We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a good nights sleep!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Woodland Grange

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Woodland Grange to your Saves list
Woodland Grange
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Old Milverton Lane, Leamington Spa CV32 6RN, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Leamington Spa
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
South East
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
“Not a good nights sleep!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012 via mobile

Rooms could be more comfortable with little extras like a lamp each side of the bed!
Do not stay in rooms near to the roundabout unless you are a heavy sleeper or have earplugs.
Also room 215 is next to the kitchen extractor and this seems to run all night.
I complained bitterly and was given another room on the second time of asking at 1.00am?
Not the best nights sleep

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John T, General Manager at Woodland Grange, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our venue. I’m sorry your stay was not up to your expectations, and as a result of your comments we are now having our extract equipment reviewed in order to resolve any issues with the plant. I hope to see you again soon and that we can be given the opportunity to impress.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    82
    32
    6
    5
See reviews for
9
74
9
111
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
liverpool
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

The rooms are no different than a premier inn, very basic and a bit grubby. The food though was unbelievable Jeff. Breakfast, Dinner and tea great. Nothing to complain about downstairs but upstairs just doesn't live up to the standards set.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John T, General Manager at Woodland Grange, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Thank you for your positive review. We've been refurbishing the venue over the last few years, bringing the various areas up to date. Next are the bedrooms, with a full refurbishment due to start in January 2013. We hope you visit again to sample the new offering.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berwick St John
Top Contributor
212 reviews 212 reviews
89 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

I was very happy with the £60 rate I got, and staff were very welcoming. I arrived early so I knew I would not be due to check in until 3, however I asked if there was somewhere I could work (a colleague was meeting me) and was told we should make ourselves at home in the lounge areas and help ourselves to free refreshments.
I was very pleased with my room when I checked in, it was spacious, comfortable and I cannot think of anything it lacked. I used the gym which was also nice.
I didn't eat in the restaurant that evening however breakfast the next morning was good.
All the staff were helpful and friendly and I would be very happy if business or pleasure brought me this way again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John T, General Manager at Woodland Grange, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Thank you for your review. We’re glad you gave us the opportunity to impress and look forward to having a future visit from yourself. Our new autumn dinner menu is something to behold, and I’m sure you would enjoy the ambience of our newly styled restaurant to go with it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

We booked this break through Groupon and stayed for 1 night. Upon arrival we had a very warm welcome and this continued with the staff throughout our stay. The room was very nice and having a fan we thought was a lovely touch enabling us to have a good night's sleep especially with the weather being so warm. This is the first hotel we have come across with a complimentary coffee bar with fruit and biscuits 24 hours a day. We made use of the jacuzzi and sauna the only downside was there was a wait for the facilities. We had a beautiful 3 course meal in the restaurant and the food was delicious along with a complimentary glass of wine. There was also lots of choice for breakfast including fresh smoothies which we haven't seen in a hotel before. Having a pool table was good fun in the evening and we found the bar man very friendly and helpful. We would recommend this hotel to friends and family. One of the attractions we visited was Warwick Castle which wasn't far away and we had a fantastic day! Overall experience 10/10

Room Tip: Pay the £10 upgrade to a Country view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John T, General Manager at Woodland Grange, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Thank you very much for your glowing review. Our free coffee, cakes and biscuits seem to be a winner with all our guests, so we’re pleased you made fair use. We’re just about to introduce our Autumn menu, and hope you can return to sample the new delights we have planned.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Malvern, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Moved to Woodland Grange after half of Stonleigh Park Lodge was closed due to water in the electrics. Staff helpfull at arival about 00.30, room was very clean, king size bed was very comfortable. Breakfast was very good. Staff great.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John T, General Manager at Woodland Grange, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Thank you for your review. We’re glad you enjoyed our facility and that we could support another local venue. I’ll certainly ensure that the team here read your comments and praise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Didcot, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

Stayed here on a one night groupon deal.
The pros: food very good and a nice choice available, unlimited tea, coffee, juice, fruit and biscuits, nice gym and seperate jacuzzi area. The free american pool was also an added bonus. Plenty of complimentary products in the bathroom.

The cons: reception told us check out was 10am on Saturday so couldn't enjoy a lie in before breakfast. Upon checking out they said it was 11. Friday night after dinner, fancied a drink at the bar and could not find a member of staff (it was only 10.15pm) it was like a ghost town. So went to get a coffee and the machines had been turned off and emptied off milk so that was out the window as well. Even the TV in the communal area had been turned on mute, it was clear the staff wanted to go home! Not very impressive for a Friday night. We upgraded the room and were abit disappointed, the bathroom had hairs on the floor and mould everywhere and there was only one bedside table so I had to leave my drink on the floor.

In conclusion, there are a few things that could really make this place a 4 star. Some adjustments still need to be made in terms of changing from a conference centre in the week to a couple/families retreat at the weekend. Fine to stay for one night if you don't mind going to bed at 10.30!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John T, General Manager at Woodland Grange, responded to this review, August 18, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience of our venue, and for your constructive comments. I’m sorry that you didn’t get to experience the full service offering, which I can understand would have a negative impact on your stay. We value all feedback from our visitors and you can be sure that we will improve as a result of yours. We hope to see you again, and look forward to making your stay a better experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ely, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

Like many other reviewers we visited this hotel on a two night Groupon deal. Have to say we were very impressed. Its main business is clearly as a conference venue but this does mean that standards are very good. We upgraded to a superior room. If you are thinking of staying then it's well worth the extra. Excellent room with one wall of floor to ceiling windows offering a great view.
Particular mention must go to the staff. All were excellent especially the receptionists who were exceptionally friendly and helpful. Food is very good with interesting choices at dinner and a good quality breakfast. The whole building is light and modern. Like others we appreciated the free coffee, fruit and biscuits available in the public areas.
So, downsides. Again like others we were disappointed that the room only had one bedside table. Realise that for the conference market the rooms will mainly be single occupancy but if you are targeting couples for weekend breaks then this seems penny pinching and easily resolved. Our bathroom had a suspicious stain on the wall tiles over the bath. In fairness once reported the duty manager arrived with some spray cleaner and sorted it but maybe cleaning thoroughness needs to be addressed. It is also some way from the centre of Leamington so a car or paying for a taxi are necessary. Also some of the rooms are close to the main road so can be noisy.
However these are minor gripes. All in all a very pleasant stay. Would certainly stay there again

Room Tip: Do go for a room upgrade.Well worth the extra but try and get one away from the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John T, General Manager at Woodland Grange, responded to this review, August 18, 2012
Thank you for your very positive and very thorough review. We’re working on a refurbishment project at the moment, which we hope will commence in 2013. This will include a review of the current bedroom furniture as well as décor. If you do manage to make your way here again, I hope we can impress you even more.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Woodland Grange? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodland Grange

Address: Old Milverton Lane, Leamington Spa CV32 6RN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Leamington Spa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Leamington Spa
#2 Business Hotel in Leamington Spa
#4 Romantic Hotel in Leamington Spa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Woodland Grange 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Woodland Grange is a stunning residential conference venue in Warwickshire. It has the best of all worlds – a building full of character, state-of-the-art facilities, 16 acres of beautiful grounds - and a convenient location at the heart of the motorway network (the M40, M42, M6 and M69 are all within a 20 minute drive). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, LateRooms and Odigeo so you can book your Woodland Grange reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodland Grange Hotel Leamington Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Woodland Grange, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.