We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for brunch/lunch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rhubarb - CLOSED

Rhubarb
50 Warwick St, Leamington Spa CV32 5JS, England
01926425005
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $41 - $52
Cuisines: European
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
England
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great for brunch/lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Lovely atmosphere, friendly staff and good food with slightly quirky decor. Great for lunch or a coffee and cake. Dinner is supposed to be good too.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    43
    24
    21
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“First time, definitely not last”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

Visited this place for the first time today. Immediately welcomed by staff and shown to our table. Restaurant was buzzing but service was excellent - just the right balance between great service and not being intrusive. Food was the best we have tasted for a very long time in any place in the region. We both had shoulder of Meriden lamb which was cooked to perfection. There was a slight hiccup with timing, but service recovery was second to none and we were offered complimentary drinks. Rhubarb is an amazing place and we'll be back very soon.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lovely food and atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

Visited Rhubarb for the first time today for lunch. The food was excellent, service friendly and it had a lovely atmosphere. Will definitely go back again.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Intimate, relaxed environment, perfectly cooked food, delightful place.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

My other half and I went to Rhubarb last week, we dine out every week in Leamington and this week we thought we would try a new place (we regularly go to Oscar's and Momenti). We had the baked Camembert and crab to start - both of which were delicious. We then had the duck breast, which was served pink, with crispy skin - it was absolutely fantastic!

I have to say, we are rather difficult to please and always seem to be a little disappointed by most restaurants, but I am genuinely delighted to say that the whole experience at Rhubarb was spot-on - well nearly! The only minor niggles I had were these: the chicken was not available (we arrived prior to 1900 too) and we weren't told about this until after we tried to order it; the restaurant itself was a too cold and finally, the staff, all of whom were lovely, all referred to us as 'guys'. It is one of my pet hates, probably because I'm too old and uncool(!), but it would be so great if guests could be addressed according to their likely demographic... I'm sure 'guys' is perfectly fine if you are under 30, but perhaps if your guest is a crusty old 50+ a good old-fashioned 'Sir/Madam' might be just the ticket?!

These 'niggles' are so minor, but I would be tickled pink if, upon our return, these suggestions had been listened to and acted upon - as we will, without doubt, be returning. The evening we spent here was a joy and the food surpassed (by far) both Oscar's and Momenti's, (the two have now been unceremoniously relegated) and the superior Rhubarb, has taken the crown. Very well done all and we will see you soon 'guys'!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Nice quirky restaurant in Leamington”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Came here for a spot of lunch with my husband over Easter weekend, after being attracted by a yummy looking restaurant.
Jamie remembers when Rhubarb was a shop, with just a small cafe at the back, but it's now a rather nice "shabby chic" restaurant, with good food, great service, and a really nice atmosphere.
The menu was great for lunch - he had a baked Camembert, while I had mussels. Good prices, and tasted yummy. The menu was a good range, with some nice looking specials on a blackboard that looked worth a try - including a hearty looking sausage and mash.
For just an extra £2 each we added a glass of wine, good value, and nice wine too.
None of the crockery, furniture etc matches, but this just adds to the charm. The service was great, with a waiter who knew exactly the right balance between friendly and chatty, and polite.
Looks like they do cocktails too, so we'll probably be going back, and the cakes stacked up on the bar area looked delish!
worth a visit.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rhubarb also viewed

Leamington Spa, Warwickshire
Leamington Spa, Warwickshire
 
Leamington Spa, Warwickshire
Leamington Spa, Warwickshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rhubarb, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.