We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, great service, super atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Star & Garter

Star & Garter
4-6 Warwick Street, Leamington Spa CV32 5LL, England
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Star & Garter is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #72 of 189 Restaurants in Leamington Spa
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Leominster, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Great value, great service, super atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

The Star and Garter is a perfect example of what a modern pub should be like. Light, clean, with helpful and charming staff. The food we had was simple, but tasty and well priced. Given that we arrived in a filthy condition having been clearing a house round the corner, the consideration we received from the staff was just great. A real find, and a lucky bonus for any-one who lives in Leamington.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    47
    18
    14
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wimborne
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excelent food, well priced with friendly service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

Good menu selection even in the middle of the day including a comprehensive specials board.

Only problem, we just found the place by luck

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pickering, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
194 reviews 194 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“good comforting food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

The restaurant was buzzing as we were shown to our table. Good attentive service soon produced our drinks and we can recommend the house wine Ladera Verde Merlot. We chose from the main menu and the specials board. I chose a starter of a pot of Jimmys sausages with mustard and ketchup which was great ,my wife and her brother chose the fish board for sharing which included salmon,trout,kedgeree. deep fried fishballs, dips ,bread and crudites smiles at the end said everything. The remaining choice was baked eggs a great feast. Main courses were delicious ,my choice of whole plaice with shellfish butter was beautifully cooked and presented, as was the shredded duck,cheddar tart and sausage and mash. We finished with coffee the main courses being so large we were unable to tackle the great choice of sweets. A GREAT VENUE FOR FOOD.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good grub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Birthday meal for the Grandma of the family. Tuesday night so fairly quiet but very, very attentive staff which is what you'd expect when they were quiet! Well cooked food, reasonable choice, good wine which was recommended and an excellent recommendation. Nothing seemed to much trouble. Nice atmosphere despite being quiet.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woolstaston, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great pub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014 via mobile

Found randomly on wander through town. Great pub on the inside.
Food great and friendly service.
Would recommend.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Star & Garter also viewed

Leamington Spa, Warwickshire
Leamington Spa, Warwickshire
 
Kenilworth, Warwickshire
Leamington Spa, Warwickshire
 

Been to Star & Garter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Star & Garter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.