We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quick lunch on a sunny day.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Water Witch

The Water Witch
Canal Tow Path | Aldcliffe Lane, Lancaster LA1 1SU, England
+44 1524 63828
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #62 of 199 Restaurants in Lancaster
Cuisines: English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Quick lunch on a sunny day.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

Went to The Water Witch for a quick lunch today. Chose it purely because of the weather and the fact that we really wanted to sit outside. I had the deli platter and my partner had a BLT on ciabatta. The food was really nice, and reasonable too. We have been to The Water Witch a few times, and will definitely go back.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    71
    26
    14
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Ulverston
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Great canal side location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

The Water Witch combines the best of both worlds - a great canal side location close to the city centre. You can sit inside the atmospheric pub or outside by the towpath, watching the world go by. There was a choice of 8 beers and several wines by the glass. For lunch I had a very tasty cheese and onion pie (with Lancashire cheese) and my wife had quite a nice macaroni cheese (with Lancashire cheese), There was also a good choice of veggie dishes and sandwiches. It's just good, honest pub grub at reasonable prices. An interesting feature was a barter system which allows you to trade in your home grown vegetables for beer vouchers - next time I shall take some shallots!. All in all, there cannot be many better places in Lancaster to go for a drink and a meal.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Cosy little pub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

Visited the Water Witch with a large group of friends who had pre booked and ordered meals, the service was excellent and all 20 of us received our meals at the same time. All had a variety of different meals including the Chicken risotto which was very tasty! They also had a variety of desserts and I would recommend the sticky toffee pudding!
It was reasonably priced and for students there is 10% discount.
Very cosy atmosphere and scenery. As it was too cold to sit outside I will be returning in the summer as it looked really nice on the canal. It is definitely worth a visit if your in the area!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“a lovely spot on the canal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

A beautiful bar and restaurant just outside Lancaster a 10 minute stroll from the town centre with a fantastic selection of wines and an excellent restaurant with very good food plus friendly staff and excellent service

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Delicious, well-presented food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

A group of six of us ate here to celebrate a friend's birthday. It was lovely and warm inside the restaurant. The food took a little while to arrive but we were all very impressed with the presentation of our starters. I had goats cheese and avocado mousse and it was delicious. For main I chose the cheese and onion pie which was also delicious, very cheesy but definitely not overly so, and served very hot. The chips they serve are also very tasty and the ketchup comes in little jars with a spoon so it all feels very good quality home-made. I would definitely come here again to try some more of the food.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Water Witch also viewed

Lancaster, Lancashire
Lancaster, Lancashire
 

Been to The Water Witch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Water Witch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.