We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern pub with very good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Moorings

The Moorings
Myton Road, Leamington Spa CV31 3NY, Leamington Spa, England
01926425043
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 200 Restaurants in Leamington Spa
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: International, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Special occasions, Bar scene, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Worksop, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Modern pub with very good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We were going to visit The Stag in Offchurch but it was fully booked. We were told this is the sister pub to The Stag so we came here instead and we were not disappointed. The pub is large and quite modern in a good location near a canal and with outside seating. Seemed to be a lively bar area as well as a busy restaurant. The food was certainly good, not cheap, but worth the money. We would go again if in the area but The Stag might still be our first choice.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    215
    101
    39
    14
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Leamington Spa, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Posh pub grub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

We went on a Sunday evening after a walk along the canal (we did book just in case). Very pleasant decor and surroundings, would be good for family, couples, friends etc. Nice menu - very much a step up from normal pub grub. Consequently not cheap, but the quality of the food was good, the service good etc. Would recommend.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec, Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“What a surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012 via mobile

We were expecting 'pub grub'. But it turned out much much better; the Moorings is fantastic. Excellent imaginatively presented food. With particularly attentive staff. We enjoyed a light lunch snack so much, we went back for dinner . Competent wine list, excellent choice. Overall not cheap, but very good value, all in most attractive surroundings.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warwick
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“TOP FOOD & SERVICE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

The Staff at the bar are great and happy & the management A1. The beer is good & the food top rate taste and service. We will return!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bulkington, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Exudes quality - Just go for the pork pie and mustard for £2 !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

One of the best pubs you could wish to visit. High quality in every way.If you are a male, then many will even find the visit to the gents enjoyable thanks to the artwork . The meals aren't cheap, but the bar snacks are fab as well.If the credit cunch is biting, then I would suggest the slab of pork pie and jar of English mustard for £2. Bargain. Also any pub which has dog biscuits on the menu can't go wrong. It's sister pub in Offchurch, The Stag is pretty well identical in every way save the location being more rural. Both are highy recommended.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Moorings also viewed

Leamington Spa, Warwickshire
Redditch, Worcestershire
 
Leamington Spa, Warwickshire
Leamington Spa, Warwickshire
 

Been to The Moorings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Moorings, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.