We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm and welcoming hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lancaster House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Lancaster House to your Saves list
Lancaster House
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Green Lane | Ellel, Lancaster LA1 4GJ, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Lancaster
GreenLeadersSilver level
london
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Warm and welcoming hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Friendly and welcoming staff, great breakfast, dogs welcome and would most definatly stay again. Spa treatments good value with professional and attentive staff and lovely hot tub - great in the snow!.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimBell, General Manager at Lancaster House, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Thanks for the great review.

Glad you enjoyed your stay, even in the unseasonably conditions we've been experiencing recently.

I do hope we can welcome you back again soon

Kind regards

Tim Bell, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

750 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    422
    211
    86
    18
    13
See reviews for
168
264
30
137
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
wirral
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for one night to attend a dinner dance, and were looking forward to our stay having viewed photographs on the hotel website.

The check-in experience was quick and efficient, but our room (room 68) was very disappointing. The room was quite small, the furniture dated and tired looking, and the bathroom was very small with cheap looking fittings, and an over bath shower which was poorly positioned and which did not maintain a consistent temperature. There was no minibar, and although there was a safe it appeared to require a key, which was not offered to us when checking in. The wardrobe space was limited and there was an iron, ironing board and a trouser press. There was a small flat screen TV which was positioned low on a wall and which had unsightly dangling wires. The room was clean, had tea and coffee making facilities and the bath towels were fluffy, but the overall standard in our opinion was only 3 star at best.

We had drinks in the bar before the dinner dance, and although the bar was reasonably furnished and decorated, it was quite cold as were the corridors to the rooms, and as a result not very inviting.

On a positive note, all the staff we came into contact with were friendly and efficient. The food at the dinner dance was excellent, as was the service. The room that the dinner dance was held in however was lacking in atmosphere. At breakfast there was a very good selection of both hot and cold food, and the hot food was of a good quality and well cooked.

Although the hotel had leisure facilities, we didn't use them so I cannot comment on them.

Overall, in my view this hotel needs to do a little more to deserve its 4 star rating. I know from other reviews that some rooms are awaiting refurbishment, and that most certainly applied to room 68, but that is no excuse for charging 4 star rates for 3 star accommodation.


For these reasons we don't intend to return to this hotel.

Room Tip: When booking ensure hat you are allocated one of the recently refurbished rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimBell, General Manager at Lancaster House, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to post a response following your recent stay with us.

I was sorry to learn that we didn't meet all of your expectations. I will personally look into some of the shortcomings you pointed out and rectify them for the benefit of future guests.

I do hope we may have the opportunity to try and restore your faith in our hotel. Indeed do contact me personally if you are ever in the area again and I will ensure you have a much more enjoyable stay

Kind regards

Tim Bell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

hotel looked a bit rough from outside,but the weather was probably not helping
carpark lights not working
big chunk rendering missing off side wall/high winds. Reception efficient, friendly, hotel corridors very cold (but freezing gales blowing )
double room very nice,smelled fresh & clean,huge bed,free internet, quality tea tray items.
bedding good,bed very comfy
bathroom exceptionally clean
breakfast very good choice and excellent ingredients
swimming pool very clean
AVOID BREAKFAST IN BED..£14.95 PER PERSON + £7.50 TRAY CHARGE

WOULD RECOMMEND AND WILL STAY AGAIN

Room Tip: top floor room is quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimBell, General Manager at Lancaster House, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us.

Admittedly, the unseasonable weather had taken a bit of a toll on us recently, as it had across the entire region, and knocked out the car park lights as well as small amount of rendering coming off. The lights have been rectified straight away and I'm confident the rendering will be addressed shortly.

I was glad to hear that, overall, your experience "inside" the hotel met your expectations, and I do hope we can have the pleasure of welcoming you back, hopefully when the weather will be a bit kinder to us

Kind regards

Tim Bell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

I received a warm welcome on a cold evening...everywhere was very clean and the staff were helpful - nothing was any trouble, even when my iPad was reluctant to connect to the free WiFi. My room was spacious and comfortable. I hope to be asked to work at the university again so I have an excuse to stay! Based on my own experience I would not hesitate to recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimBell, General Manager at Lancaster House, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Many thanks for posting a review following your recent stay with us

I was delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit and we will hopefully have the pleasure of welcoming you back should you be visiting the university again.

Kind regards

Tim Bell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Lovely hotel situated just outside the town centre. Right next to some of the University and easily accessible from the main roads into Lancaster. Very welcoming and lovely rooms. Great breakfast and very helpful staff. If you are after a hotel in Lancaster then definately worth considering. Fre WiFi too.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimBell, General Manager at Lancaster House, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Many thanks for the review.

It was gratifying to learn that you enjoyed your recent stay and I will of course pass on your kind comments about the team.

I hope we can welcome you back again very soon

Kind regards

Tim Bell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancashire
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We stayed at the Lancaster House hotel in March 2013.I booked what is called a clasic room and paid £89 for b&b.On arrival there was a function and we had to fight our way through the crowd to get to reception to check in.Up to our room and was dissapointed with what we found.The room was dated,the radiator on the wall was loose and the controls needed some attiontion,the bed was comfy but one of the pillows had a massive stain on it.The wooden furniture was very dated but the bathroom was quite modern with fluffy towels and a good shower and very clean.The veiw from our room was overlooking a set of steps and not very nice.I did tell them on booking it was a birthday treat and they did put 3 balloons and a card in the room which was a nice touch.The health club was very busy and the pool seemed to be holding swimming lessons so was very busy with kids.We sat in reaception with a drink and 4 or 5 football players from a game across the road walked through in dirty kit,i am assuming to have a shower in the changing rooms,not what you expect from a 4 star hotel.It is also a dog friendly hotel and there were 3 dogs in the reception area sat,lied and were jumping on the sofas again not expected of a 4 star hotel.The restaurant was good and food good but the bar area is in need of a refurb.Overall a decent nights stay but wont be going back in a hurry.

Room Tip: upgrade to a suite if you can afford it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimBell, General Manager at Lancaster House, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Thank you for you review following your recent stay with us.

Whilst it was pleasing to learn that there were certain aspects of your stay that you enjoyed, I will be looking into the shortcomings you pointed out so that we can rectify these for the benefit of future guests. We are undergoing a rolling refurbishment of some of our older bedrooms and I would be happy to show you these on a future stay.

I would also like to point out for the benefit of the TA community that although we welcome dogs into public areas, we cannot condone them to use the sofas, and had we been aware of this we would have politely brought this to the attention of the guests.

If you are ever contemplating another visit to Lancaster House, please do contact me personally and I will assure you a much more comfortable stay.

Kind regards

Tim Bell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Two day stay in February (half term) and everything excellent even during a very busy period.
Started with reservations where every effort was made to ensure that I got the best deal available - I needed three rooms for the extended family.
Staff very pleasant and you know things are going to be good when your luggage is in the rooms before you have completed book in.
Dinner was splendid both evenings and breakfasts fine.
Good leisure facilities.
Delighted to say that the top feature was the standard of the staff who were without exception efficient, helpful and friendly.
Only regret that I did not update to a suite which from all accounts is well worth the extra money.
Excellent value for money and to be highly recommended

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimBell, General Manager at Lancaster House, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful review following your recent mini-break with us.

I will of course pass on your kind comments about the team, and it would be lovely to welcome you back. Do check out the English Lakes website for some great deals on our Luxury Studio Suites by the way.

Many thanks again for the glowing review

Kind regards

Tim Bell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lancaster House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lancaster House

Address: Green Lane | Ellel, Lancaster LA1 4GJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Lancaster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Lancaster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lancaster House 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Lancaster House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lancaster House Hotel Lancaster
Lancaster Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lancaster House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.