We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favorite Indian Restaurant. Definitely.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Spicy Affair

Spicy Affair
4-6 Victoria Terrace, Leamington Spa Cv31 3AB, England
01926338883
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #89 of 200 Restaurants in Leamington Spa
Price range: $11 - $23
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Favorite Indian Restaurant. Definitely.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

First time we came to SA was almost a year ago and it was by accident; it was a rainy day, we were hungry and looking for a place to just avoid the rain.

The guy who welcomed us (which we're guessing is the Manager) was very nice and friendly.
The food was PERFECT. I can't even find the words to describe it. Their Prawn Jalfrezi and Chicken Tikka Jalfrezi are probably my ultimate favorite.

If you think it's a bit pricy, I say good quality is NOT cheap.

People who are complaining about the restaurant being closed, I don't know what happened but all I know they're only close on Mondays.

And, to be honest, it's probably the best to just speak to the manager about anything because sometimes the staff can get things mixed up (made a tiny mistake with our delivery order last week) but, people aren't perfect. So wasn't really bothered by it (the food was still delicious!).

But if you're looking for an Indian restaurant will excellent taste in food, I honestly can't recommend another restaurant but this one.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    17
    3
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Incompetent or Fraudulent?”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

TWICE my family has booked reservations over the phone and twice the restaurant has been closed on the day and time.
My complaint is similar to another TA reviewer who had paid for a Groupon voucher, called & spoke to staff to arrange a table, and arrive only to find the restaurant not open. Their website had conflicting information, with "7 days a week" written on the contact page, Tue-Sun on other web pages.
I can't decide whether this restaurant is criminally incompetent or just criminal.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Terrible”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Me and my wife went to restaurant starving on 21 Jul13 @ 12.30pm after carefully checking opening hours online, guess what the door was locked. Seeing through door the chef was inside and happily ignored us, not even had courtesy to walk to the door and tell us about the reason for shutting down during claimed opening hours. This is the 4th time I found the restaurant closed when I walked in hungry. Trust me I wont go again to this place and wont even advice my friends to go.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fuming Customer”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Be very careful if you are planning a lunchtime meal at Spicy Affair. They might not be open.We had a terrible experience on Saturday 06.07.13. Booked with Groupon Voucher, had a reservation for a table for 2 at 1.30 p.m. and guess what, the door was locked, would not be left in. and was told "not open till 6 p.m." explained we had a booking, but he would not let us in and shut the door in our faces. So be warned. Will not be using this restaurant again and would advise others to do the same, they let their customers down.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Not your average Indian Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

This restaurant is more like a cafeteria in atmosphere and layout, next to the Pump Rooms in Leamington at the bottom of the Parade. Don't let the lack of flock wallpaper fool you though. All the Indian folks who are working locally visit here on a regular basis as it is so tasty.
You can get standard menu fare here but you must try the chef's specials. Cooked to order in front of you, you can ask for it mild, medium, hot or extra spicy!
If you like your Indian food and don't care for the typical interior design of the rest, try this place out. You won't regret it.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spicy Affair also viewed

Leamington Spa, Warwickshire
Leamington Spa, Warwickshire
 
Leamington Spa, Warwickshire
Leamington Spa, Warwickshire
 

Been to Spicy Affair? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spicy Affair, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.