We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Last minute one night stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Thomas James Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Thomas James Hotel to your Saves list
Thomas James Hotel
45-47 Bath Street, Leamington Spa CV31 3AG, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 19 Hotels in Leamington Spa
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Last minute one night stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

The hotel was what i was expecting, lower quality and simple. No real issues with anything, the shower was a bit cold in the morning and the rooms were a bit noisy around me but I wasn't looking for an expensive place. Free wifi and a fairly standard breakfast, more than can be said for the Holiday Inn around the corner.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    9
    25
    14
    25
See reviews for
5
22
13
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
GARSWOOD
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

Good location but no parking is downside.Room fine with big bed and room reasonably clean but bed not very comfortable.Continental breakfast average the place is not the cleanest but it is a bar as well.Adequate for cheap overnight stop off but i wouldnt go again.

Room Tip: Ask for room at back as it is opposite railway station
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012 via mobile

Nice friendly check in but really need too have a lick of paint too update the hotel and whats with the lights,,had 6 lights in the room and only 2 worked and same for the stairs lighting. It's ok for a 1 night stay though, ps if u don't like music don't bother as you are over a lively bar on a night

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

There is an exclaimer on their website that says ' as we are in town there might be some external noise'. It should read- 'the incredible external noise on a Saturday night till 200am is our own bar- it's not might its a definite'. Room was clean but really hot. The breakfast was poor in a bar which still smelt of beer with the Formula One blasting on huge screens at 800am on a Sunday morning. I had to boil my own eggs. Since I was rather tired having been kept up till 200am the egg self preparation - was a step too far.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedworth
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

We checked in - bar staff used as hotel workers - room basic and small !!
We arrived back at hotel around 12.30am to be greeted by around 8 fellow residents having a group meeting outside ( who were on their 2nd nights stop ) about complaining in the morning about the mornings breakfast encounter when mouldy bread and out of date cereal was served to them that morning. We got into our room ( Room 11 ) to be greeted with the room bouncing from the music from the bar below which carried on till around 3 am in the morning. Yes we were still awake and decided to pack our bags and go home. There was no one on reception etc to complain to - this should not be called an HOTEL - How can you rent rooms out for the purpose of sleeping knowing full well that would be difficult if not impossible from the noise made from the bar below - which has links to the hotel. Im trying to get a refund but i wont be holding my breath - Do not use this hotel if you intend sleeping !!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eyemouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

needed some where in Leamingtion Spa for one night, cheap and cheerful, this is exactly what I got, 35 quid, b and b, single room, top floor, no lift though, room was clean tidy, nicely decorated, warm and comfy, if a tad on the small side, but hey, one night, I was there for 7 hours and wasn't having a party in my room, so it did what it said on the box.!! check in is initially via the pub below, and then onwards to reception, I have a cheery welcome from the staff on arrival and check in, all in all a great one night stop over

Room Tip: if you are ok with stairs, then go for a top floor room at the weekends if you are unhappy about mus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

parking horrendous, foisty damp smell. About 40 steps up to room No ventilation, beds and pillows uncomfortable. No restaurant for evening meal even though it says open between 6-9
pm. Continental breakfast poor. not enough bread, crockery, no napkins, no instructions on how to use egg poacher, had to trail up to bar to get help,tea and coffee cold.

Room Tip: could not give one
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Thomas James Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thomas James Hotel

Address: 45-47 Bath Street, Leamington Spa CV31 3AG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Leamington Spa
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 19 Hotels in Leamington Spa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thomas James Hotel: all rooms en-suite, LCD TV, internet access, telephone, room service available on request, close to train station, Stratford-upon-Avon, Birmingham, NEC, NAC, Warwick, Kenilworth, Coventry Airport. Conference facilities available, free room hire for parties, TJ's Bar & Bistro. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Thomas James Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thomas James Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.