We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Years Eve- Impressed” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Moon Restaurant

Blue Moon Restaurant
6 Rosemary Lane, Lancaster LA1 1NR, England
01524 381 111
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 199 Restaurants in Lancaster
Price range: $13 - $41
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Our restaurant is dedicated to providing the finest dining experience. Our cuisine is fine Thai. Only fresh and the very best and authentic ingredients are used. Our chefs have pride in their abilities and do not use MSG. Try Blue Moon for the healthy and tasty alternative.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“New Years Eve- Impressed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We had a lovely meal at the Blue Moon on New Years Eve for my boyfriends birthday. The service was very good, not too much of a wait for food, poured our wine and a well mannered waiter. The curry and rice as our main soon went cold, the plates came out 10 mins before the food, and the curry was in an open plate not a metal dish as in Indian restaurants. This by the time we had eaten half, the rest on our plate was cold, this was disappointing.
Also we asked for a discount due to it being a birthday meal which couldn't happen due to it being on New Years Eve, this shouldn't have been a problem!!
Iy would also have been cheaper to buy wine by the glass instead of the bottle!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
152BlueMoon, Owner at Blue Moon Restaurant, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
So pleased you enjoyed your New Year's with the Blue Moon. You are right we do not use metal plates as Indian restaurants do. Our Thai food dishes are prepared and cooked on receipt of order and using fresh ingredients and are therefore served on normal plates to preserve the taste. Indian food is very different. We do try to price wine so that it is up to you the customer to choose to drink either by the glass or the bottle.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    202
    78
    23
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“relaxed evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Excellent food with good choice on the menu, fantastic service,friendly staff ,relaxed atmosphere and decor, lovely evening was had by all

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
152BlueMoon, Owner at Blue Moon Restaurant, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
So pleased you are happy with the Blue Moon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Top meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Excellent food great service. Eaten there a few times before and not been disappointed. Highly recommended

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
152BlueMoon, Owner at Blue Moon Restaurant, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Thank you so much for your support and recommendations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heysham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Blue Moon Thai Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Simply the best food in Lancaster. Excellent welcome, excellent service, and food which is probably the best restaurant I have visited. I cannot recommend this place too highly.
Thanks to the wonderful staff, excellent chefs, tastiest and freshest food, and beautiful atmosphere and surroundings, made for a great night out. I will be returning and recommending this restaurant to all my friends. Thanks for a wonderful evening.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
152BlueMoon, Owner at Blue Moon Restaurant, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
It is so satisfying to read compliments such as these. We shall do our best to continue to achieve these standards for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Absolutely Fabulous!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

Having visited the Blue Moon on various occasions throughout the year and being consistently impressed with both the service and food, we treated some family to a Christmas meal and were once again not disappointed! Gorgeous food and excellent service... top marks all round!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
152BlueMoon, Owner at Blue Moon Restaurant, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely comments and your custom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Moon Restaurant also viewed

Lancaster, Lancashire
Lancaster, Lancashire
 
Lancaster, Lancashire
 

Been to Blue Moon Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Moon Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.