We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“70th Birthday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wagon & Horses

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Wagon & Horses to your Saves list
Wagon & Horses
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   27 St George's Quay, Lancaster LA1 1RD, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 23 Lancaster B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“70th Birthday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Booked for 4 nights for my wife's 70th birthday after reading reviews. Cannot recommend them enough! Food excellent, service excellent. Birthday meals were a great success. Breakfast of smoked salmon and scrambled eggs was superb, and dinner, with Whitebait (not on the menu but requested as a treat) followed by Lamb Chump and Eaton mess, washed down with a nice Cava and a presentation cake with 7 candles and Happy Birthday sung by the staff made a memorable evening.
Rooms small but comfortable. Very convenient for centre of town by foot. (Driving in town is a pain
because of the one way system).

Room Tip: Ask for a river view for the best outlook.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    40
    6
    8
    1
See reviews for
20
84
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

Stopped by for lunch, then dinner two days later while I was working in the Lancaster area. The food and service was fantastic. All of the food is locally sourced and expertly prepared. Had the mussels as an appetizer and they were really, really good. The main course was Fish and Chips, and they were the best I had in the UK. The whole pub is really new and clean. A great place!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Great food, the choices are like you would expect from a top restaurant and I wish I could go back and try some other things. Great service, helpful, friendly waiters and a really nice location.
We was walking down from the Castle and the sign for St georges Quay was pointing the wrong way adding about half an hour to our walk! so don't trust the sign at the bottom of the hill leading from the castle!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

stayed at wagon and horses 19th and 27th April with 4 friends. i would like to thank Paul,Carol and all the staff for making us feel welcome.Their customer care was 1st class, well furnished,clean and comfortable rooms,a great menu of home cooked food and superb desserts.Nothing was too much trouble,i would highly recommend the wagon and horses in lancaster.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

stayed in wagon and horses 12th - 14th april. first of all I would like to say a big thank you to paul, carol and all the staff for (especially jess. p.s. she told me to say that) making our weekend in Lancaster a memorable one. I say memorable but I cant seem to remember much of it thanks to liam leading me astray. my wife and I decided to eat in the wagon and horses on the Friday as we were both feeling a bit tired, what a great decision that was the food was so nice we ate there again on the Saturday which was another great decision. I can honestly say they were two of the finest restaurant meals I have ever had and for once my wife agrees with me.p.s. don't forget my 5 tips on life liam.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shrewsbury england
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

What a difference walking back into the Wagon and Horses on 31st March 2013, from when we stayed in Nov 2012. The place had a lovely ambience and was spotlessly clean. It had changed hands and it was very obvious that customer care was a priority. The rooms are small but very comfortable and we had a great nights sleep. We did not have an evening meal, but breakfast was great, cooked to order.
Our son lives in Lancaster so we go up every few months so it will be back to the Wagon and Horses.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

What a pleasure when we just travelled down from Horton in ribblesdale staying at the crown and the experience was really not nice, then entering the wagon and horses a lovely warm welcome the atmosphere was good , our bedroom was really clean and well presented , the evening meal was fab , and to top that a great breakfast Evan kippers on the menu , thanks for the effort you all put in

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wagon & Horses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wagon & Horses

Address: 27 St George's Quay, Lancaster LA1 1RD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Lancaster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Lancaster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wagon & Horses 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wagon and Horses is a renovated historic building situated along the quayside on the River Lune. It’s an ideal location for exploring the city on foot, as it is only a five minute walk into the city along the river Lune. Cyclists are regular visitors, as it’s located on one of the many cycling routes Lancaster has to offer.All en-suite rooms are furnished to a high standard with free Wi-Fi , tea and coffee facilities as well as complimentary toiletries, everything you need whether you are travelling for business or pleasure.A great start to the day is guaranteed as a hearty breakfast is included in the price of the accommodation. The gastro pub offers locally sourced home cooked food, that can be washed down with a great selection of quality wines by the glass or bottle or why not try one of our cask ales. Visit us in the winter months and sit by a roaring fire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Wagon & Horses reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wagon And Horses
Wagon & Horses Hotel Lancaster

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wagon & Horses, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.