We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality Buffet” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oriental star

Oriental star
9, the parade,, Leamington Spa, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #66 of 175 restaurants in Leamington Spa
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Redditch, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Quality Buffet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

This little restaurant has a lot going for it, the quality of the food was very good, they even had squid on which was delicious often most most places its like rubber but not here. A good comprehensive amount of Chinese food, something for everybody. It has a competitive and excellent value for money price point. My only criticism is the temperature, we were sat near the back in a 40% full restaurant and it was incredibly warm. They do have air con but it was switched off also the one member of staff who looked after us wasn't the most friendly or courteous, this wouldn't stop a return visit.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

73% Recommend
    12
    21
    7
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“chinese buffet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

chinese buffet,good food .something for everyone .aromatic duck in the evening .limited choices of dessert

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“girls night out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Had a great night here with girlfriends and family.food was ok staff pleasant but dont speak much english so hard to make them understand what you want.but would recommend you try it.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Ants!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We went here a while back- food is salty but you can't complain for a cheap and cheerful buffet. Enjoyed the main meal but when it came to desert it was clear that there were ants in the cakes and icecreams. Disgusting. Just to top it off, 4/5 of us were very ill for the next few days. Avoiding the oriental star from now on I think..

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Not bad for a buffet”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

We went here on the back of trip advisor reviews.

The restaurant was quite nice and close to the centre of town. Although the selection of dishes was smaller than I have experienced in other buffets, it was well topped up and we never had to wait for food. What we had was nice but not amazing but importantly fair hot.

Service from a table clearing perspective was very good, quick and efficient but respect for customers when changing food over not great and barged in front of us to get to hot plate. I understand they are trying to do a job but manners cost nothing.

Overall not a bad meal would like to have given them 3.5.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oriental star also viewed

Leamington Spa, Warwickshire
Leamington Spa, Warwickshire
 
Leamington Spa, Warwickshire
Leamington Spa, Warwickshire
 

Been to Oriental star? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oriental star, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.