We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very poor service” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Lancaster M6

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Travelodge Lancaster M6 to your Saves list
Travelodge Lancaster M6
Moto Service Area, M6 Motorway | White Carr Lane, Lancaster LA2 9DU, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Lancaster
Irvine, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“very poor service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

found staff to be unhelpful and racist. wife was stranded there when I was admitted to hospital, was refused a room becasuse she had not her passport or licence with her, she had debit asnd credit cards also photo id cards, she even suggested that she get myself or hospital to make a booking but was told it would not be accepted as it was for her. my wife is a filipino/ wife was forced to sleep in car

Room Tip: use different hotel chain
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Guest Relations Manager at Travelodge Lancaster M6, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Dear titojim,

Thank you for your post.

We are sorry to learn of your disappointment on this occasion.

We would like to fully investigate your concerns. To assist us, please visit our main Travelodge website and use the ‘Contact Us’ form to provide us with full details of your issues and your booking number.

We can then liaise with the Hotel Management team and provide a resolution.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    52
    53
    50
    56
See reviews for
85
68
10
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bridlington
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

Filthy, very small room and needs updating veryb1970s! Will not stay there again! Staff need to go on cleaning course! Worst Travelodge I have stayed at will think twice before booking another Travelodge room!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Guest Relations Manager at Travelodge Lancaster M6, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Dear jamesandscott23,

Thank you for the feedback you left about your stay and the condition of the hotel that you have highlighted. We always value customers feedback and this will go to the hotel directly in order to stop these issues from arising again.

We are currently investing £55 million into a major refurbishment programme which will cover 11000 rooms across 175 hotels and your feedback will help us to do this.

This money will be used to upgrade rooms, bathrooms and also reception and bar areas where applicable.

We hope that if you stay with us again we can go some way to repairing the experience that you have had with us.

Once again, I apologise for any inconvenience caused and thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Stayed for one night only in the Travelodge from Hell. Room 8 had an overpowering smell of aerosol the moment we entered. The window was open and the light left on. We found dead black flies on the white duvet and pillows, leading us to look up at the ceiling above the bed. In the corner was a city of flies. 100 or more swarming black midgies and larger mosquitos. Not so much buzzing around the light fitting rather adhering to a foot long patch in the corner itself. It was horrific.

The receptionist was understanding and moved us. Room 9 was thankfully fly free but damp and oppressive. We slept poorly. My girlfriend's comment was it was akin to sleeping in a public toilet.

In the days since I have become riddled with bites, despite the room change. I wrote to the customer services department on the Travelodge website telling them my suspicions that fly spray had been used to combat the problem, hence the dead flies on the pillows, and received this response -

'I am sorry to hear that your recent stay with us did not meet expectations.

I have recently spoke with the hotel and they have assured room 8 had recently had its carpet professionly cleaned and the smell was simonan from the cleaner that was used and have confirmed they do not have fly sprays on site.

Unfortunely they have also confirmed they are situated next to farmland and when the window is open the flies are coming in, they are aware of the problem and is trying to solve that as soon as possible.'

So that is ok then! They still open the window and leave lights on to safeguard the flies's animal rights, presumably? If they know what the problem is why do they put people into the rooms?

The dampness and sense of oppressive tattiness is enough to sicken and disgust. It begins the moment you arrive. To still accept bookings despite the mounting evidence of its utter decreptitude in unconscionable. Travelodge, this place is a sewer, close it.

Room Tip: Book here for a grim laugh.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Guest Relations Manager at Travelodge Lancaster M6, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Dear Brettto,

Thank you for your feedback.

I am sorry to hear you have cause for complaint, and that your stay did not meet with your expectations on this occasion.

Your valuable comments will be used to support any improvements which may be required at this hotel.

In addition, we would like to fully investigate your concerns. To assist us with this, please can you visit our main Travelodge website and use the new ‘Contact Us’ form to securely provide us with your confirmation number and full details of your complaint.

We will then be able to fully investigate your concerns with the Hotel Management team, and provide a resolution.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Me and my partner stayed her on a trip to the Lake Distict, we chose this hotel just to stay for one night while passing and it was convenient and looked easy to find.
When we arravied it was difficult to find the hotel as it was hidden behind the service station and was not wel light, and only one sign pointing in the direction but this didn't help in the slightest. We arrived at 10.30pm so was dark and with very little light we struggled to find our way.
When we arrived luckily we found a parking space, but parking very limited.
On check in we were stood at the desk around 10 minutes before someone arrived from out of the back to check us in, receptionist was ignorant and just seemed like she couldnt be bothered.
When we arrived into the room, room very large, a little too big it felt cold.
The room was filthy, needed a serious clean, The bathroom was discusting I felt very uncomfortable showering and using the toilet and sink area.
The shower curtain was very dirty, full of mould also!!
All around the bath tiles and the sink area was dirty and mouldy.
Bed was neither here nor there, we just slept and left as early as we could in the morning.
Spiders and cobwebs all over the ceiling.
I do understand that it is a service station hotel, and I wasn't expecting a 5 star room for the price we paid but It could have atleast been clean!!
I would definitely never stay again and most definitely never recomend any of my friends and family to stay either.

Room Tip: Just don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Guest Relations Manager at Travelodge Lancaster M6, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear LaurenKatieDavie

Thank you for your feedback.

I am sorry to hear you have cause for complaint, and that your stay did not meet with your expectations on this occasion.

Your valuable comments will be used to support any improvements which may be required at this hotel.

In addition, we would like to fully investigate your concerns regarding the quality of your room. To assist us with this, please can you visit our main Travelodge website and use the new ‘Contact Us’ form to securely provide us with your confirmation number and full details of your complaint.

We will then be able to fully investigate your concerns with the Hotel Management team, and provide a resolution.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Very difficult to find for the first time. Parking limited so pays to arrive early to ensure you can park. Once you have got there following a curious route its OK. Not obvious how to work the bathtaps, could do with a bath mat and bathroom could do with a clean. A towelrail had come off the wall I think as there was some metal there with nothing on it. Not overly quiet due to traffic outside. you need to type in the reg of your car when you arrive. toothpaste kit on sale with the drinks in a vending machine but costs circa £5.00. Towels not luxurious, take your own. Good sense of space in room although sofa cover could have done with a clean.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Guest Relations Manager at Travelodge Lancaster M6, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Daer Marriane B

Thank you for your post.

It is always good to get positive feedback from our customers after they have stayed with us. We will make sure the hotel receive a copy of your compliment.

With regards to the concerns you’ve raised in regards to the cleanliness. Your valuable comments will be used to support any improvements which may be required at this hotel.

Once again, we thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Stayed here overnight on 19th september on the way to scotland to visit my son. The room, number 30, was very cold and at first there did not appear to be a duvet on the bed. Didn't know you had to bring your own!. Only one pillow on each side of the double bed which was the thickness of a biscuit. Went back to reception and the staff member came to the room, switched the heater on and showed me that there was in fact a duvet on the bed, so thin that I had thought it was a sheet. however, she provided two more biscuit pillows. And now for the bathroom; thick mould all round the edge of the bath and on the grouting though the bath, basin and toilet were clean. There was mould on the wall in the clothes hanging area and the settee which presumably doubled up as another bed was so grubby I could not sit on it. The TV did work after a bit of fiddling with the remote and once the heater had started working the room warmed up a bit. I know it was cheap so I was not expecting very much but a bit of comfort would have been good after a long journey from the South Coast. No bar in the Travel Lodge so no chance of a drink but purchased food at M & S at the service station from the nicest assistant ever. Thankyou M & S but no thanks Travel lodge.

Room Tip: if you have to book in here try to make sure you're not in room 30!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Guest Relations Manager at Travelodge Lancaster M6, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Dear catherine D,

Thank you for your post.

We are sorry to learn of your disappointment on this occasion.

We would like to fully investigate your concerns. To assist us, please visit our main Travelodge website and use the ‘Contact Us’ form to provide us with full details of your issues and your booking number.

We can then liaise with the Hotel Management team and provide a resolution.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

The service was fine and the room was a bit worn, but clean enough.
I would stay here again, but only as a cheap stopover when travelling north.

There was an awful smell of sewage when we came out of the building in the morning, but didn't notice anything in the hotel.

We made the mistake of eating breakfast at the Costa services at the same location, one of the most disgusting places I've ever been in, crap food, crap service and very overpriced - eat elsewhere !

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Guest Relations Manager at Travelodge Lancaster M6, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Dear Timmot,

Thank you for your post.

It is always good to get positive feedback from our customers after they have stayed with us. We will make sure the hotel receive a copy of your compliment.

With regards to the concerns you’ve raised, your valuable comments will be used to support any improvements which may be required at this hotel.

Once again, we thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Travelodge Lancaster M6? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Lancaster M6

Address: Moto Service Area, M6 Motorway | White Carr Lane, Lancaster LA2 9DU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Lancaster
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Lancaster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 191
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your Travelodge Lancaster M6 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Lancaster m6 Hotel Lancaster
Travel Lodge Lancaster
Lancaster Travel Lodge
Lancaster Travelodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge Lancaster M6, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.