We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Proper Pub food, proper prices” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Windmill Inn

The Windmill Inn
Tachbrook Road | cv31 3dd, Leamington Spa, England
+44 1926 831214
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 179 Restaurants in Leamington Spa
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Proper Pub food, proper prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

Took Father here to avoid Father's Day rush after personal recommendation from family member. Not disappointed, excellent service, food quality and quantity, well kept Doom Bar. Three main courses, three pints, two large pepsi's £35. Nice atmosphere no kids running around, all in all a very pleasant experience.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    25
    10
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Smashing home-cooked food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Had a meal at The Windmill last night, a spur of the moment meal on the way back from work and very glad we chose there, will definately be going back. Service was great and the food lovely - you could tell it was all freshly cooked and not microwaved and my husband commented that you could tell by the presentation they are proud of what they serve, and considering it is all cooked fresh I don't think a wait of 20 minutes is anything to complain about. We have been to the Royal Horse and the food, ambience and service does not compare - this is a friendly local pub serving good wholesome home cooked food at a reasonable price - the other is a run of the mill "family" pub serving cheap microwaved food - no comparison really - I pick The Windmill any day.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

we have been several times to the windmill . staff friendly helpful. the food is excellent not what you expect for a pub. the presentation is fabulous . well done to all the staff much improved I visit every couple of months we go to warwick and Kenilworth this is the place to visit

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Fantastic !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Brilliant atmosphere, friendly helpful staff and delicious food !! We booked for a party of 14 and the meals were delivered all together all piping hot and not a thing wrong or delayed !! Every single one of us thoroughly enjoyed our meals and there were clean plates all round, especially amazing given the huge size of the meals !! Puddings couldn't be resisted and were also huge and delicious. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff and everything came with a smile. I couldn't believe how reasonable the bill was and we have paid far more for meals that weren't a patch on this one. Will definately be going here again very soon and will be recommending it to everyone I know. Well done, FANTASTIC !!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“I have to disagreed!! What are these people used to eating?!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

I couldn't believe my eyes when the Windmill Inn even appeared on the top 100 restaurants in Leamington. Let alone given a 4.5 star rating, the same as the Leopard in Bishops Tachbrook which is in another league entirely!! 4 of us dined at the Windmill Inn back in Dec 2012. The Chef had tried with an adventurous attempt of a menu which many meals appeared tasty but the skills were lacking when the meals came out. I would suggest the menu was too large & varied for their ability to be honest. Pricewise meals were cheap but you get what you pay for!! Our Starters - 3 x stuffed mushroom - all of which came out tepid! :o( Not good considering we were the first table in the restaurant so not exactly like the chef was run of his feet!! The worse is to come though - my partner had BBQ Chicken Wings - we were horrified to see feathers still on the wings and which were marinated!! Rank!! Totally off-putting. When the Waiter came to collect the plates we advised their were feathers left in the chicken, he apologised and appeared embarrassed. Mains came out, 2 veggies opted for a Cheese and Leek Puff Pasty - this consisted of a plate of 90% leeks in a running cheese sauce and a puff pasty piece sat on top, a bit of a let down as I had expected a puff pasty parcel with cheese and leek filling. Side Salads were nice and if I recall coleslaw was homemade. 2 Meat Eaters had sweet chilli chicken which was nothing special. Side Orders of Homemade Onion Rings were also ordered - these were 95% batter which had been cooked in old rank oil. These were sent back. We were told that these were homemade and they don't normally get any compliants. What do these locals eat?! We didn't dispute they were homemade, it was the quality of the oil they'd been cooked in that was the problem!! More than half of our main meals were left on the plates when the waitress came to collect. She enquiried whether everything had been ok as we'd left a lot. We said we weren't that impressed overall, having sent the onion rings back and that the feathers in the chicken had been very off-putting. She said that couldn't really be helped as chicken's have feathers. We couldn't believe her lack of an apology! The chef should have taken care when preparing these in the first place. Totally Unbelievable! What else had he let slip?! When we came to pay, they didn't even offer to take these of the bill! My partner refused to pay for the Chicken Wings and Onion Rings on the basis these were inedible. But considering 4 of us left the majority of our starters due to tepid food and chicken feathers. Then over half our main meals, it was a cheek they didn't offer a refund. We will not be going back there 4 sure!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Windmill Inn also viewed

Leamington Spa, Warwickshire
Leamington Spa, Warwickshire
 
Leamington Spa, Warwickshire
Leamington Spa, Warwickshire
 

Been to The Windmill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Windmill Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.