We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Free museum worth a look"” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Pump Rooms

Royal Pump Rooms
The Parade, Leamington Spa CV32 4AB, England
44-1926-742762
Improve this listing
Type: Architectural Buildings, Landmarks/ Points of Interest
Attraction Details
Lurgan, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“"Free museum worth a look"”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Called into this building to use toilets not knowing what it was, we were very impressed to find that it was the old bath house from days gone by and that you could enter for free into the museum. It takes you back through the history of the building and some of the brick work in the rooms is excellent. To add to this free museum you can also enter the adjoining art gallery which has works to suit all tastes.

Worth the visit and it's free!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    34
    9
    3
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Accrington, Lancashire
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Small but Perfectly Formed!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

On a spring day when it looked as if Leamington had been twinned with Narnia, we struggled through the blizzard to this fabulous attraction. Unlike museums at some other spa towns, the Pump Room and art gallery were completely free of charge and are well worthwhile to visit.
A small but eclectic collection of art includes works by Lowry and Ben Nicholson, while the temporary exhibition was fascinating.
The museum traces the development of Leamington and includes a 19th century Turkish Hammam. Plenty of interesting exhibits for older children as well, judging on the remarks that we overheard.
The racing at Stratford might have been cancelled but we backed a winner when choosing to visit. Recommended.......And you can't ask for your money back,it's free!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanmer Ontariio
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Interesting Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

After a little bit of driving around Leamington, we found the pump rooms museum and we found that it was an interesting place to visit. I spoke to local relatives and they had not been there, so I don't know how well advertised it is. The museum is free to enter and has some quite interesting exhibits and the brick work in the baths was great. We spent about an hour looking around and then went into the cafe area. The food is okay, our sandwiches were not great, and we paid about nine pounds for two sandwiches and two juice drinks. They also have a section for small children, which looked like it would be fun and educational. There is a shop in the foyer and had some interesting post cards and recipe booklets. We would suggest the visit if you are in the Leamington area.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hinckley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Basic, but not bad for the money”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Food was not at all bad; there are no pretensions; I have eaten there several times. Nothing fancy, but good value, I think, and wholesome.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
43 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Great free museum and gallery”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

For a "council run" museum and gallery, this place has a lot to commend it. An interesting museum on the origins on how the town became a "Spa Town". The Gallery has interesting exhibits, and a good shop. The best thing is the cafe, which has very reasonably priced food for lunch or snacks.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Royal Pump Rooms also viewed

Leamington Spa, Warwickshire
Leamington Spa, Warwickshire
 
Leamington Spa, Warwickshire
Leamington Spa, Warwickshire
 

Been to Royal Pump Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Pump Rooms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Royal Pump Rooms to your Saves list