We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average tapas, good service, alright for 1 night” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Royal Hotel (Latinos)

The Royal Hotel (Latinos)
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Royal Hotel (Latinos) to your Saves list
The Royal Hotel (Latinos)
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Thurnham Street, Lancaster LA1 1YD, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 23 Lancaster B&B and Inns
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Average tapas, good service, alright for 1 night”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014 via mobile

Stayed NYE, booked last minute for a good price, so wasn't expecting the Ritz. Rooms are very basic and a bit tired, cleaning wasn't a priority. Fair to say this is a restaurant with some rooms above it rather than a hotel. Staff were very helpful and polite, went out their way for us. Tapas was middle of the range, not authentic tasting but half decent. Creamy mushrooms pretty naff but the garlic prawns were yummy, and a decent breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    25
    10
    7
    9
See reviews for
6
34
3
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

Only decided to visit Lancaster as a last minute idea.....and it turned out to be a great 2 days !!!
The hotel I found on TA and the reviews sounded good, so booked it a few days before.The hotel is in a great location,right in the center of Lancaster.As a bonus it has a small carpark at the back if the hotel,saving you the trouble of finding one nearby.The hotel was nice and clean,and the staff were all friendly.The room we had (room 5) was nice ,and because it was at the back of the hotel it was nice & quiet with not much street noise.Breakfast was nice,but didn't get to checkout the Tapas bar underneath the hotel(maybe on our next visit).The bed was nice & comfortable and bathroom clean & spaceous.Would definately stay at the Royal again if visiting Lancaster.

Room Tip: Had room 5 at rear of the hotel,so not much street noise!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandhurst, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 107 cities Reviews in 107 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

We wanted a hotel in the centre of Lancaster with on site parking, comfortable bed, which didn't cost the earth. The Royal Hotel met all of these specifications. The hotel is actually a small hotel with a Tapas Bar or more accurately a Tapas Bar with a few rooms on top. Our original idea was to eat out in Lancaster. It was raining heavily so we ate in the Tapas Bar. Lucky for us. It was a great meal with fantastic tapas. Breakfast in the morning in the Tapas Bare was very generous and of good quality. On our future drives up to Scotland this will be a very acceptable overnight stop.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Lots of stairs up to the room. Horrible view. Smell of kitchen into the bedroom. Lots of flies. Dirty floors in bedroom and bathroom. Uncomfortable mattress. And extremely rude manager/owner. I would never ever recommend it!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
isle of man
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

great hotel ,nice clean rooms and nice breakfast location great and good parking ideal location for touring the north west England and only two and a half hours to Glasgow would definatly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

I wouldn't feed the food to my dog!!!! Nearly £5 for a dish of off chicken!!! When we complained the owner was very unreasonable. What happened to the customer is always right!!! I wouldnt recommend this place to anybody. Lancaster has so much more to offer.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We spent the night in Lancaster so that we could attend an Open Day at the nearby university. It suited our needs perfectly. A central location within easy reach of bus and train connections. A friendly proprietor who served up some lovely tapas despite our late arrival. A comfortable room, smart shower, light and spacious bathroom. And a generous breakfast! If we return to Lancaster, we'll stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Royal Hotel (Latinos)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Hotel (Latinos)

Address: Thurnham Street, Lancaster LA1 1YD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Lancaster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Lancaster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Hotel (Latinos) 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your The Royal Hotel (Latinos) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Royal Hotel (Latinos), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.