We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Stork Country Inn

The Stork Country Inn
Corricks Lane | Conder Green, Lancaster LA2 0AN , England
01524 751234
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 181 Restaurants in Lancaster
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $15 - $38
Cuisines: African
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Families with children, Entertaining clients, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Beautiful traditional 16th centuary country inn, located in semi rural Conder Green, only 3 miles from Lancaster City. Easy access from motorway and train station. Charming bedrooms filled with character available for bed & breakfast, dogs welcome, family rooms avaialble. Roaring log fires in winter, lovely gardens with childrens play area in the warmer weather. Warm and friendly welcome by our team including South African born Tracy, Michele, Megan and Cindy. Our unique selling point is our deliciously different South African inspired food, produced from local ingredients. Traditional English favourites are readily available on our menu and specials board which changes weekly. Walkers, cyclists, bikers, children and dogs all very welcome.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Love it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Always love it when visitors say 'can they take us out for a meal?' We always suggest The Stork and no one is ever disappointed. Enjoy eating something different from usual - South African dishes are great. Location, people, atmosphere, food, drink - it's all good.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    75
    24
    18
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“afrikaan treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Great friendly hospitality from Tracy And Michelle. Good south African food. Great biltong and peppermint crisps to take home. Will return .

Baie dankie
Gary and Janet

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colnbrook, null, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great hostelry”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Attractive pub & garden. Made a point of visiting again for the second year while on holiday in the area. Friendly staff & good food. Something different with South African dishes. My hake was delicious!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
160 helpful votes 160 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

After a long walk from Lancaster along the old railway path to Conder Green we had built up an appetite, but we only just managed to eat the giant sandwich and chips we ordered. Lovely fresh bread and great chips. Absolutely stuffed full, so no way we could try a dessert.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Gluten free!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012 via mobile

I struggle with eating out, as I am gluten/wheat intolorent. The Stork Inn had an amazing selection of gluten free foods. I opted for fish and chips, as usually I can not eat this, because of the flour in the batter. The chef cooked me mine in a wheat free batter, which tasted lovely, and was obviously made fresh to order. Big thumbs up for me, and anyone else who struggles when dining out.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Stork Country Inn also viewed

 
Lancaster, Lancashire
 

Been to The Stork Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Stork Country Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.