We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little piece of heaven” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riverside Caravan Park

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lancaster
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riverside Caravan Park
Save
You added Riverside Caravan Park to your Saves list
High Bentham, Lancaster LA2 7FJ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Preston, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Little piece of heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

What a fab site. The staff are really friendly and the site is spotless. Right next to the river and only a short stroll from the village. The facility's wash rooms, toilet blocks and showers are spotless and warm. Excellent all round, well worth a visit.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    4
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
18
12
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

It was our first real outing with a caravan and as such we were a little bit anxious about getting down the country lanes etc and thanks to an over enthusiastic sat-nav we did get stuck down a very narrow lane when a small van appeared in the opposite direction. Luckily the driver flashed for me to proceed and he reversed back along the lane. (If he hadn't I would probably still be there now)!!
Upon arrival on the site, first impressions of the site were excellent and in the reception we were asked if we would like to have a fully serviced pitch as someone had cancelled. The guy on reception then walked me around the site to show me which pitches were available prior to us deciding. (Which was nice of him to do as they appeared to be quite busy). He then followed me to the allocated space and guided me in.
Immediately after pulling in the person in the next space had kindly lent me all of the hoses and gizmo's that would allow a constant flow of water into the caravan. (Top-Guy)!!
The site is superb and everything is immaculate, I really cannot think of anything negative to say other that one night it was minus 10 degrees and the water froze! However, This was quickly sorted by the site management,
The site is in a beautiful riverside location, with a quiet village 5 mins walk away. Also, it's one hour from Windemere and 1 hour from Blackpool, so it really does suit a very wide range of campers.
All-in-all a fantastic site and I am sure we will be back soon.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

This is one of our favorite sites we visit in our area. It is an exceptionally well run site, in a great location in walking distance High Bentham. The site is run by friendly staff with well kept pitches, the shower and toilet block is very clean and modern. My only negative point is the timer on the showers, where if you havent finished you have to wait 5 mins before you can wash the soap off (you only do it once). There is no club house or restaurant facilities on the site, this for me a big plus point as there are plenty of places to eat in the village and you dont get the loud voices of fellow caravaners returning late at night to their caravan. Please give Riverside a try and I am sure you will have a good time.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Having stayed on this site, and others, I can only commend this site for both its quality and staff. On all occasions the staff have been both welcoming and accommodating. The facilities are first rate and, in addition, the links witht he local Golf club only enhance the facilities

Room Tip: As for a pitch away from leisure block if you are looking for a quiet space
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral UK
Top Contributor
485 reviews 485 reviews
152 hotel reviews
Reviews in 255 cities Reviews in 255 cities
395 helpful votes 395 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

We first stayed here last October and really enjoyed it, so thought we would stay again. Stayed for 4 nights end of May - weather fab for UK. Easy to find from the M6 J34. Signed from the centre of High Bentham.

Large parking area outside of Reception. Friendly welcome. Most pitches are for static vans or seasonal pitches, but there are a good number of touring pitches too. All areas immaculately maintained. Touring pitches all have electric hook up and there are a number of super pitches.

Very clean toilet block - access via key fob.

The site is well spread out and we found it easy to manoeuvre our twin axel.

Really smart toilet block — access via key fob.

Lots of pleasant walks from the site. Lovely river flows through the site and is great for kids to play in on a warm day — supervised of course. High Bentham is an easy 10 min stroll away — a few nice pubs, 2 x small supermarkets, a few restaurants — all you need. Reception does have a shop, but they purposely do not sell to much stuff, so as not to compete with the village shops — nice idea.

The site has a couple of excellent cottages for hire, one 6 bed and one 8 - can be combined for a large group.

We really like this site — highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

Having recently taken up caravanning again my girl friend and I set about looking for a place to stay for a weekend break. After hours of the usual trawling through the internet we came across Riverside caravan park. Nestled between the bottom of Yorkshire and the top of Lancashire this gem of a site has a lot to offer. Peaceful, relaxing and very well kept.
To begin with the website was excellent, well thought out and very easy to navigate around. Pretty much everything you would hope a website would be. Booking was easy, fill in a few bits of information and it shows you what's available. You then just decide if its for you ! They take a small deposit over the internet. The balance paid in full on arrival.
Adequate pitch sizes with a choice of hard standing or grass with usual facilities , electric, fully serviced etc.
Attractive surrounding area, even if a little test of nerve as you tow your way through the local village on way to the park, but nothing too heart stopping.

Local village appears very quiet during the daytime but come the evening and out come the "local young folk" and seem to take over the pubs. We didn't fancy knocking elbow's with the younger , louder element so opted for a lunch time meal instead.
And if your looking to do the same then we would suggest checking out the Coach House in High Bentham, within walking distance of the caravan park( 15 mins or so ) Being a vegetarian and never really knowing what to expect on offer I was delighted with the Home made Lasagne , garlic bread and salad I was presented with ( not forgetting the delicious home made chips and cold Pint ! well it was a holiday ! )

All sounds good then , so why only 4 circles you may wonder ? Caravan parks usually come with a list of expected behaviour designed to make your holiday experience a pleasant one. You would therefore want every one to abide by the rules and those that don't to be asked to play fair. On the occasion of our stay we had the unfortunate "In law weekend family gathering " The type of folk who tend not to worry too much about others. Staying up late, drinking most of the day, load and brash, throwing balls over caravans I think you get the picture.Not the caravan parks fault you may think, but my grumble is the fact that all this was taking place in view of the park attendants !
One final grumble , while there are speed limit restrictions displayed around the park it would appear they only apply to guests and not park employees who insisted on tearing round the park, busy doing busy stuff at speeds clearly not suitable where young children are present.
If caravan parks are to have their long list of exceptable behaviour then i would suggest they enforce them.

Grumbles over, I would still visit this park again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oswaldtwistle, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

This site is really outstanding. It has fantastic facilities and some beautiful walks right from the site itself. It is really quiet, an ideal break for anyone wanting to get away from it all. My experience was really positive and will be returning there very soon.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riverside Caravan Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Caravan Park

Address: High Bentham, Lancaster LA2 7FJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Lancaster
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Lancaster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riverside Caravan Park - one of the Yorkshire Dales premier Touring and Holiday Home Caravan Sites.Close to Ingleton, Riverside Caravan Park makes an ideal base for exploring the Yorkshire Dales, Forest of Bowland, Lakes, Morecambe Bay and the Lancashire countryside.Nestled on the banks of the River Wenning in an unspoilt and delightful area, this beautifully maintained caravan park is within walking distance of the local market town of High Bentham. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riverside Caravan Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.