We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great little find” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunbury Coffee House

Sunbury Coffee House
28 Sun Street, Lancaster LA1 1EW, England
01524843312
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 199 Restaurants in Lancaster
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Morecambe, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A great little find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Called in to have a coffee and cake in the afternoon in this lovely small coffee house.
Having been a customer from many years ago I was pleasantly surprised with the high standards of service and the welcome received from the staff.
Decided instead to have the "special tea of today" in a lovely china teapot with proper cup and saucer.Checked the special board and ordered Carrot,Lentil and Cumin soup with a warm bread bun and butter. Brilliant and so good on a cold day.My partner had Parsnip and Pine-nut soup also with the warm bun and butter.Service was very good and the attention to detail by the waiter was excellent.
The Carrot cake from the chiller was immense and too much for me at lunchtime so I choose the smaller slice of Flapjack.
The cost was very reasonable for the soup and the cake ,however the challenge of the large pot of tea we had to leave quarter full.
The main chain coffee houses could learn something from a visit to this establishment about customer satisfaction.
Just brilliant and we shall call each time we are in Lancaster.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    8
    2
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Crewe, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Super Sunbury Blend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

A great little place to go in Lancaster. Having arrived early in Lancaster one morning and having dropped off my son for an interview at the university I decided to have a wander around the town. All of the other café's seemed to be chains but I popped down the alley and found this wonderful little place. The owners are a lovely couple who were just opening up. I couldn't have felt more welcome. I recommend the 'Sunbury Blend', extremely good coffee full of flavour and very reasonably priced, made even better by the quaint little coffee cups it was served in. I also had the delight of sampling the cooked breakfast. Perfectly cooked, and very noticeable that the food was sourced locally. If I am ever back in Lancaster another visit to this place would definitely be top of my list of things to do!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“great place to eat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

food was great,you are seen to as soon as you sit down.nice place to have a meal and the coffee was very nice.we had a young lady called savanna serve us who was very polite & well mannered,will visit again soon

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haddenham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Quality Coffee in a quality Cafe.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

A little difficult to find but this is indeed the place for coffee in Lancaster. Set in a quiet corner just off the main square, it has the rich confidence of a quayside cafe in Canary Wharf. Once found, it is difficult to go anywhere else.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“A hidden gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

A cute little tearoom on Sun Street in Lancaster. Mum and I popped in for a cup of tea and scone and to rest our feet on a hefty shopping trip. Good service, lovely staff and proper china to drink your tea from! It's quaint and welcoming. You must try it.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sunbury Coffee House also viewed

 

Been to Sunbury Coffee House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunbury Coffee House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.