We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect pub” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Fleece Inn

The Fleece Inn
Lower Dolphinholme,, Lancaster, England
01524 791233
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #91 of 181 Restaurants in Lancaster
Price range: $19 - $28
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Lancaster
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Perfect pub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Lovely little pub, lovely food and good beers.
Love the steak baguettes yum yum

Will definitely be going again

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    18
    5
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Rural Pub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Excellent selection of beers and the food is not bad either. Love the log fire and very friendly atmosphere.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Will go back.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Picture the scene. A miserable Sunday afternoon. 'Where shall we go for lunch? I know, lets go on TripAdvisor.' So, we ended up at The Fleece. It was busy. Always a good sign. A table was found for us. We didn't really want a Sunday lunch (but having seen what came out of the kitchen, I wish I had!) Instead, we went for the venison burger. I had feared that because we were not having the roast, the other choices on the menu would be second rate. Not so. We asked for the smaller portion, but the food filled the plate. Hot, tasty, fresh salad, lovely chips and a little side dish of salsa. The staff were just lovely. You can have a taste of different beers if you wish. Large car park too. Please go for a visit.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ambleside, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Fisherman Jim”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We ended up at the Fleece as there was no room in the city. What a fantastic piece of luck! Our room was large and lovey with the most comfortable beds i have ever enjoyed away from home. The place is crammed with lovely architectural features and the beer garden is beautiful (shame the weather was not but what do you expect in October) Spotlessly clean throughout and with management and staff who were polite happy and very efficient. Fabulous selection of malt whisky along with great beers and cider. If there was any honesty in this world the place would have an embarrasing array of awards for fine ales that would be eclipsed only by the awards for their food. The game pie is sensational and substantial. None of those silly garnished plates with nothing on them. Substantial portions of top quality food beautifully presented and piping hot. Great value for money and I cant wait to go back. The ultimate domestic authority tells me we are going back soon so what more can i say. Yipeee!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“wish this delightful place was my local”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Lovely place with great staff and good food, the food was of a good standard and will certainly eat here when in area. The atmostphere is of a cosy country pub and it is certainly well established. Truly enjoyed the meal and the ribs fell away from the bone....
Well worth a try if you are in the area, it is certainly up there with my favourites from now on.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Fleece Inn also viewed

Lancaster, Lancashire
 

Been to The Fleece Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fleece Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.