Lancaster, England
+44 1524 846667
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 193 restaurants in Lancaster
Price range: $3 - $24
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: local family run restaurant. SABAI means relax and enjoy which is our concept. we offer genuine authentic Thai cuisine of the highest quality giving a 'TRUE THAI TASTE' at very affordable prices without compromising on quality. all meals are prepare and cook in individually by owner/chef 'Pha'and co/chef 'Emm' and can be tailored to suit any individuals tastes upon request. our restaurant in fully licensed/ air condition and had a FIVE STAR FOOD HYGIENE RATING. please give us a try at SABAI - talk to the owner/chef and receive a genuine warm welcome. we are situated in the castle conservation area two minutes from Lancaster train station, 50 meters from Lancaster historical castle and 40 meters the Royal King arms hotel.
1 review
“A really good night out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

We came up from Nottingham for a visit to Lancaster, and decided to have a nice meal and a night out. We couldn't have chosen a better place if we had known about it. The service was excellent, the portions generous, and the staff really on the ball!
I understand this is a relatively new place in Lancaster, and by my judgement,it will soon be established as the place to go. Well impressed

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

85% Recommend
    58
    8
    7
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“The curry was great but the phad thai was not the best”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

I went here with my partner just over a week ago. The staff were very friendly and attentive. The portions are generous. I ordered the duck red curry and that was very nice. My partner ordered the phad thai and it tatsed more like a sweet and sour noodle dish than a phad thai and he didnt enjoy it. If we were rating it just on my meal it would have been great but I tried the phad thai myself and it wasnt good. The curry though is fantastic and so if you like your thai curry's this is a good place to go.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MORECAMBE LANCASHIRE
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Paradise in lancaster”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Having decided to go out to our local Thai restaurant,it was closed we did a quick google search and came across sabai,which we decided to go and have a look,we drove past it looked very bright.so we decided to drive around and park at lancaster castle,,parking wardens finish at 6pm!! Anyway once inside we had drinks and starters,which arrived prompt.. Mains chosen were, Thai green curry and chicken and tiger prawn pad Thai.. And also a chicken and egg fried rice.. The bowl of curry was actually overflowing.. And tasted beautiful.. The pad Thai was sweet and delicious,all in all great food and excellent service.. 3 meals and drinks under 40 pounds,well worth a visit..oh and check out the artwork that goes into the salad!! Only thing I would change is the lighting which could be dimmed a little.. 10/10 from me

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancaster
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Lovley food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

I went here for my birthday last week and
The food was delicious. The staff were very polite and attentive and nothing was too much trouble. I will definatley be eating here again.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancashire england
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“absolutely lovely”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

I went here tonight it's was fabulous food service great and not expensive , they have a great the menu / variety .... going again soon ,

I went with my son 18 yr old but this would suit all romance, cuuiple, family girlie /lads night

ps.. only down side ... I forgot to take a takeaway menu :(
Kathy

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sabai also viewed

Lancaster, Lancashire
Lancaster, Lancashire
 
Lancaster, Lancashire
Lancaster, Lancashire
 

Been to Sabai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sabai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.